We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location & Wonderful Hosts”
Review of Castillo de Mandl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castillo de Mandl
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in La Cumbre
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Arranged by the friends who were traveling with us, this is a beautiful place to stay.
Our hosts Guillermo and Carlota were superb. They made sure we enjoyed our stay there...with plenty of suggestions and guidance. Sometimes it was just the simplicity of a nice conversation after dinner.
Speaking of dinner, make sure you enjoy one of their amazing meals. Why bother driving into town when Guillermo will cook you an amazing dinner with a great selection of wines to choose from.
Trust me, you will not be disappointed.
Keep in mind that this is an old family home, that is being used as a hotel. So you are practically living in a 'castle' that has the ambiance of an old family home.
There are aspects of the home that are slightly tired, but those small things are far outweighed by the pure beauty of the of location and comfort of the rooms.
If you're planning on visiting La Cumbre, make sure you spend your nights here. It's worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uberjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Castillo de Mandl
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 90 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

With another couple, my wife and I stayed at this beautiful hotel in La Cumbre, Cordoba Province in Central Argentina. Our room selection was made using the hotel's web page, and I must confess that pictures coincided with reality. All rooms were large, very confortable, beautifully decorated (including period furniture), spotlessly clean and with fantastic views overlooking not only La Cumbre but also its surroundings. We were greeted by the owners themselves, who let us see and compare different rooms before we selected those we liked most. We selected the Colonial room (huge, with windows enabling a 360 degree view) and our friends the Fritz room. If you are interested in WWII and Argentina's fascinating past, the hotel is a trove of information. Initially built as a medieval caste on top of a hill by a prominent local doctor who had a penchant for ancient history, it was later transformed into a great mansion by Fritz Mandl, a noble German exile, the husband of a famous 1930's movie star and a high ranking Nazi official. Most of Mandl's original site specific furniture, designed by Anna Frank's uncle, is still there. There are beautifully decorated sitting areas, a magnificent dining room, a comfortable library and balconies overlooking the area. The swimming pool, located on the adjoining terraced gardens, allows for a perfect scenic view. We dined at the hotel, and food was an experience in itself. At all times we felt pampered by the courteous owners, who obviously enjoyed all they did to us..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juan Javier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Incredible location, at the top of hill with a magnificent view of the surrounded mountains and the village "La Cumbre". The building consist in an elegant castle with an austrian flavour and lot of history. The present owners welcome every guest and attend every request. Superb service and wonderful chats share with Guillermo and Carlota, so knwoledgeable of the past and characters related to the castle. Impecable restoration maintaining all the original old furniture. Having dinner there is a hole experience tasting the plates delicately prepared. Go there, relax and enjoy the unique moment!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darnok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is definitely THE hotel to stay at in La Cumbre. It is a beautiful construction reminiscent of a castle, built on top of a hill, some 10 blocks from downtown, and overlooks the entire city both from its ample and comfortable rooms, and from its beautiful gardens and swimming pool. The dining room is majestic too, the manager and his family are truly warm and hospitable, and the food they prepare is delicious. We enjoyed our stay enormously and will definitely come back every time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norberto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Fabulous chateau hotel overlooking La Cumbre. The rooms have wonderful views and are extremely comfortable. They ar also immaculately clean and well maintained. This is the kind of place I dream of finding in Italy or Switzerland. Moreover, the hosts are lovely and make one feel at home.

Room Tip: Rooms facing out towards the valley are best
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdLondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lucasgriselda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cumbre
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Art
Hotel Boutique Villa Art
#2 of 6 in La Cumbre
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada San Andres
Posada San Andres
#3 of 6 in La Cumbre
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel La Cumbre
Gran Hotel La Cumbre
#6 of 6 in La Cumbre
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cruz Chica Hostal
Cruz Chica Hostal
#1 of 6 in La Cumbre
125 reviews
1.2 mi away
Reydon Hotel
Reydon Hotel
#5 of 6 in La Cumbre
41 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tres Pircas Hotel & Spa
Tres Pircas Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huerta Grande
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo de Mandl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo de Mandl

Address: San Josemaria Escriva 73, La Cumbre 5178, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > La Cumbre
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in La Cumbre
Price Range: $146 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castillo de Mandl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo De Mandl La Cumbre, Argentina - Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing