We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot at the end of a thrilling drive”
Review of La Merced del Alto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Merced del Alto
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cachi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 9, 2012

A lovely, small hotel some short distance from the ancient village of Cachi, which is a thrilling drive from Salta.

Wonderfully comfortable rooms with great king beds, very nice bath facilities, very good food and accommodating staff. We stayed there on our self-drive journey from the Salta area and then on to Cafayate via Ruta 40, one of the loveliest, if more difficult, routes in the country ... it's a dirt/gravel road that meanders from northern Argentina down to Patagonia. Do check if there has been rain; if so, take the paved alternative Ruta 68 south. While we were a bit disappointed in Cachi, our R&R her more than made up for the lack of an overly dramatic village.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 335 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel that is decorated with lots of care using local arts and materials. I will attach some photos of the lobby and living areas. You will feel special and you will be surrounded by a beautiful landscape during your stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecrescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Large hotel constructed in 2006, but made to look old. Rooms and bathrooms were very large. The entire property consists of only 14 rooms. The views from the rooms and elsewhere on the property were beautiful. The hallways were empty and cavernous.
The property and rooms were generally quiet, although you could hear guests in adjacent rooms and hallways. We slept with the windows open and heard foxes barking, also frogs.
There is a small chapel in the hotel, which we ignored.
Dinner at the restaurant was disappointing and too expensive for the food served. The meat was overcooked & dry (although I ordered it rare); the dishes were very plain and lacked imagination.
Our bill for the hotel stay was incorrect and significantly higher than the rate quoted in our reservation. This was adjusted after I provided supporting documentation and demonstrated that I could operate a calculator.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkisWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We'd just driven over the dirt and rocky road for the last 6 or 7 hours (from Cafayate) and were greeted with a cold beverage and a warm smile. It was hard to take our dusty, dirty selves to the all white linens room, but we managed. We dined in their restaurant which was good. The whole resort was beautiful with flowers in bloom. The staff was attentive and the hotel beautiful.

Room Tip: Our room was booked by our travel agent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

simply perfect! Cachi is a lovely town a little bit difficult to reach especially if coming from Cafayate (180 km of gravel road). But once there , this hotel makes you feel so well that you forget the long day!
Nice rooms, great view of the Andes, quite, comfortable... The only negative thing is that all the SPA services are extra, including Jacuzzi. Since it was August, the swimming pool was not active (too cold) so we can't judge this.

Furthermore they offer a fantastic breakfast, with basically everything home made!
strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Albrig71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This hotel, which stands alone on a large block of land and is painted white, looks like an old monastery and our room had a monastic feel with dark wood and simple furniture - there is even a small chapel - but in fact the hotel is only four years old. We had a large bed and nice bathroom and the room has good lighting. Complementary water. No internet access when we were there because a new provider was being sought. The hotel is some way outside Cachi, you would need a taxi into the village which is one of the nicest we saw in this area. However, the restaurant serves excellent "nouvelle Argentinian" cuisine i.e. not the massive portions which are usual in Argentina! There is a bar and the public rooms are large, comfortable and colourful. There are fantastic views of the mountains and a small swimming pool. Very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HookedOnTravel255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We fell in love with Cachi and This amazing hotel. Loved the decor throughout the rooms and rest of the hotel. They hotel is in a beautiful location just a 5 min drive from the center of Cachi. We discovered the spa on our last day, and both treatments we did were outstanding and reasonably priced. The hotel`s restaurant is outstanding with amazing service. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cachi
1.1 mi away
El Cortijo Hotel Boutique
5.5 mi away
Sala de Payogasta
Sala de Payogasta
#3 of 4 in Cachi
187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hosteria ACA
Hosteria ACA
#2 of 9 in Cachi
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hosteria Villa Cardon
23.8 mi away
Hacienda de Molinos
Hacienda de Molinos
#2 of 102 in Salta
311 reviews
2.9 mi away
Miraluna Cabanas
Miraluna Cabanas
#2 of 6 in Cachi
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Merced del Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Merced del Alto

Address: Fuerte Alto Cachi, Cachi 4417, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cachi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cachi
Price Range: $123 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Merced del Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Merced del Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Merced Del Alto Hotel Cachi
La Merced Del Alto Cachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing