We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUCH A BEAUTIFUL PLACE”
Review of Sala de Payogasta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sala de Payogasta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cachi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We were two friends who stayed here in a basic room with two twin beds. The rooms is very comfortable with a fire place and nice bathroom. The shower takes a while to heat up, but...just know that and wait 5-8 minutes. The beds were very very comfortable and they give you extra blankets. The eating room is beautiful with a view of the mountain and the breakfast is a brunch of pastries, cafe, waffles and fruit. The staff at the hotel were nice but not overly friendly. I would reccomend staying here if you want privacy, romance or just a break from hostals. 100% dinner there. That was great with vegetarian options!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malibudog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 187 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were driving from Salta to Cafayate and via Cachi back to Salta and we needed a place to stay close to Cachi. We found this place and it is just great. Rooms are slightly more expensive than your average hostel in the area (360 pesos per night), but you get what you pay for (and more). Our rooms was huge, had a bubble bath, a fireplace, and the best part, views of the mountains. We spent the first hour just looking outside and we actually set our alarm to get up to watch the sunrise.

On top of this, service is excellent, rooms and bathrooms are clean, and the breakfast is the best we've had so far in Argentina. Home-made bread, cake, coffee, all you can think of. And again, this was all served in the room with views of the mountains.

If you're looking for a great place to stay and you're not on a tight budget, you should definitely spend a bit more and stay here. Ask for a room with a view though! One more thing, the place also offers dinner (check out this place in the restaurant section of Tripadvisor). Summary: food is good, no reason to head back to Cachi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view (of the mountains).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schaapblater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saladepayogasta, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sala de Payogasta, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Schaapblater: thanks very much for your comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed our breakfast and pleased to hear that you saw the beatiful dawn from your room. Come back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This place is gorgeous and is really a great value. The food was also surprisingly good. Beautiful rooms, building, and background. A perfect place to stop for a bit and the wine across the street is really good to boot!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jokemaker323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saladepayogasta, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sala de Payogasta, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear jokemaker323: thanks very much for your words. We are pleased that you have enjoyed our wine. Another good glass is waiting for your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Worth going out of your way for! Allejandro - if I am spelling his name correctly - is the perfect host of a near perfect establishment. He is as helpful and solicitous as can be. We had an early departure and he rousted his staff out early so we could have breakfast. A fireplace in the room, with free firewood, excellent food and wine in the restaurant, killer views from some of the rooms. Free wifi and internet computer - the list goes on. What a find!

Room Tip: The back rooms look out over the valley, with the river and cordillera behind - at no extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This wonderful facility is a combination hotel, restaurant, and winery in the village of Payogasta, around 12 miles from Cachi. This place is well worth any detour. The hotel is a large rectangular courtyard with large spacious rooms with nice bathrooms and fireplaces (read free firewood here). Some rooms have spectacular views, so definitely get one of those, and at the time of this writing were only 260 pesos, including an awesome breakfast and VAT! Room service was efficient and timely. Breakfast was excellent with lots of fruits, different homemade breads and pastries, waffles, different juices, coffee/tea, and served in a nice room overlooking the valley. The internet was free and fast, and most welcome considering it did not exist in our previous stay in Seclantas. The restaurant is across the street (read no traffic here) and our meals were excellent, ranging from tasty dishes of beef,lamb, chicken or goat to spinach cannelloni. The service was very attentive and the owner, Alex, most friendly and helpful. As it is also a winery, you must try their excellent red with the town's namesake. All in all, one of our most delightful times in all of Argentina.

Room Tip: No difference in the price of a room with a spectacular valley view versus those with courtyard view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenNorthernNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

A very nice place to stay! Spacious rooms, wonderfull dining room with beautiful views and good food in the restaurant. Really worth staying here! We went to Cachi from here, but were very pleased to stay in Sala de Payogasta. With a wonderfull sunset!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

What a nice place! Set in a courtyard with great spacious rooms, fire place and jacuzzi. Very friendly staff. Views are amazing. Breakfast is good with some fruit, brown (!) bread and nice coffee. We had dinner in the restaurant and did not disappoint. Good meal, nice salad and attentive service, yes they are not around all the time because they have to walk back and forth to the kitchen across the road. If you want to avoid staying in Cachi (10km away) this is your place. Slept like a baby in their comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritchy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cachi hotels
5.5 mi away
El Cortijo Hotel Boutique
5.5 mi away
La Merced del Alto
La Merced del Alto
#1 of 4 in Cachi
335 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hosteria Villa Cardon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hostal de Las Tinajas de Cachi
5.6 mi away
Hosteria ACA
Hosteria ACA
#2 of 9 in Cachi
256 reviews
7.6 mi away
Miraluna Cabanas
Miraluna Cabanas
#2 of 6 in Cachi
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala de Payogasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala de Payogasta

Address: National Route 40 - 4509km | Payogasta, Cachi, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cachi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cachi
Price Range: $65 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sala de Payogasta 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sala de Payogasta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing