We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lousy food”
Review of Sala de Payogasta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sala de Payogasta
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cachi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2011

After the long drive from Cafayate we were looking forward to our stay at Sala de Payogasta. The rooms and location did not disappoint: possibly the finest view over pastures and snow-capped peaks in the distance we've ever had in all of our travels, clean and large rooms. Enjoyed a walk into Payogasta, liked it better than Cachi. BUT...when it came to the dinner we had so been anticipating we were greatly let down: a number of items not available and what we ended up with was mediocre at best, waitstaff was often not to be found as well. I would rate the hotel itself as very good but have to give it only 3 stars since we had such poor food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 191 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had two nights, there were beautiful views of the mountains from the dining room.The restaurant had reasonably priced lovely fresh food and wine.
The room had a stone floor open fire large bath and was very cosy,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Absolutely love this hotel. The room and bathroom were spacious and airy. There is a fireplace and gas heater in the room. My room did not have a view but the view in the dining room was spectacular. It seems Payogasta does not have a lot going on. Cachi is not far away but you will need a car to get there. The hotel serves dinner in the dining room. The portion is huge so you may want to ask for half portion. Even so, I could not finish it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PYPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Thanks to trip advisor for pointing us to this one as it's not on our guide books. Beautiful clean rooms with amazing views over a pepper field to snow capped mountains. Service was excellent - they even came to light the fire in our bedroom. Food in the restaurant was a welcome break from meat with tasty goats cheese and walnut salad and lots of vegetable-based choices. Wine from the village was lovely too. Excellent value - our room was stunning and only 250 pesos. Massages available on site for 70 pesos- although I was too relaxed to get round to organising one! Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baozi_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

It's in a very quiet location just north of Cachi, offering great views and value for money. Breakfast and dinner were very good, using many ingredients grown by themselves. Free WiFi in the lounge/dining room.

They could perhaps install some fly-screens in the rooms and make more use of the outside areas to take advantage of the view, although the large dining room windows make the most of the current arrangement. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergkamp9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The hotel is a remodeled estancia with beautiful yard and porch. The room is clean and very charming with a huge window with a great view and a lovely fireplace. Breakfast is good, but not as good as the dinner we had at the attached restaurant. In the breakfast room (with the same great view of the room) there are also tea and coffee facilities. The price/quality relationship is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

The hotel and rooms were lovely, but the view out our window was spectacular. The food was very good as well. A highly recommended alternative to overnighting in Cachi.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmeshkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cachi hotels
5.5 mi away
La Merced del Alto
La Merced del Alto
#1 of 4 in Cachi
342 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Cortijo Hotel Boutique
5.1 mi away
Hosteria Villa Cardon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hosteria ACA
Hosteria ACA
#2 of 9 in Cachi
259 reviews
5.2 mi away
Art Hostel Viracocha
Art Hostel Viracocha
#4 of 6 in Cachi
68 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hostal de Las Tinajas de Cachi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala de Payogasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala de Payogasta

Address: National Route 40 - 4509km | Payogasta, Cachi, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Salta > Cachi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cachi
Price Range: $65 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sala de Payogasta 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sala de Payogasta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing