We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St. Alberts Gem”
Review of Luisa Ristorante

Luisa Ristorante
Ranked #45 of 146 Restaurants in St. Albert
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“St. Alberts Gem”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Luisa's has always been and will continue to be my favorite place to eat in St. Albert. Although the service has been slow at times, the servers are very quick to apologise and have given us free desserts to make up for the wait. It is no wonder that the wait for service is sometimes an issue as people around the St. Albert area are finally finding out about our well kept secret. The food is second to none and the atmosphere is a family one. Our wait would have gone unnoticed if we were just left to mule over some wine in the mean time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank specialgirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    4
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hands down the best restaurant in St. Albert”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We visit Luisa regularly, probably every two weeks, because we love the food, the owners, the staff, the atmosphere - and the fact that we are treated like family. Rocco and Rosa and their wonderful team make us so very welcome and never fail to wow! us with the delicious fare from the kitchen. On days when we can't make up our minds what we want, Rocco will put something together for us to share (remembering what we like from other times we've been in) and we are always delighted. Never had a bad experience there. In fact, I think we'll head over to Luisa Ristorante tonight!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Level Contributor
251 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Hearty meal before the theatre”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Luisa's Ristorante is a quaint little restaurant in the heart of St. Albert, Alberta. They have some great starters. Their brushetta and sambucca shrimps are my favorites. They have a wide variety of homemade fresh pastas. This night most of us had the seafood lasagna. it was very good. They don't have a very large wine selection, but what they have covers the range of choices to compliment an Italian night out. The desserts are also very good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jdabroad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant In St. Albert”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Traditional, family restaurant. Small but excellent food and great service. Everyone's meal was excellent, okay wine menu. You won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheGoCFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Really Good Meal”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We recently went to Louisa's after not having been there for a long time. We made a reservation for a Saturday evening and were seated immediately. We waited at least 10 minutes for someone to come to our table. When the waitress finally came to the table, she apologized and said that she and another waitress both thought the other was serving our table.

We ordered two appetizers: bruschetta, and shrimp in a sambuca sauce. I thought the bruschetta was very average... don't know why everyone was raving about it. The shrimp was very good.

Our appetizers arrived very, very quickly after ordering. As soon as we finished the appetizers, our entrees appeared. When we were done, the waitress was very quick to come over and ask if we wanted anything else. When we said we didn't, she brought the bill immediately.

Our entrees were really good. We both ordered pastas and they were delicious. Portion sizes were average. They weren't tiny, but I certainly didn't leave really full either.

Overall I thought that the food was very good at Louisa's. We had very pleasant service once they realized we were there. My only complaint was how much they rushed us out of there. It's a small restaurant, and they must want to move people in and out quickly in order to maximize the number of diners in an evening. I will go back, but probably on a weeknight when I want to get home quickly. If I want a nice dinner where we can take our time and relax I will go somewhere else.

I would have rated Louisa's a 4 if we hadn't been rushed and the portions were a little more generous. However, because of those factors I've rated it a 3.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvjasperdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luisa Ristorante also viewed

St. Albert, Alberta
 

Been to Luisa Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing