We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistency Over Many Years” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cajun House

The Cajun House
Ranked #2 of 146 Restaurants in St. Albert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Albert, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Consistency Over Many Years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We've never been disappointed whether it was for family dining or corporate events. Great selection of menu choices for everyone. This one family that delivers consistently and I admire their decision to allow themselves and their staff one day a week off.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    84
    27
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OK Place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Not bad food. Not great. But a good standby for a restaurant in St. Albert. Parking is snug. Menu needs upgrade.

Helpful?
Thank SheCasper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I compare restaurants internationally with Cajun House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been going to this resturant since it opened about 20 years ago. I love their "filet mignon ya ya" (Petite, with potato slices on the side and a red current reduction, along with Rosemount Grenache Shiraz). Great service is almost always present. Prices are great. I travel all over the world and I always compare meals with the Cajun House. I have never found a place with better value for money or with more consistently good food. It is good for business or family meals. My wife and I go there about once a month or sometimes more often. I love their free bread basket as a starter. I dip the bread in the Tiger Sauce. Nice and spicy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in St. Albert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Wasn't quite sure on what to expect of this restaurant when i was recently invited there for lunch. Turned out to be a very pleasant surprise indeed. The lunch menu had some great choices. i opted for the chicken sandwich with gumbo. Both were absolutely delicous. While i passed on dessert, the table next to us had a very generous sized dessert that looked scrumptious. The best part is that this restaurant is very reasonable priced and cant beat this deal for the price, quality and service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanM643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crawfish, in Northern Alberta!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Reasonably priced seafood in Northern Alberta is a luxury. This place delivers. If you go as a couple they will make sure you have a romantic evening. If you go with your older kids you will enjoy it as well . Dont get me wrong, nobody wants to go for dinner with screaming infants, but there is also no snottiness here, so you can have a nice grown up evening wihtout being pretentious. I did not go as part of a corporate group, or even a large party, but the facilities appeared like they could accomodate that on a small scale. 3 3/4 out of 5 on the Ali scale.

Helpful?
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cajun House also viewed

St. Albert, Alberta
 
St. Albert, Alberta
St. Albert, Alberta
 

Been to The Cajun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing