We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Taste of Ukraine

Taste of Ukraine
Ranked #5 of 146 Restaurants in St. Albert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Ukrainian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Took guests for dinner and we were all pleasantly surprised at the wonderful ambience and great menu choices. My husband being of Ukranian decent thoroughly enjoyed the homemade perogies and cabbage rolls plus the many specialty choices.

Being a dessert lover I highly recommend the lemon poppy seed cake

The restaurant is very deceiving on the outside but once inside it has the feel of old Eastern Europe. Very tastefully decorated and the artwork that graces the walls adds a nice touch and is for sale as well

We are thinking about returning for lunch tomorrow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmochinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    37
    13
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Ukrainian Food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went here for a birthday treat for a friend. The food was excellent, service was great and the atmosphere outstanding. The price for the meal was very reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went here once, and although it was good, i can't say it stands out in my mind as a place i would regularly want to go. In typical ukrainian style, the food is quite rich with butter and cream sauces, which is good so long as you know what to expect.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Ukrainian Dining”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our group of four dined at Taste of Ukraine on a Wednesday evening. Service was friendly and helpful. The menu has a number of selections and it was difficult to decide what to choose. We all enjoyed our selections and did not have room for dessert. We loved the colorful decore and the Ukrainian items on display. We will definately be going back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Time”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to Taste of Ukraine on a Saturday night. It was very busy and you really need to make a reservation. It's not a very big place. Our server was very friendly professional. A++ to her for sure. I started off with the caviar and vodka appetizer. It was better than I expected with great little potato crepes and awesome homemade pickles. One lady had Sauerkraut soup and said it was good too. For main courses 2 of us had ribs with a Cherry sauce. It was kind of a weird pairing to me but it was actually quite good. The ribs were tender and tasty. My wife had the Chicken Kiev and her sister a chicken crepe thing that actually wasn't very good. Chicken Kiev was OK. The sauce wasn't very good. The side dishes I ordered(included with the meal) were good after I added a little salt. I can't tell you the name of it but it was a potato bun with dill and sauerkraut was good. My wife had little crepes that were bland as well until she put some salt. Over all we really enjoyed our dinner experience and would definitely go here again. It is very authentic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dirtidawg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Ukraine also viewed

 
St. Albert, Alberta
 

Been to Taste of Ukraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing