We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rugged Point Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Cedars Inn(Zeballos)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haida Way Motor Inn(Port McNeill)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alert Bay Cabins(Alert Bay)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Inn(Port Hardy)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pioneer Inn(Port Hardy)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pier Side Landing(Port Hardy)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwa'lilas Hotel(Port Hardy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
33
2
0
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
2
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsling codsalmonrepeat clientsrock fishdock stafffishing adventurekristygearcohoboatswhalesaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 38 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A group of us stayed with Kristy and Matt in September, 2011 and what a fabulous experience it was! The lodge is absolutely gorgeous! Very modern with a beautiful sitting area and a state of art kitchen that is equipped bettter than some restaurants! The rooms are clean and have very nice bathrooms that make you forget that you are on the island. Besides being great hosts, Fishing Kyuquot has the best guides, all of us got our fish (more than we hoped for! :)) I am looking forward to come back either with friends or bring my family to do it over again. Great value and great memories and fantatstic experience! A great idea for a compnay retreat and a guaranteed fun for avid fishermen out there! 5 stars plus! Thank you Fishing Kyuquot and special thank-you Kristy and Matt!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omirka_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Matt and Kristy provide some of the best guided fishing on the entire BC coast. Their roomy Grady White fishing machines are really comfortable and we felt really secure out in the open Pacific Ocean, even during the roughest of days. Top-notch fishing gear will make sure you land your catch.
Fishing...absolutely fabulous in one of the most productive places on the west coast of Vancouver Island. Limits are the rule...be sure to have a big fix cooler!!! And when you've finished fishing, be sure to take in the awesome scenery of Kyuquot Sound, and stretch your legs with a stroll along some remote beaches on one of the many islets.
A whole lot of walking is what you'll need...Kristy and her shore crew provide wonderful meals...absolutely gourmet cooking. The delicious fish chowders at lunch will really warm you up if you're chilled.
Top-notch operation. You'll have unforgettable memories from a trip to Rugged Point.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OneWayVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Breath taking beauty in unspoiled wilderness. Whales,otters, birds and animals. Fly fishing for coho was excellent.With hard fighting salmon between 10 and 17 lbs. Matt, Kristy and staff were wonderful hosts. Great food and superb lodgings. We have booked again for 2013 and can't wait. I have travelled the world in search for adventure and rate this as one of the best experiences.
David R

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuiguetKristy, Owner at Rugged Point Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you David for your kind words! We really enjoyed your fly fishing trip and look forward to 2013!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just got back from Kyuquot with group of nine and all i can say is "good times". (lodge holds 12)
Matt and Kristy run a top quality fishing/vacation/ experience. Not only did we all catch our limits everyday...we were treated great with hot breakfasts and gourmet dinners .... with a lunch bag stuffed with everything for the day. The guides and staff up here make this trip as good or better than the fishing itself. Casual atmosphere and laid back so can relax in some of the most scenic areas of B.C when your not out catching fish.

Nicest lodge in the small bay with clean rooms, internet, and satellite tv. Great dining/main room with bar and couches and fireplace to relax.

Grady Whites with satellite radio and all the best gear and navigation equipment.

865 pounds of filleted salmon, halibut, snapper, and ling cod almost paid for the trip in itself. Matt, Marty,Paul and Dan guided us to everything we could catch...and for the few minutes we wern't catching fish always had a good story or helped those of us who didnt know how to run the gear.

It really feels like your at home ...tucked away in paradise...again obviously the fishing experience is excellent but the staff here make it what it is... between the guys we were with..they have fished charlottes, campbell river, etc.....and all feel here is the best all around experience.....there is no reason to go anywhere else...Fishing Kyuquot is home now and cant believe i have to wait another year to go back...

see you next year

Room Tip: all the rooms are good..i prefered the main floor as there were no stairs to get to the bar!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I've been all over the world and all around BC fishing for the last 20 years and I can say I will always return to see Matt and Christy at fishing Kyuquot. The facilities, food and incredible fishing is the best i'v experienced. The boats, gear, dock staff andguides are unparallelled. This is the best place to fish in BC.

Room Tip: They are perfect rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grant m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews