We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“While not entirely poetic, I loved being right on the North Sea in an old family villa.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strandhotel Scheveningen
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“While not entirely poetic, I loved being right on the North Sea in an old family villa.”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I asked my company to book me in a "small" family-run hotel rather than a corporate one in downtown Den Haag, (The Hague), and this did not disappoint. Although the weather ranged from beautiful sunshine to mini Hurricane Katrina, I loved staying in this turn of the century (the previous century!) villa formerly owned by a German family who used it as their summer home. The staff were gracious, the breakfast room lovely with a view on the beach, and all in all very enjoyable. I had room 12, a single which looked out over the North Sea.

Room Tip: Single with a view on the North Sea, choose 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
36
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I was forced to cancel a room at the same day of the arrival because my syster could not leave her country. The reason was a national strike of the public transport and her plane was cancelled. I had to pay the cancellation costs of the hotel room equal to 2/3 of the total amount (2 nights instead of 3) for the amount of 200 Euro. The reason given by the management was that I could have been refunded by the insurance, which I did not have. I felt that having to pay so much money was unjust, unfriendly and speculative. Not adequate to the circumstances, especially because I could see with my eyes that the room had been immediately rented to another gest, and the second night as well.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janeopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Lovely hotel, quite basic but very clean and wonderful location overlooking the beach, worth paying a bit extra for a sea view. Good breakfasts and very helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LACBStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

The Strand Hotel is a great place to stay. The staff is both friendly and helpful. The breakfast is exceptionally good and is served in a dining area overlooking the sea. The tram stop is very close and convenient. The room and attached bathroom are both clean and functional. We recommend this place and would definitely stay again ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Great hotel - on the beach (a little chilly in June - bring a sweater and be prepared for the wind). A very short walk to the boardwalk, and close to two tram stops. Bike rentals also close. We loved the breakfast every morning. Staff was very friendly and extremely helpful!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlrobe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed at this hotel in September 2010 whilst touring Southern Holland by car. Its in a great location overlooking the beach and the staff were extremely friendly. The hotel is old but very well maintained and clean. Would recommend it to anyone who wanted traditional, small, friendly and clean hotel in a beach location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehChester_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Our family returned to Scheveningen this year and stayed at the Strand Hotel. It has a great location, and was a great choice. The rooms by Dutch standards are Huge with plenty of space for everything you bring. We had room 11 overlooking the beach and Strand area, with a great sunset every night. The rooms were spotless, and the multilingual staff was happy and very helpful. The beds in our room were 2 twins pushed together, so it's not the TempurPedic at the Ritz, but comfortable. The location is perfect...30 seconds and you're at the beach, and in the midst of the innumerable restaurants and the strand activities, yet in a relatively quiet area immediately by the hotel. One minute walk to the tram and bus stops. Bike rentals next door....we had to walk about 8 blocks to rent because we needed 9 bikes, and they only had 4 next door. Breakfast was very good, with several breads and coissants, cereal, cheese, meat, yoghurt and juices tea and coffee.....and nutella. Overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheveningen
0.0 mi away
Carlton Beach
Carlton Beach
#1 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#4 of 24 in Scheveningen
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#5 of 24 in Scheveningen
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#3 of 24 in Scheveningen
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhotel Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhotel Scheveningen

Property: Strandhotel Scheveningen
Address: Zeekant 111 & Gevers Deynootweg 1344, 2586 JJ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Scheveningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Scheveningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Strandhotel Scheveningen 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Strandhotel Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing