We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel with everything You might need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with everything You might need”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My rooms in Carlton Beach Hotel was big and bed was very comfortable, that's all that I need. Nice view to the sea and clean rooms.
Breakfast was priced separately, nothing special, and therefore I must say it was too expensive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suomenjussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    395
    123
    51
    19
See reviews for
187
447
36
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Even from the outside of the hotel you can see that it is stuck in the 70s. The carpet on the corridors (which smell bad) is checkered blue/red, there are plastic lamps on the walls in the shape of sea shells, there are sounds of seagulls and waves in the elevator.... When you get in the room you can feel that it is not adequately clean. My room had a balcony where I could smoke and there the chairs and the table were not clean. The window that was by the balcony was filled with small insects and this wasn't clean either. The ceiling of the balcony had rust

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kpanagop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The parking was full when we arrived. We were told by the front desk to park in the "Black Road" garage next door, an unsecured outdoor lot nearby that could not be seen from the mail road. When I returned our rented car two days later, the GPS Navigator with European maps, hidden in the glove compartment, was stolen We were later told by the Kurhaus Hotel, the most famous hotel in town, that the "Black Road" garage was nearly empty at night and notorious for robberies. We were never warned by the Carlton Beach Hotel. Just sent there blindly. There were other more secure garages further away.

Since the hotel is extremely understaffed and overworked, they could not show me how to use the navigator I purchased in The Hague. Again the Kurhaus Hotel came to my aid even though we were not guests by carefully reading and explaining the directions in Dutch.

Our microwave did not work. The hotel promised every day to fix it but never did.

Finally, we were allowed to use the hotel parking lot after the robbery. The hotel claimed there were now spaces available. The hotel lot has a very narrow entrance with poles on three sides. We dented the door of our rental car leaving the lot. The manager later admitted to me that accidents have occurred there before. The poles were placed there after a Hummer tried to enter the garage. He also made some poor excuse about The Netherlands being so overcrowded that space was at a premium.

Breakfast is served until noon. The family room was spacious but a bit over priced. We choose this hotel because it was the only hotel in town with a pool near the beach and boardwalk.

The manager, Herman Kemp, would only reduce our bill by about 10% and offered us free parking for the nights we were in the hotel lot.

Driving without a navigator is terrible in cities. We got very lost in Amsterdam on the day we discovered that the navigator was stolen and on the way to Kinderdijk the next day.

Understaffed and poorly trained staff. Internet service is too slow for downloads.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Immpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesCBH, Director of Sales at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
We very much regret the experience you have had during your stay at our hotel. We do appreciate that you have written your review on Tripadvisor as this is the only may that helps us to improve our product. We will do our upmost to avoid this situations again in the future.

In case you will come to visit The Hague/Scheveningen again we very much hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you that we can offer the service and quality our guests may expect from a 4* location at the North Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
384 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

The location is pretty hard to top, located right on the beach, and within easy train/bus/car access of The Hague. The rooms are generously sized and have a TV, internet access, and balcony, as well as a clean and well sized bathroom. A nice fitness center and spa is also on the premises.
The breakfast is pretty good, and there are plenty of restaurants along the long promenade, as well as a small grocery store, with a bakery that sells the best brownies I have ever had!
It was really hot when I was there, so I spent some time relaxing on the beach, where the Carlton offers daylong rentals of sun-shades as well as drinks served from the beach club.
I think my only issue with this otherwise quite lovely hotel, is that it is so huge, it loses its charm and seems a little impersonal. Also, I hate to say this, but the staff was downright rude. I'm not sure why, but they were really quite unfriendly to me and my family, even though we spoke both English and German with them, and really had to difficult requests except asking directions. Other than that it was a really enjoyable stay. I highly recommend taking a day to drive to The hague and explore, it's really a nice city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calypso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

After reading reviews for this hotel, and how terrible the beds are, I requested a room with two twin beds pushed together. We arrived early and were given a very small room with a tiny "double", VERY soft bed. Probably as previous reviews have said, one of the worst beds I've ever sat on! Thankfully the receptionist was very helpful and moved us to a bigger room with two very comfortable twin beds together. Nice views of the dunes and sea. Good toiletries and a scented candle in the bathroom. Lovely bar, restaurant and communal areas If staying in Scheveningen I'd go for here or the Kurhaus.. Just make sure you get a big bed!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Stayed for one night in Carlton Beach hotel in Scheveningen in June 2010 and I do not plan on ever coming back again. I didn't get any sleep! The walls are paper-thin and the noise level in the room was simply unacceptable! It sounded as if they were conducting construction works in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniaolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deidesheim, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Positive: location,
friendly staff
Negative: small rooms,
staines on curtains, bedspread, carpet
worse bed i ever slept in - had to remove the top mattress as it was so soft like lying in a hammock.
had to ask 4 times to extend our room
not enough space for luggage.
you pay for the location and i rather stay in The Hague and take the tram to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheveningen
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#5 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#3 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen

Property: Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
Address: Gevers Deynootweg 201, 2586 HZ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Scheveningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scheveningen
#1 Family Hotel in Scheveningen
#2 Green Hotel in Scheveningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel located on North Sea beach, 10 minutes from center of the Hague. Easily reachable via public transport (tramstation Zwarte Pad next to the hotel) and car. WiFi free of charge, Animation Team for (kids) activities. Carlton Beachclub, right in front of the hotel on the beach, open from April-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen Hotel The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing