We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax stay”
Review of Carlton Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Beach
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Perfect hotel, sometimes the parking is full, so you have to park in some public parking house, but it is not so far. The fitness center is perfect a lots of machines. Internet connection is also quite good. Good service.

Room Tip: Best rooms are seaview rooms, but the dune view rooms are also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers and for your compliments! Indeed, you can park your car either by Zwarte Pad or Scheveningse Bad, both within walking distance of the hotel. We hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

Nice location for a nice stay at the sea side. tram nearby - ideal for a vist to then Hague. rooms clean. the outside might need some refurbishing. Parking ok but not much covered places and if available inside : far too small to get in

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! Pease note that we are working on the outside and that this will be done before the end of the summer! We do have our own parking lot, although on busy summer days it would be a good option to use either Scheveningse Bad or Zwarte Bad, both within walking distance of the hotel. We hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Nice location for a nice stay at the sea side. With beautifull weather is super. The beach is really nice with lots of restaurants, bars, pubs with relaxation areas on the beach. The Hotel is nicely located but needs a renovation urgently. The bed was old and very noisy. The breakfast was good. We only had 2 a very unpleasant encounters with the bar tender of the beach bar from the Hotel. He was really not customer friendly. At one point he did want to serve us and the result was that we never went back here again and because of him will never return back to this Hotel again. His collaegues sadly agreed with us. They really should be more critical in hiring people that need to serve customers. He is really ansmall tiran who wants to dictate what people can do. On a vacation ????',',',

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ben663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! In the meanwile we have contacted you directly to give you an appropriate answer and solution. We hope to see you soon at Carlton Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The staff is kind and location is great, unfortunately we had some hiccups.
Hope these notes help to get things right the first time for future guests.

-dirty glasses, no refill tea/milk/ sugar (think these should be in the room as there is a kettle)
-requested extras were not ready in the room
-5calls to get room service

Room Tip: New sea view room are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravCdeWurld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! We will definitely discuss your points mentioned with the different departments and we hope to see you again at Carlton Beach, so we can show you this was an incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

So the weather wasn't good and it was really windy when I arrived here. The room was a bit smaller than what I expected and it was a let down as I had a lot of luggage with me. The swimming pool and sauna area was nice, but 10EUR for the sauna was not justified. I mean at 200EUR per night, a sauna shouldn't be something that I should be charged for. Parking is ok but in the open as a result, the car was covered in sea water mist, salt and sand!! Breakfast was OK. The lift keeps on making the sounds of waves of albatrosses and waves splashing. All in all, nothing special, but good enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pranav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers, although your stay was not completely satisfying. Please note that we will take your points into account and we still hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed with my wife 3 days in the hotel, perfect location, perfect hotel, friendly staff and excellent service. All entertainment within walking distance from the hotel, including Holland Casino and public transportation.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with seaview, sunny balcony in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RenedeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! This kind of reviews makes us happy and we love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Close to the beach in calm, nice neighborhood, 5 min walking to entertainment area of Scheveningen and amusing museum beelden aan zee, great room accommodation and service, great hotel for business as well as for private stay

Room Tip: Great rooms with bathtub with blue, mood lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Justyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! This kind of reviews makes us happy and we hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheveningen
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,043 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Hague Marriott Hotel
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 68 in The Hague
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#4 of 24 in Scheveningen
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Beach

Address: Gevers Deynootweg 201, 2586 HZ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Scheveningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scheveningen
#1 Family Hotel in Scheveningen
#2 Green Hotel in Scheveningen
Price Range: $114 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel located on North Sea beach, 10 minutes from center of the Hague. Easily reachable via public transport (tramstation Zwarte Pad next to the hotel) and car. WiFi free of charge, Animation Team for (kids) activities. Carlton Beachclub, right in front of the hotel on the beach, open from April-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen Hotel The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing