We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel near seaside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Waarschoot, Belgium
1 review
“nice hotel near seaside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Nice location for a nice stay at the sea side. tram nearby - ideal for a vist to then Hague. rooms clean. the outside might need some refurbishing. Parking ok but not much covered places and if available inside : far too small to get in

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! Pease note that we are working on the outside and that this will be done before the end of the summer! We do have our own parking lot, although on busy summer days it would be a good option to use either Scheveningse Bad or Zwarte Bad, both within walking distance of the hotel. We hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    381
    122
    50
    18
See reviews for
183
439
35
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zonhoven, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Nice location for a nice stay at the sea side. With beautifull weather is super. The beach is really nice with lots of restaurants, bars, pubs with relaxation areas on the beach. The Hotel is nicely located but needs a renovation urgently. The bed was old and very noisy. The breakfast was good. We only had 2 a very unpleasant encounters with the bar tender of the beach bar from the Hotel. He was really not customer friendly. At one point he did want to serve us and the result was that we never went back here again and because of him will never return back to this Hotel again. His collaegues sadly agreed with us. They really should be more critical in hiring people that need to serve customers. He is really ansmall tiran who wants to dictate what people can do. On a vacation ????',',',

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! In the meanwile we have contacted you directly to give you an appropriate answer and solution. We hope to see you soon at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The staff is kind and location is great, unfortunately we had some hiccups.
Hope these notes help to get things right the first time for future guests.

-dirty glasses, no refill tea/milk/ sugar (think these should be in the room as there is a kettle)
-requested extras were not ready in the room
-5calls to get room service

Room Tip: New sea view room are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravCdeWurld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! We will definitely discuss your points mentioned with the different departments and we hope to see you again at Carlton Beach, so we can show you this was an incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

So the weather wasn't good and it was really windy when I arrived here. The room was a bit smaller than what I expected and it was a let down as I had a lot of luggage with me. The swimming pool and sauna area was nice, but 10EUR for the sauna was not justified. I mean at 200EUR per night, a sauna shouldn't be something that I should be charged for. Parking is ok but in the open as a result, the car was covered in sea water mist, salt and sand!! Breakfast was OK. The lift keeps on making the sounds of waves of albatrosses and waves splashing. All in all, nothing special, but good enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pranav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers, although your stay was not completely satisfying. Please note that we will take your points into account and we still hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urmond, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed with my wife 3 days in the hotel, perfect location, perfect hotel, friendly staff and excellent service. All entertainment within walking distance from the hotel, including Holland Casino and public transportation.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with seaview, sunny balcony in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenedeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! This kind of reviews makes us happy and we love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Close to the beach in calm, nice neighborhood, 5 min walking to entertainment area of Scheveningen and amusing museum beelden aan zee, great room accommodation and service, great hotel for business as well as for private stay

Room Tip: Great rooms with bathtub with blue, mood lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers! This kind of reviews makes us happy and we hope to see you again at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gasselte, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

For my frequent business visits to The Hague I prefer to stay in Carlton Beach. It is better than any other hotel in the region. Good proper rooms. Bed bathroom shower/bathtub are clean and high quality. The location can't be better. Sauna and swimming pool are a place to be to relax. Negative is the kind of guests you sometimes meet in the sauna, who don't know how to behave there. And the personnel in the spa who is not qualified to act upon this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kees v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RensJanSlot, General Manager at Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers. This kind of reviews makes us very happy. Please note that we will discuss your comment about the sauna internally.
Hope to see you soon at Carlton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheveningen
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#6 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#5 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#3 of 24 in Scheveningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#1 of 67 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen

Property: Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
Address: Gevers Deynootweg 201, 2586 HZ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Scheveningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scheveningen
#1 Family Hotel in Scheveningen
#2 Green Hotel in Scheveningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel located on North Sea beach, 10 minutes from center of the Hague. Easily reachable via public transport (tramstation Zwarte Pad next to the hotel) and car. WiFi free of charge, Animation Team for (kids) activities. Carlton Beachclub, right in front of the hotel on the beach, open from April-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen Hotel The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing