We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Carlton Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Beach
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 20, 2013

For starters the location of this hotel is just great as it is on the beach and a few steps away from the Beach boulevard.
Also getting to the hotel is fairly easy from Den Haag's centre by taking tram #9 and getting off at the final stop. You can see the hotel once you get off the tram. To go from there back to Den Haag you take tram #1, and make sure you're waiting for the tram at the right place as it's not the place where you get off the tram.
The staff is quite nice and helpful. The rooms are nice and comfortable, except for the pillows which I didn't find too comfortable. And if you have a balcony overlooking the beach then you'll enjoy a majestic view of the sea.
My room had a mini bar, a safe, hair dryer, iron and everything else you may need except an alarm clock and no instructions on how to set a wake-up call (if there are, I couldn't find them). But to make up for that you get two phone sets in the room, not sure why :)
Room service is very good, so I guess that must mean that the hotel's restaurant is quite good too.
The reason I didn't eat at the hotel is that it's surrounded by several interesting restaurants, cafés and bistros well worth trying.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
There are newer reviews for Carlton Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Don't let the 4-stars put you off, I reserve 5 stars only for the exceptional. However this is a very good hotel and in a great location where its design means that just about every room has a sea view of sorts. Although the hotel looks a bit 70s and characterless from the outside the inside in modern but pleasant and not overly sterile like some can be. The bed was extremely comfortable and there is free wi-fi readilly accessible in all rooms (the lack of free wi-fi in 4-star hotels is a pet hate of mine). The breakfast was very good; although not your full English there was plenty of good fresh food and the dining room is comfortable and has a view of the beach. The bar is also cosy, which is unusual for more modern hotels. As for the location, it could not really be bettered. As for the staff, all were extremely helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent two nights here but were very satisfied with our stay. It's right by the beach with handy transport links nearby for The Hague. We took a deluxe room which was a nice size and had all the amenities one would expect; wardrobe, desk, tv, tea and coffee facilities etc. The bed was two singles put together, but they didn't move apart. The room also included a small seating area and quite a large balcony (handy for the smokers). The bathroom was a good size and included a big bath and nice shower. The usual toiletries were provided, with a washcloth, and bath salts for the bath. Breakfast, despite being expensive, was excellent. There is something for everyone here, and everything is very fresh, including the fruit. There is a fellow standing by to make you an omelette with a filling of your choice if you wish. I especially liked the freshly squeezed orange juice machine, but staff should make sure to empty the pulp tray regularly! We did not use any of the spa facilities, so cannot comment on those. Overall, a very satisfactory stay. Pleasant surroundings, pleasant staff, great breakfast and free wifi. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Make sure you pick a deluxe room as these are larger and have a very nice bath! Try not to take one...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We spent only one night here, but we really enjoyed the stay. Room is spacious, location is great to enjoy the walk or dinner on the beach. Breakfast was good. When we arrived to hotel the restaurant was busy, so we could not find a table, but there were a lot of places to eat outside.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ainur_kaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at your hotel following a course. Although your hotel needs a renovation, it was a pleasure to stay here. The location is more than wonderful and also your hospitality exceeded our expectation. We will come back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 'so called' family room. It has a bedroom and seperate living room. The bathr...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gea1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Many thanks for your positive review. Regarding your comment obout renovation we can inform you that we are currently renovating 10 of our hotelrooms on the first floor, so they will be state of the art very shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

- I spent one night here with my two kids.
- Hotel has great location with beach and dunes on its doorstep and good public transport
to The Hague Centre (approx. 15min.). Tram/bus stop is behind hotel.
- Nice hotel, businesslike but at the same time cosy atmosphere
- Because of fall break, there were quite a number of families staying
in the hotel, which gave a nice contrast to the suit & tie guests.
- Very friendly and helpful staff.
- We had a Deluxe room (no. 123) on 1st floor with small balcony.
Partly parkinglot/dunes/sea view.
-Room was well kept and very clean, spacious and nicely decorated with seating area and huge
desk space. Sufficient closet space to put your clothes for a few days.
- Ironboard and coffee/tea facilities. Minibar was stocked with beer and soft drinks, 1 small complementary bottle of mineral water (not much for 3persons), 2 telephones with direct
phone lines.
-Plenty of toiletries in nice, well equipped very clean bathroom with bath and separate walk-in shower.
-Buffet-style breakfast is expensive (eur22 pp) but offers a good selection of hot and cold food and gives you a good start of the day. Your favourite egg dish can even be prepared on the spot! Staff is very alert to keep the buffet well stocked. Breakfast hours are great
during weekends (07.00-12.00).
- Check-out time 13.00hrs! So it leaves you enough time to take a stroll along the boulevard or enjoy the beach before departure.
- Definitely worth the price!
- We did not use the fitnessclub, swimming pool or dining facilities
therefore cannot comment.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back can be noisy due to the tram traffic.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franzlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at the Carlton Beach for two nights during a business travel.
The hotel is just nearby the sea with a spectacular view on it. Rooms are very nice: new furniture, choice of complementary coffee and tea, free Internet wireless, a lot of plugs available (sometimes if you happen to travel in couple, and both of you need to work on your low-battery laptop, you need to put the cellphone in charge into the bathroom! Well, not in this case!), ironing stuffs and everything you might need. Maybe the window is a little bit dated, but this not affect the global result. The staff whilst being very nice and efficient: since I booked a stay without breakfast included, they gave me a coupon to have it with a discount. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Many thanks for your positive review. We are looking forward welcoming you again at our hotel during your next business-trip to The Hague.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheveningen
0.5 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#5 of 24 in Scheveningen
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#4 of 24 in Scheveningen
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#3 of 24 in Scheveningen
191 reviews
4.3 mi away
NH Atlantic Den Haag
NH Atlantic Den Haag
#14 of 68 in The Hague
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Beach

Address: Gevers Deynootweg 201, 2586 HZ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Scheveningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scheveningen
#1 Family Hotel in Scheveningen
#2 Green Hotel in Scheveningen
Price Range: $121 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel located on North Sea beach, 10 minutes from center of the Hague. Easily reachable via public transport (tramstation Zwarte Pad next to the hotel) and car. WiFi free of charge, Animation Team for (kids) activities. Carlton Beachclub, right in front of the hotel on the beach, open from April-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen Hotel The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing