We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard combined with enjoyable feel-at-home and superb location”
Review of Carlton Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carlton Beach
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I am staying 1 or 2 nights per week at this hotel for almost 2 years now. I enjoy the Carlton Beach since it combines comfortable rooms, professional approach and beautiful setting. Scheveningen brings rest and oxygen, whilst The Hague center is quite nearby. The promenade, pier and beach in front of the hotel help you to relax. The rooms are clean and well equiped. The restaurant serves simple no-nonsense dishes. Personnel is always listening and ready to help, even the temporary stagiaires. All these assets make Carlton Beach a perfect business hotel for the regular traveller who wants to to be well attended but still feel at home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Many thanks for your review, very nice to discover that you are feeling yourself at home at Carlton Beach. Hoping to welcome you again in the future at the beach of Scheveningen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just the right place on the right moment.
A very hospital hotel, on a very good and during the night a quite location alltough it's at the beginning of the boulevard in Scheveningen.
Only the parking was a minor point. We came very early in the morning and there was no parkingplace. The receptionist gave us helpfull tips to park and offered us the possibility to keep our luggage during the day. Again for me a sign to give you your excellent

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Many thanks for your review. We very much appreciate that your stay at our unique location was to your compete satisfaction. We like to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Carlton Beach is a decent hotel with good facilities and a great location. The price is far to steep for this mid-range hotel. You obviously pay for the location.

Another aspect on the plus side is the breakfast. Lots of choice and fried eggs and omelette made by a cook.

Good hotel, but try and get a deal on the price to make it match the experience value. See and dune view rooms are more expensive, but the same size. I personally don't spend much time on the balcony, so for me this isn't worth the extra cost. Far more fun spending time on the boulevard than in your room!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinDamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

We very much like your review. Please be informed that you can get the best rate by contacting our Reservations Department directly. Looking forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

"We make you feel as home" is the most known motto of the hotels, and I find that little bit exaggerated because staying in a hotel room for a couple of days can not be sufficient to verify that exactly. However, I am in Den Haag for business purpose for a long term, and if I still prefer not to move to an apartment and staying in Carlton Beach last 4 months, it definitely proves that Cartlon Beach can make me feel as home. Large and very clean rooms, comfortable bed, spacious balcony with great sea view, very kind and responsive personnel, various breakfast, restaurant with delicious food, in brief; nothing that would bother me has happened for 4 months. I appreciate the whole team.

Room Tip: 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors rooms are little bit larger than others. And, of course, sea view rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cem O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Many thanks for your positive review. We very much like to welcome you again at our unique location at the beach of Scheveningen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights last week. Lovely room with balcony overlooking sand dunnes. Fantastic aircon that was needed last week. Would stay again. Got best deal from Booking.com! If arriving in The Hague from Amsterdam on train leave Railway station and get on Number 9 tram 2.50 Euro and stay on until last stop (Hotel is 30 sec walk from final tram stop)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for three nights in June 2012. This hotel is at the Northern end of the main beach in Scheveningen, and literally sits right next to the beach. It has the pretense of a 4-star hotel, and whilst the rooms are spacious, services are too random to be true 4-star. My personal ranking is that of a 3-star hotel with some 4-star amenities. My stay was overall a fair to good experience, however with some items to mention:

Random housekeeping: The bed was not made once during my stay; housekeeping just came in, replaced the towels, and pulled the bed covers straight to some extent, but no effort was made to "tuck in" the bedding in any way.

Shower soap was not replaced when empty even though this was clearly visible.

Towels in the bathroom were some of the smallest and thinnest I have seen in any hotel. Much cheaper hotels usually have better towels.

Minibar was not replenished every day. One day it was, the next day it was not.

The bed was very soft, which I guess some people like but is not my preference.

Noise from the corridor clearly carried through into the room - the entrance door had little or no soundproofing.

However I would recommend the hotel for its location, and for the free WiFi which is a definite bonus - too many hotels charge for this. These two reasons alone may bring me back here one day.

But I would strongly recommend that management introduce room checks after housekeeping has finished a room. It appears that housekeeping is not subject to normal control processes (no managers' check after rooms are done) and/or does not appear to work from checklists, and this results in slack standards and a poor service experience for the guest.

I did not use the hotels bar or restaurant as there are plenty other establishments in the immediate area.

Note: my room was one of the beachfront ones, which cost extra (and presumably are larger and better equipped than the standard rooms).

Room Tip: If you want sea/beach view, get a beachfront room (costs extra).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesCBH, Guest Relations Manager at Carlton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Many thanks for your review. This and your suggestions will help us to keep our service on the level that guests can expect. We are looking forward welcoming you again at the beach of Scheveningen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Forget about the hotel, the jewel is the BeachClub. The food is average, but combined with the beach, with good weather, and it is definitely a pleasant experience. Service is typical along the beach in The Hague, with a young Staff, but the relaxation, and no crowds compared to the other side of the pier, this is a great way to spend an afternoon or evening at the beach.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank MichaelReiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheveningen
0.2 mi away
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
Bilderberg Europa Hotel
#2 of 24 in Scheveningen
993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
Ibis Den Haag Scheveningen
#5 of 24 in Scheveningen
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Hague Marriott Hotel
The Hague Marriott Hotel
#6 of 68 in The Hague
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
Ramada the Hague Scheveningen
#3 of 24 in Scheveningen
226 reviews
4.3 mi away
NH Atlantic Den Haag
NH Atlantic Den Haag
#14 of 68 in The Hague
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Beach

Address: Gevers Deynootweg 201, 2586 HZ Scheveningen, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Scheveningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scheveningen
#1 Family Hotel in Scheveningen
#2 Green Hotel in Scheveningen
Price Range: $107 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel located on North Sea beach, 10 minutes from center of the Hague. Easily reachable via public transport (tramstation Zwarte Pad next to the hotel) and car. WiFi free of charge, Animation Team for (kids) activities. Carlton Beachclub, right in front of the hotel on the beach, open from April-October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen Hotel The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing