We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seinpost

Seinpost
Ranked #22 of 140 Restaurants in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Dutch, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
manila
Level Contributor
275 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stopped here for lunch after a trip to Gouda, and on the way to the Hague. They served an absolutely delicious sea bream, paired with a smooth Riesling. The desserts were very good. Service was efficient, from waiters that were so goodlooking!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    33
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Fish in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Restaurant Seinpost in Scheveningen, (The Hague Coast),has been one of our favorites for the last 30 years. Great oyster variations, wonderfull fresh fish, and still in these difficult times very affordable. Don't be scared of by its 1 michelin star, the prices are very resonnable!!
They varie the menu often enough for regular visitors!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Lunch, beautiful location.
Oysters and fish very good and well presented.
The oyster menu included surprising and interesting combinations.


Friendly service


Helpful?
Thank Remco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow service, reasonable food, nice setting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Seinpost is a fish restaurant with a lovely view over the beach in the Hague. But unfortunately the service is far too slow and prices too high for the food compared to other restaurants in the city. We arrived at 7.30pm on a Saturday and ordered a la carte. The first course was served at 9.05pm. Two of us choose the "warm cod", which was served stone cold, which was a shame as the sauce was delicious. The 2nd course came 50 minutes later and was very good, with excellent fish very well cooked in every case. But dessert only arrived at 11.03pm. I have been fortunate to have eaten in many Michelin star restaurants and appreciate sometimes the service can be a bit drawn out, but 3.5 hours for 3 courses is simply unacceptable. The staff were friendly and worked hard though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

First time we visited Seinpost back in 2011 we loved the service and the food. Great quality dishes, great presentation, great value for money (part of the Restaurant Week set menu), friendly service. We visited them again in June 2013 and were slightly disappointed with both the food and the service.

The food was very well executed and put together, but not particularly orginal or exciting (except for strawberry-yoghurt the dessert, which tasted out of this world and was served in a gorgeous dish).

But the service was a big disappointment. Paradoxically, it was very correct, but entirely unfriendly and arrogant. If you're doing everything by the book, you might as well try to put a smile on your face, it's not like we're in France ; ). In general, Dutch service at all levels is most of the times terrible, inadequate, unprofessional, but almost always friendly and down-to-earth. I really have no idea why Seinpost staff wears those aloof and may I say annoyed masks on their face or the reasons why the consider it serves their cause. If anything, it sharply contrasts with the friendly attitudes in restaurants of this level elsewhere in NL. I later talked to someone else who visited them lately and she also experienced the service as "arrogant".

I kindly advise the management to take note of this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia_van_Bommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seinpost also viewed

Scheveningen, The Hague
Scheveningen, The Hague
 
Scheveningen, The Hague
 
Scheveningen, The Hague
 

Been to Seinpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing