We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, excellent service”
Review of Het Gouden Kalf

Het Gouden Kalf
Ranked #5 of 145 Restaurants in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $38
Cuisines: French, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoying the art of cooking and hospitality with a view of the typical boats in the Scheveningen Harbor. At Het Gouden Kalf, everything revolves around our fresh and seasonal products, a warm atmosphere and accompanying wines. By fresh, we really mean fresh on that exact day. Every morning, our day starts with choosing the freshest and finest ingredients the suppliers and fish markets (known as visafslag) have to offer. These ingredients form the basis of the 3-, 4-, 5-, and 6- course menu and the à la carte dishes that we form to your wishes. Lunch, dinner, meat of the week, fish of the week or vegetarian dishes we create an experience for everyone. Inside or on the best terrace of the entire harbour! We enjoy an easygoing atmosphere and proudly offer you a varying selection of 35 wines that you can order by the glass. Feel free to ask us for advice or experiment with our wines on your own. See you soon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went on the Friday between Christmas and New Year. Parking on-site. Great view of the harbour. While it wasn't that busy we were made to feel like the only people in the restaurant. We had one pescatarian in the group and they were happy to adapt the menu to suit. Before we started they explained the menu in full to inform our wine choice. The wine was delicious and very reasonably priced.

We were given the four-course set menu because they told us there was not good fresh fish availability around Christmas. We were not disappointed.

To start we had a mixture of pickle vegetables, cold meats and cheeses. All absolutely delicious. The first course was veal carpacchio with raw tuna and baked cold meats. We were then offered a selection of freshly baked bread. The second course was John Dory with Austiran bacon, caviar and leeks. The third course was venison with a macadamia nut purée, cinnamon and sweet potato. For dessert a "surprise" of coffee cake, hazelnut meringue, raspberry sorbet, grapefruit purée and mint macaroons.

The (I presume) owner was so lovely, explaining every course and was very attentive.

Came to about 50 euros per head with wine/ beer.

We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgianaSMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    71
    13
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very nice place to recommand. Quality of the dishes is excellent and they are served by a very friendly staff. The food is cooked in the middle of the restaurant. Very good price/quality ratio.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Small scale restaurant that focuses on the great quality of food and service that it delivers!

Went with a group of four and all chose to go for the 3-course meal. Plates were arranged very nicely and the food just amazing.

Atmosphere in the restaurant is just amazing. Quite intimate with the chefs working just right behind you. Also nice view over the harbor.

Will come again soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malteweege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service,food, wine and beer are unbeatable!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Place where you go for special occasion, or to reward yourself. Great menu for people who love meat (especially red meat). I am, however a vegetarian. Even it is a meat restaurant I was offered a great meal with excellent wine match to every single meal.
Service was excellent! Staff was happy to recommend beer, wine and food. We also had a deep discussion about wines right at the beginning and knowledge of owner and people working in a restaurant made us understood that we are at the right place!
If good weather seating outside is great and offers nice and calm water view.
Do you love good food and good wine? - if "yes" Het Gouden Kalf is place to go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexandrovnaOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Scheveningen next to the water”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went to Het Gouden kalf for lunch during a business trip to the hague, on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews.

We were not disappointed. We had the very reasonably priced lunch menu. The starter Langoustine salad was one of the best langoustine dishes I have ever had. The main course fish was excellent, although slightly under seasoned.
Location and food were overall excellent.
Note that the restuarant was almost entirely empty for lunch (the owner/manager explained that due to the economic situation most locals do not go out to lunch) but that reservations are a must if one wants to dine in the evening.
Overall - very good choice for fish and seafood in a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Gouden Kalf also viewed

Scheveningen, The Hague
 
Scheveningen, The Hague
 
Scheveningen, The Hague
Scheveningen, The Hague
 

Been to Het Gouden Kalf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing