We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal food!”
Review of Het Gouden Kalf

Het Gouden Kalf
Ranked #5 of 148 Restaurants in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $40
Cuisines: French, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoying the art of cooking and hospitality with a view of the typical boats in the Scheveningen Harbor. At Het Gouden Kalf, everything revolves around our fresh and seasonal products, a warm atmosphere and accompanying wines. By fresh, we really mean fresh on that exact day. Every morning, our day starts with choosing the freshest and finest ingredients the suppliers and fish markets (known as visafslag) have to offer. These ingredients form the basis of the 3-, 4-, 5-, and 6- course menu and the à la carte dishes that we form to your wishes. Lunch, dinner, meat of the week, fish of the week or vegetarian dishes we create an experience for everyone. Inside or on the best terrace of the entire harbour! We enjoy an easygoing atmosphere and proudly offer you a varying selection of 35 wines that you can order by the glass. Feel free to ask us for advice or experiment with our wines on your own. See you soon
1 review
“Phenomenal food!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a hidden treasure; the outside looks much like the many beach side restaurants in the area. The harbour view from the deck on a nice day is great. But the food makes this restaurant really stand out. Excellent taste combinations, beautiful and local ingredients and textures one wouldn't expect at a mere 'brasserie'. The bill at the end of an evening with the chefs 4 course dinner with matching wines certainly was brasserie style: a pleasant surprise. This restaurant is absolutely worth your visit, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lvdonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    72
    13
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Mid-week visit, not very busy, lovely decor, super lunch: fantastic food, fish prepared to perfection (both the appetizer and the main course), attention to detail in all the ingredients, very good wine choice. Discreet but efficient service. A pity we did not have time to stay for coffee and dessert. One of our best meals in The Hague in a long time. Compliments to the chef.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar
1 review
“Our favourite restaurant in the Hague”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

After our first dinner at Het Gouden Kalf we were taken aback by the hospitality, quality of food and the savoir-faire of the wine list. We have come back so many times for dinner, celebrations and large functions and experienced a consistency of quality and service unsurpassed in The Hague. Ester & Robert-Jan take a refreshingly inclusive approach to their hospitality, inviting you to share your wishes freely and to then make them happen for you. The standard of food is second to none in Holland and here again the chefs will adjust for your needs. Perhaps it is the passion they have with the wine list that makes it so clever & well researched. All the wines have been personally tasted before inclusion with an emphasis on food paring and matching. We have enjoyed the experience of selecting both the surprise menu and the surprise course by course wine selection. In trusting their judgement we have benefitted from their savoir-faire to the point where we are happy now to receive their advice against our own selections. The menu and wine list is always evolving, providing new courses and wines to try keeping things interesting for the returning client. The charming and busy atmosphere just makes you want to come back again and again. Restaurants like this are rare and we are so pleased to have discovered it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BonVivantWassenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly host, great chef”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Warm welcome, friendly atmosphere. Chef not only knows what he is doing but enjoys it too! Open kitchen, you can see every thing being prepared by 2 people in good harmony.
The fish soup was one of the best I ever had. Nice view on the boats in the harbor. Hand shake and a 'thank you, come again and have a nice evening' when we left!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YoYo118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tingling taste buds!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We breezed into here for lunch after a hairdressing appointment. We often visit here for a quick salad and drink so this was our first cooked lunch with them. The experience it was actually exciting! Wild Sea bass with clams and a champagne sauce was delicious . My desert of marinated pineapple finished the meal with a last zing. No comments on wine as I was driving.
Serrvice was friendly and attentive. Picky as I am with coffee, the lady serving us came back instantly with more milk and a smile on her face. We also smiled when we saw how reasonable the price was. We'll be there again soon eating great food and watching the harbour go about its business.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 300gillianj300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Gouden Kalf also viewed

Scheveningen, The Hague
 
Scheveningen, The Hague
 

Been to Het Gouden Kalf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing