We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Het Gouden Kalf

Het Gouden Kalf
Ranked #4 of 141 Restaurants in Scheveningen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $37
Cuisines: French, Dutch, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoying the art of cooking and hospitality with a view of the typical boats in the Scheveningen Harbor. At Het Gouden Kalf, everything revolves around our fresh and seasonal products, a warm atmosphere and accompanying wines. By fresh, we really mean fresh on that exact day. Every morning, our day starts with choosing the freshest and finest ingredients the suppliers and fish markets (known as visafslag) have to offer. These ingredients form the basis of the 3-, 4-, 5-, and 6- course menu and the à la carte dishes that we form to your wishes. Lunch, dinner, meat of the week, fish of the week or vegetarian dishes we create an experience for everyone. Inside or on the best terrace of the entire harbour! We enjoy an easygoing atmosphere and proudly offer you a varying selection of 35 wines that you can order by the glass. Feel free to ask us for advice or experiment with our wines on your own. See you soon
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Did had an excellent lunch in the restaurant...I'm a professional in food and service and having said this, I'm dining and lunching in a lot of places. The service was how it should be...I had a business lunch and they were great: no extra questions asked just following the rules of service and seeing what was needed to give me a succesfull lunch with my client..Thank you so much. The Saumon was one personal pleasure as well as the main course, thanks to Peter Jan and his great chef de cuisine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heleen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    71
    12
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We went tonight, a Thursday, and we were happy to get a table w/o a reservation. The three-course prix fixe dinners for under 30 Euros was a great deal. We're not foodies, but we found all the food excellent, from the amuse bouche to the fresh mint tea after desert. Getting to chat with Ester, the owner, was fun too. Its location, on the water at the harbor, and the classical-meets-industrial decor made a pleasant and unique setting. The views included working boats, sail boats and power cruisers. -If you come by boat, you could even tie up right beside the restaurant, btw.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyInCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Went here Friday night with two friends and from the start terrible service...not a smile in the house. We were the first to arrive ...5:30, ordered by 6:15 the three course special. Second course finished at 7:50 but by 8:45 still no dessert. I had to leave, dessert was finally served at 9:15 and yup mine was not served to the others ... though you can be sure it was on the bill. Oh and while we waited no other service, we were left dry ..no water, no wine, no coffee. SO IF YOU LIKE TO BE IGNORED this i the place to go ..where service is non existent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A really first class restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We came to Scheveningen at the end of a three week tour of Europe. We had last been here almost fifteen years ago. I read the selected this restaurant because of the reviews and the location. It was the perfect choice. The other reviewers were absolutely correct. The entire experience was outstanding. The food, the service, the atmosphere. We had the special which was Turbot - it was sensational as was the cheese plate we had afterwards.

Helpful?
Thank Hn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A golden restaurant at the harbour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

A very cosy restaurant where you always made to feel very welcome by Esther and her team. Small menu but very good and a wonderful selection of wines. In a lovely situation overlooking the harbour. And a nice terrace in the sun in the summer. We're "regulars" there and we've introduced many of our friends to this excellent restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PurdyTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Gouden Kalf also viewed

Scheveningen, The Hague
Scheveningen, The Hague
 
Scheveningen, The Hague
Scheveningen, The Hague
 

Been to Het Gouden Kalf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing