We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean”
Review of Lux Melati Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lux Melati Hotel
Reviewed November 28, 2013

For £15 sterling per night with (indonesian) breakfast provided, this place is excellent value. Contrary to the prior reviewer I found the place to be kept very clean, and as far as the facilities go, everything worked. The AC worked, the TV with satellite worked, and the shower worked. Yes, the shower is of the Indonesian style "wet room" so everything will get wet. But so what. The water is hot and you still get clean. You have clean towels provided and a decently comfortable bed.

Furthermore the hotel has motorscooters for rent. I paid 75K IDR for one day. This gave me the freedom to go around town and also to go to the north coast to the beaches and to the place to catch a boat to the island with the lighthouse.

I found the staff to be friendly. Knowing a bit of Bahasa Indonesia will help you - both at this hotel and in Belitung. The island does not yet see tons of westerners, so English is not as widely spoken. But it was a fantastic visit!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zmrzlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 37 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Was meant to stay there one night over a weekend trip to Belitung. First of all, as we arrived, it took them a long time to find our booking. Second of all, we had a asked for twin beds upon making our reservation and got provided double beds. Finally we arrive in our rooms, to find a dead enormous fly on the bed spread. The bathrooms were also dreadful, very smelly and with no toilet seats or shower separations... we checked out a few hours later to go stay at another hotel down the road and ended up having a great weekend in Belitung!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. It took only 5 minutes walk from the beach, very close to the city centre and you can find many food around the hotel. The rooms are quite cheap and breakfast included.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runitap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

the hotel lobby is very simple, a reception desk then few chairs and table,
hotel located in a very strategic location, walking distance to tanjung pendam beach and to the city center.
staff are friendly and willing to help, free wifi in room and public area.
room is nice and clean, bathroom abit small but good, 32inch LCD with sattelite TV,
had a little problem in the toilet but asked the hotel staff and get it done few minutes after.
at the price i paid for this hotel, im fully satisfied for the room quality and service, it s a very recommended hotel in Belitung Island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Riky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

the rooms are basic but clean and the hotel is a 5 minutes walk from tanjung pandan beach where you can have some really cheap food and drinks during the day or at night, you sometimes even have concerts in some bars.
this is one of the cheapest hotel in the area and is a wise choice as you won't be spending a lot of time in your room once you're in belitung anyway.
the staff can arrange the location of a motorbike (75'000 IDR with no bargaining) or car with driver if necessary.
breakfast is ok too, just tell the owner what you like to eat and he'll do it if it's possible. the staff don't mind if you grab a cup of coffee or tea anytime during the day too.
don't be afraid to rent a bike to go to tanjung kelayang or tanjung tinggi, it's a 30 or something minutes drive away from the hotel only.
i

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank asartoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuxMelati, Owner at Lux Melati Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Hi Asartoni,
Thankyou for staying in our hotel. Your review is much appreciated and we will continuously improve ourselves to the better. Other than strategic location, we hope you found warmth & friendliness offered by our staff, I hope you enjoy most of your time in the island & made an unforgettable trip. Please feel free to give us any advice in order to serve you & other customers better. Hope we have another chance to welcome you again.
Cheers..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank stefanyfelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Antaresa2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belitung Island hotels
0.9 mi away
BW Suite Belitung
BW Suite Belitung
#1 of 17 in Belitung Island
507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belitong Inn
Belitong Inn
#4 of 4 in Tanjung Pandan
16 reviews
1.0 mi away
MaxOneHotels Belstar Belitung
MaxOneHotels Belstar Belitung
#3 of 17 in Belitung Island
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Orion Belitung
Grand Orion Belitung
#12 of 17 in Belitung Island
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Billiton Hotel and Klub
Billiton Hotel and Klub
#2 of 17 in Belitung Island
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hatika Hotel
Grand Hatika Hotel
#5 of 17 in Belitung Island
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Melati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Melati Hotel

Address: Jalan Melati 72 | Tanjung Pandan, Belitung Island 33411, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > Bangka Belitung Islands > Belitung Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Belitung Island
Price Range: $17 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Lux Melati Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and simple hotel, friendly staff, suitable for business, solo and those who looking value for money. Located in center of town which give guest easy access. We provide clean room with wi-fi, a/c and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lux Melati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing