We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lorin Hotel & Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Belitung Island
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

The position of the resort is magic, it's located in front of one of the most beautiful beach I ever seen, white sand and see with many different colors.
The resort itself need some renewal and refurbishment, it is possible to see that by the time was built only few upgtade and maintanance action was done. The food of the restaurant is actually one of the best one on the island.
The staff is very kind and helpful, for example we requested to rent a motorbike but being high season all the rental associated were out of availability. One of the guy of the staff gave to us in own motorbike saying that was property of the resort and proposing it free of charges. Only by the moment I check out i discovered that the motorbike was owned by this guy and for 3 days he went to work with another colleague. This is only an example how the local people mentality is, fantastic!
The price of the room for deluxe villa is Rp 600,000 (about 58€ p/night), while the junior suite is 1,200,000 (about 115€). Especially for the deluxe is more than worthy even because is the best resort of the island.
Personally i'll get back there soon, i think you should if one day you'll be so lucky to spend few days in the paradise.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank El_Grinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
19
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We decided to go to Belitung Island to check out the snorkeling. We tried to make reservations online and were told to call the resort because their internet was down. We are expats living in Jakarta. On the phone we reserved the Jr. Suite for 3 nights over a long weekend in May. This was made over 1.5 months in advance. We could not do online banking as the bank that Lorin uses is not in Indonesia's main banking system. This was confirmed by BCA bank. So we relayed this information to the hotel and were told that we could pay in cash when we arrived. I received a letter of confirmation.
Well upon our early arrival, there was a look of horror on their faces. They had no reservation for us and were totally booked out.
The reason was because we had not deposited 50% down. The fellow that had spoken to me was no longer there. The manager finally offered us to come and stay at his home.
He took us there and left. His wife had given-up her room. It was located about 3km from the hotel in a village inland. As we were meeting our friends to go touring the countryside, we were left without transport for about an hour. Finally the wife arranged through friends to loan us 2 motorcycles.
That evening when we returned, we stopped in at the hotel, to learn, that we could have a room, but on the condition it was just for 1 night. The room was available due to a cancelled flight.
To make a long story short...the room was very good but expensive. The hotel's restaurant has a very limited menu and hardly anyone eats there. We were told that people go to the coastal fishing restaurants. We wasted alot of time and it caused alot of stress not knowing where one would stay for the night.
On the second night our group of friends at the other location Kelayang Beach cottages, reshuffled everyone in the rooms to give us a room for the night. ( very basic, No AC, No hot water, only a mandi for washing...and the water was brown)
The hotel brought our suitcases there and demanded payment for the 1st night...they charged us full price and did not offer any compensation for all the waiting and run around we had to do.
Anyway, I don't recommend this place. It's too unreliable. It seems to be one of the best there is, but does not live up to its high prices.
The beaches are beautiful. One word of warning--you must wear full rash suits to cover up as there are sea lice and you'll be totally covered in a rash. Extremely itchy.

We learnt from one of our friends, that he had tried to book with Lorin months in advance and finally gave up. Guess he was smarter than us.

The snorkeling is good but the accommodation and services are not.

Room Tip: We only saw the Junior Suite, and it was like a deluxe room. It was good but way over priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Balinorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belitung Island hotels

Sentul, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The place is perfectly located in front of the beach across the street, the room which we stayed was also nice, the staff are very excellence and helpful. the room rate was also friendly, we could negotiated. Since, it was not an easy to find transportation like taxi, it also provided Motorbike to be rent, the Rental fee was also base on your negotiation. we really enjoyed to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arya354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
366 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We spent four days here, at what we now realise is the wrong time of the year - a local told us that Belitung gets a westward wind from November to April, which means rain and beaches strewn with detritus from the sea. Better to visit in June to September.

The hotel is a pretty small complex - around 20 chalets. We took a junior suite, which is a detached chalet facing the beach. Between the hotel and the beach is a road, perpetually occupied by people on motorscooters zooming up and down - although we were out most of the day, I imagine this would be quite distracting if you wanted peace and quiet, and the (cheaper) chalets further from the beach would be a better choice.

There were both good and bad things about the chalet. It was lovely to have a bathroom that was exposed to the sky - you could happily have a bath or a shower and watch the rain fall on the walled garden that you were standing in. But all the extra rainwater meant that the water coming out of our taps was a rather more brown shade than we wanted. The room is a good size and the furniture is comfortable, but you're in a tropical environment and the constant humidity means that nothing looks absolutely brand new. It wasn't dripping with moisture, but this wasn't the same kind of thing that you'd see in a high-end city hotel. The other problem with having a chalet facing the beach, apart from the noise from the road, was that when it rained, the wind blasted the water through cracks in the door and window frames, and so the room would begin to flood each day, which wasn't hard to deal with (the staff brought down more towels to catch the water and mopped up quickly) but if you weren't expected it, might be rather annoying.

There are lots of geckos. I like geckos, but if you're not fond of reptiles then having one run across the bed in the middle of the night might also be offputting. They had eaten most of the mosquitoes, which was a real blessing - this is a rural environment, blessed with a lot of insect life, which is less enjoyable if you're worried about insects chowing down on you.

Food at the hotel was ... ok. Breakfast doesn't have much range to it, although they will fry up any omelette you ask for. Vegetarians don't have much choice for evening meals, and while we were there they ran out of french fries - or the chef didn't feel like cooking, because there was an ample supply of potatoes the next day - make of that what you will. There's a limited supply of beverages, but you're here for the natural beauty of the island, I suppose, rather than because you want to chug cocktails in an NYC-type environment.

Staff were very friendly and eager to help, although I think they don't have that much experience of how a hotel works - hence they would sometimes seem to be a little absent or unclear on what you wanted them to do. The worrying stories we'd heard of burning refuse outside the chalets didn't occur while we were there - a pleasant stay for a few days, but it's certainly not a place with a lot going on - come here for tranquility, not partying. And probably it's better to visit when it's not the rainy season.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrCushtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We only stayed one night. The location is remote and great for a relaxing stay. The bungalow reminded me of some of the places I used to stay when visiting Bali 20 years ago. The rooms have lots of windows and an ocean view.

The bathroom is an open style, which can be warm and have bugs but the fresh air keeps it from getting musty and stinky. TV in our room did not have good reception upon inspection the antenna cable was poorly soldered to TV. Also no internet at this hotel.

The day we stayed the property was almost completely empty. When we went for breakfast we were able to just order any breakfast item we wanted for the complimentary breakfast. At the time we ate breakfast it was a heavy downpour and the low swampy area next to the open dinning room had a very strong smell of decay (sewer smell).

We walked the beach in front of the hotel and it was full of trash (plastic bottles, light bulbs, sandals, glass bottles) that the ocean had spit up during rainy season. This was also true on the smaller outer islands that we toured. Very sad to see such a beautiful place covered in trash.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank korepeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the Lorin Hotel & Resort at Belitung, Indonesia, in July 2011. We chose this hotel as it sounded the best available, which it probably is, but they have much to learn regarding hotel customer service and resort maintenance.

The rooms are very tired and in need of a good clean and serious maintenance. The split system air-conditioner is old, light shades are tattered; some peeling wall paint and a small old TV that only has foreign language programs. There is a small safe which is not bolted down and could be easily carried away. Two beach towels were provided in the room and bathroom towels had to be requested, each day the same procedure had to be repeated. There was no tea & coffee provided as their website states is provided. On request they did provide it for us but once again daily supplies were not replenished and had to be requested. There is a very long waiting time for any request from reception and house keeping.

They have no idea regarding guest comfort and relaxation. The swimming pool was empty (“under maintenance”) and this should have been advised to us when making our booking. They were extremely blasé about it as though it was no problem. They use noisy lawn cutting equipment when they obviously can see guests are relaxing on their outdoor areas, they also constantly burn smelly rubbish and garden debris close to the rooms. Despite advising management we were being smoked out they apologised and put their fire out but a few hours later it was smoldering again.

The breakfast is OK, mainly Indonesian selections but the juice, fruit and egg station sufficed. The coffee was undrinkable, one morning it was cold.

The hotel is not right on the beach, there is a road, which carries considerable local traffic between the hotel grounds and the beach front.

One day we took a local boat to a neighboring island which had beautiful white sandy beaches and clear turquoise water and good snorkeling. The boat and snorkeling equipment was easy to organise and not far from the hotel.

A few minutes drive down the road there are local restaurants on the beach that serve wonderful local fresh grilled seafood at very cheap prices.

Belitung Island is absolutely beautiful, very green and clean. The beaches are very nice and particularly along the area where this hotel is located, fine white clean sand and crystal clear turquoise water.

Belitung Island would be a wonderful holiday destination if the resorts and hotels could be re-furbished and improve their staff training and guest services.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal, some are a longer walk from reception & restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OzziesDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batam Indonesia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We chose this place based on the website. Boy were we fooled! The clever photography shows this place on the beach, this is however not the case. A main road with heavy traffic, separates the resort from the beach.
Nothing in our unit worked! Starting with the door which we struggled with each time. The dirt under the bed was thick. Tiles in the bathroom were all loose. The sink was at the level of my knee. No bath towels, only heavily used beach towels which they removed every day for washing but never bothered to replace. We had to call every day for new ones. The shower did not work well, the ac did not work the first 2 days, the pool had no water in it.
There was a promise of tea and coffee in the room on the website. We were 300m from the restaurant and that would have been nice to have. In the evening we wanted to sit on our little terrace, one of the better features of the resort but unfortunately they used that area to burn the garbage. Toxic fumes were everywhere see photo. When I complained they doused it with water but then the next morning did not hesitate to light it up again. Grass was cut in front of our unit for more than one hour while we tried to sit outside. Nobody else was sitting outside they could have cut grass any place else.
They have a huge master plan for expansion but I really think they need to get the first part right before they continue.
And there's more but why bother... you get the idea! Don't go there!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jborschberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belitung Island hotels
0.0 mi away
BW Suite Belitung
BW Suite Belitung
#1 of 15 in Belitung Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Billiton Hotel and Klub
Billiton Hotel and Klub
#3 of 15 in Belitung Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Essential Belitung
Golden Tulip Essential Belitung
#4 of 15 in Belitung Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MaxOneHotels Belstar Belitung
MaxOneHotels Belstar Belitung
#2 of 15 in Belitung Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hatika Hotel
Grand Hatika Hotel
#7 of 15 in Belitung Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Tropical Village
Green Tropical Village
#1 of 4 in Tanjung Pandan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorin Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorin Hotel & Resort

Property: Lorin Hotel & Resort
Address: Desa Tanjung Tinggi, Belitung Island, Indonesia (Formerly The Villa Lor In Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > Bangka Belitung Islands > Belitung Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Belitung Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Lorin Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorin Hotel And Resort
Lorin Hotel Belitung Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing