We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over Priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Syv Sostre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Syv Sostre
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandnessjoen
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

The hotel is out-dated, over priced, the food in the restaurant is dreadful, the service is awful, the reception staff are dull -bored- and lack any interest in their customers. The mattress on the bed is too soft and you end up with a back-ache. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The hotel make up for this by having stale/warm coffee in the lobby. One of the public lounge areas was unavailable as it was taken by a company having a conference in one of the small meeting rooms. Avoid Room 407 as you cannot see the TV from the bed......The hotel would be better using the room for the cleaner to store the cleaning equipment. To charge almost 200 Euros a night is completely outrageous. There is no competition therefore The Rica can charge a huge amount and provide a crap service and get away with it.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a bath - the room will be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roughguide247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    40
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
16
35
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

I visited this hotel late in 2010, and it was rough weather outside, but inside there was good temperature and friendliness!

I arrived late, and wasn't hungry, so I didn't try the dinner serving.

The room was rather high up, with a view over the harbor, where a couple of supply ships was getting ready to get out in the Norwegian sea.

I slept like a baby, with a smell of the sea in my room, and a great bed!

The breakfast was expected from a Rica hotel. It had everything I would need from a hotel breakfast, and the staff said good morning to me, I like that.

I can't find anything to be disappointed about in this hotel..

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were driving north from Trondheim towards Narvik and needed a break after a few hours drive. We stopped at Rica hotel Sandnessioen in a rainy day. We were welcomed warmly, a free parking in front of the hotel was arranged and we were given an excellent room at 5th floor sea-view.
After a short stroll downtown and along the quay, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant.
We have had a local fish main course, which was very fresh and tasty. Notwithstanding a fairly large group of german tourist arrived by bus in the meantime, the service was attentive and fast.
Given the bad weather and the relatively unattractive village, we have had an above average stop-over. I will certainly do it again in case of a next trip in the area.

Room Tip: ask for a sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KinPa_1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monthey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed there for one night end of May.

As I understood it was the sole choice in Sandnessjoen. Nevertheless, and despite the relative old state of the building, we had a very nice stay there.

The room was clean, big enough for two people and the bathroom was ok.
We had a nice dinner at the restaurant. And the breakfrast was really great, a huge choice.

Free wireless internet as well which was quite nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake130381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
171 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

This is currently the only hotel in Sandnessjøen, which explains why this hotel can charge the rather high price of NOK 1400 for a single room. I was not able to find any discounts on the usual websites. There's a HI hostel in town as well if this price puts you off.

This is an OK hotel, even if it is clearly dated. Some rooms have recently been refurbished, and my 5th floor room was fresh and OK with a nice balcony facing the sea. The in-room TV did not work. I reported this to the reception, who was unable to help (their suggestions for fixing the problem were useless). They refused my suggestion of changing to another room, but did offer to LEND me a newspaper or to use the lobby TV.

The reception had only 2 different courses on offer, so I chose to eat my dinner in one of the local pizza outlets instead.

Breakfast was OK, but nothing more.

The staff was not very service minded. The reception was unstaffed several of the times I needed assistance, and there was no bell or similar devices to attract attention.

So... I would use this hotel again, but the lack of competition is noticeable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blazius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodø, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

Contacted the hotell the same day, and i stayed there on a buisness trip. I got a smokers room, and the standar was not good. It looked like i was enetering the 70's, and the room had a very cold atmosfere, and it was rather expensive aswell.
There is an hotell my the sea i Sandnessjøen, and that keeps a much higher standar, and its also cheaper.

  • Liked — That it was open when i arrived, and the breakfast was okey.
  • Disliked — Bad standar on the hotell room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandnessjoen
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Kysten
20.3 mi away
Fru Haugans Hotel
Fru Haugans Hotel
#1 of 4 in Mosjoen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lyngengarden Hotell
Lyngengarden Hotell
#2 of 4 in Mosjoen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Havblikk Camping
Havblikk Camping
#1 of 2 in Nesna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Syv Sostre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Syv Sostre

Property: Scandic Syv Sostre
Address: Torolv Kveldulvsons G. 16, Sandnessjoen 8800, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Sandnessjoen)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Sandnessjoen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandnessjoen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Syv Sostre 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Syv Sostre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing