We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and freundly personal, good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Kautokeino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kautokeino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice and freundly personal.
There is a big parking place.
The rooms with shower and toitlet are very good.
Breakfast is very well.
The diner is okay.
The coffee and internet is for free.

We got what we expected.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Thon Hotel Kautokeino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 156 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Visited this hotel twice, once in March and once in May. Both were business trips.

Positive aspects: Beautiful hotel. In March the ice screen, bar, and amphitheater were still there. A visit in early spring is a once-in-a-lifetime experience because the hotel seems magical then. It was bustling and is in an ideal location. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, although the bar was always un- or understaffed.

Negative aspects: Like everything else in Norway, this hotel was remarkably expensive. One doesn't expect to pay so much for a chain hotel in a rural location. Also, I was told on the phone that breakfast would be included in the price of the hotel, but it was not. When I checked my bill after checkout, I noticed that we had been charged for breakfast. The breakfast buffet was exceptional and we would have eaten there in any event, but it was surprising to be charged for it. The other meals were mediocre at best. The rooms are also quite tiny. During the second stay, there were three of us and we were so crowded that we couldn't move and had no place to store our clothes and heavy coats. There is also a sauna, but the hours were terrible, so we didn't use it.

The Thon is pretty much the only place to stay in Kautokeino, so doesn't have to try very hard to compete with other hotels. While it is charming in many ways, I would not have stayed here had there been other viable choices.

Room Tip: The Thon is pretty much the only game in town, so you have no choice but to stay here.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAcentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The Thon Hotel Kautokeino itself is lovely. The beds are comfortable, the reception staff is very helpful and friendly, and the design of the hotel is warm and welcoming. I stayed here two years ago and decided to return. The restaurant was a disaster this time. A buffet was served that evening, we were not told the price nor were given the option of the ala carte menu. The food was supposed to be in the typical Sami tradition (reindeer meat, clear broth, root vegetables) and was shockingly expensive for the low quality. We actually thought the bill was for two people was actually for the entire table of four!
I would stay here again but would avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chonobuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Unexperienced, uncompetent receptionist spoiled the whole visit. We had to pay room rate twice! Pre-charged when making the reservation. Now reimbursement procedure going on. Summer clerk could not use hotels` computer program. Also unbelievable that in Thon Kautokeino cash and credit card payment cannot be combined! Either or.
We haradly revisit here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaFe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Thon Hotel Kautokeino has a unique Northern touch, but when it comes to design and the food they serve. Lovely photos taken by a local photographer adorn the walls, and the bed was extremely comfortable - a Thon Hotel trademark.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aila_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We were coming from Sweden and had planned to cut the journey going to the North Cape.

This hotel is very nice and calm. Excellent welcome and quick check-in.
Our room was at the end of the buidling and was small but very comfortable.
We had windows on two walls.

We deciced to have dinner and bad luck there was only one cook in the kitchen.
This info only came very late and some angry guests left the dinning room being irriated
to wait. The waitress should have informed us of this beforehand.

We waited for 1h45 to get our single dish but we were given a beer each on the house.
Our food tasted good and so did the beer.
OK this happens and we were not upset as on holiday. We tipped the waitress as this was not her fault. The view from the restaurant was fabulous.

Hotels are not cheap in Norway. This was not an exception either but the room was excellent and so was the breakfast which is a buffet. Yet the room plus the dinner was €299 for 2.

Parking is easy outside of the hotel and is free..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lov2travelww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Placed on a hill over the village, pleasant nature in the surrounding area. To the north extremely walkable. The large windows in the restaurant gives a great view north and east with much light, and you can see very far. The TV in my room didn't work, but that didn't bother me as I had time reading a book instead. Bathroom with tiles all over. Very good water pressure and hot water in shower came quick. Excellent cold water from the faucet, is drinkable even after hours in a glass, with no distaste. Three course meal was served in ok time. Else the service was average. The food was very good, when sufficient amounts of it was placed out, which wasn't always the case. Just seemed a little hard to get the staffs attention to it at times.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rishtario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thon Hotel Kautokeino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Kautokeino

Address: Biedjovaggeluodda 2, Kautokeino 9520, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Kautokeino Municipality > Kautokeino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kautokeino
Price Range: $167 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Kautokeino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Kautokeino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing