We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok
Nearby Hotels
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tenon Erakievari(Karigasniemi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
61
2
3
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
2
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog sleddingnorthern lightshand madethe ownerone nightfrozen riverhusky safarisami reindeerfishpolar nightopen firethe riverunique placemagical experiencesandwichestwo nightsdogs
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 69 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We recently spent 5 days and nights at Engholm Husky Design Lodge and it couldn't have been more perfect. Our cabin was so unique and comfortable. The staff were well informed and friendly and the food was delicious! If you want to get away, Engholm Lodge is a place to go. The dogs are wonderfully friendly and there are many lovely walks to do. We were there at the time of the midnight sun and it was exquisite. One of the highlights of the trip was learning about the Sami people and their culture. I can't say enough about this experience. Do yourself a favor and visit this part of Norway. I promise it will be beyond your expectations.

Room Tip: Any cabin is unique and wonderful.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran49680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Positive aspects: Absolutely beautiful, handmade cabins. We were amazed by these cabins, which combine natural, rustic materials with interesting, creative, and Scandinavian design elements. Even though we stayed here one night, I don't think we saw all of the wonderful little details of the cabin. The cabins are in a beautiful wooded area about five or so minutes from the lovely town of Karasjok. Sven Engholm, the owner, was very helpful when it came to email correspondence and advice. We arrived shortly after the snow had melted, so it wasn't possible to go for a sledding trip, but this was fine with us.

Negative aspects: Like everything else in Norway, the one-night stay at the lodge was exorbitant. Think of the most expensive hotel you've stayed in and double the price. The sign directing guests to the lodge indicated that it is a "bed and breakfast," which in my mind suggests that included in the price of the stay guests receive a "free" breakfast. This was not the case, however, so the signage is misleading. The quote we received from the owner regarding meals was shocking (although I'm sure the meals were good) and it was clear from the quote that breakfast was not included (nor were we informed that we would be offered breakfast while we were there). While the owner was friendly and courteous regarding email correspondence, he is less so in person. Besides the staff member who showed us to the cottage, we got the distinct impression that we were barely being tolerated. Also, while the forest surrounding the lodge is beautiful, it is not possible to take a walk in any direction due to the dog feces which covers the ground. This is not surprising given that it is, after all, a husky lodge. But if you are a fit person or someone who requires any kind of exercise, you will be disappointed. The roads around Karasjok are very narrow and there is no shoulder to run on, so it feels unsafe to walk/run on the road and unless you want dog feces on your shoes, there is nowhere to walk on the premises.

I feel conflicted about the lodge. On the one hand, it's beautiful, but on the other the price is very high and the reception would be best described as "odd." Definitely wouldn't stay here again, but might recommend it as long as you know what to expect.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lodge with a shower and kitchenette. Definitely recommend this so you can pack/cook your own food to save money. There's a decent grocery store in Karasjok.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAcentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

we stayed one night in Latnja cottage March 2012. Cost 2800nok. We did see the northen light through the trees - but there are a LOT of trees.
1. the cottage is beautiful carved,designed,built,
2. cottage is adjacent the husky dogs ? barking - noise?,
3. it has a small 2 burner stove,
4. clean small bathroom,
5. incredibly helpful,kind staff,
6. it is a 500m down hill walk to the cottages/hostel building, Staff will help carry bags - especially over snow, we asked for a luggage sled.
7 the cottage is small - so don;t take large suitcases. About the size of a small hotel room,

Summary. - the cost is toooooo high. 2800 nok!. I repeat - staff & Sven ( owner/builder/designer) are delightful.

Room Tip: Be clear the facilities you are booking. be sure you like dogs.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janellesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My wife and I spent a night at the lodge July 2010. We were informed that the cabins had kitchen and stove. When we got there we really liked our cabin, which was neatly made. Our main issue was the terrible behaviour of the manager: the staff member who showed us to our cabin was very polite, and when we asked if there was a stove in the cabin she said no, but that she could easily access the stove in the main house for us. We accepted the offer, only to realise that was a mistake. 30 min later the manager knocked on the door and was furious, he told us off for being inpolite for demanding such service and went on about that this was unaccepteable behaviour!! Shocked by his outburst we could only appoligize, even though our only crime was to accept the staff's offer. This totally ruined our evening, and we were just eager to leave as soon as possible.
We have travelled all over the world, stayed in everything from hostels to 5* and never have I experienced similar outburst from a manager/owner.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank oekonomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

In August 2011 we are travelling in Norway from North to South It was great. On of point of out trip was Karasjok. This is really magic place, Especially - Sven Engholm's Husky Lodge - all staff hand made, everythig is natural, everything is exclusive. Great sauna.., I was totally relaxed.

If you wish to feel you in fairy tale, this is place were need to go !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews