We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amaising Norway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok
Reviewed August 24, 2011

In August 2011 we are travelling in Norway from North to South It was great. On of point of out trip was Karasjok. This is really magic place, Especially - Sven Engholm's Husky Lodge - all staff hand made, everythig is natural, everything is exclusive. Great sauna.., I was totally relaxed.

If you wish to feel you in fairy tale, this is place were need to go !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2011

This may be alright if you're about to go on a sled dog tour but otherwise not recommended. The 40+ dogs are very noisy and the nights sleep was interrupted. High cost for accommodation with shared bathroom (walk 50ft through -20F weather to bathroom in different building) and food very expensive. I found the seal and animal skins all over the room distasteful. The owner and his daughter were very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichWChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
engholmhusky, Manager at Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Thanks for your visit and for telling us about your impressions at Engholm Husky design lodge December 2011. I’m sorry to read that your stay didn’t satisfy your wishes. I will spend a minute to respond to your review.

Sled dog tours and expeditions are our livelihood. It is the first time in 30 years we receive complain about Engholm Husky sled dogs, but one complainant is one too much. In the pack of 50 dogs we hade two of the females that was in heat during your stay, and that is the reason why your sleep got interrupted by the male’s “love song”. Fortunately, this only happen a night or two during a year. Anyhow – we at Engholm Husky team, both 2 and 4 legged are very happy now because the “love time” gave us 9 new healthy puppy members.

Engholm Husky lodge is natural and environmentally friendly. The designed log houses are all handmade individually and have a special charm. I have made all artwork, decorations and internal work with natural wood, stone, leather and furs in order to create a unique and personal atmosphere in each house. I am also proud to show some of the animals living in the region- and we gladly share from our knowledge about them. Everything is collected from the wild around here. It’s nature, which is in ecological balance.

Some design cabins have private facilities and some have not. Unfortunately you chose without your own bath although it’s very small price different.

The food served at Engholm Husky is fresh homemade and the most possible degree of organic and locally produced. Presented in a warm and special atmosphere. Includes always fruits and chocolates, and your choice of warm drink, as much as you like! Of course, that gives different price than mass-produced food.

Anyhow - what is travelling without impressions, experiences and knowledge about other cultures and way of living. “If you always do what you always did, You´ll always get what you always got.”

We respect your point of view, people are different- fortunately. Our biggest goal is satisfied guests, which are our livelihood. We will keep on working and creating to get better. Hope to see you again at our door step but probably without howling welcoming concert.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I almost decided not to write a review. I want great success for Engholm Husky Lodge, but what you experience there is so rare, and so special, I don't want it spoiled! Part of that is the experience of the beautiful Polar Night and the Northern Lights. Part of that is the love and energy of the huskies, so excited to work hard for each person. But mostly it is the hard work and generosity of Sven, Christal, and those they choose to work with them in this magic place. We went for an 8 day husky adventure and came away challenged, fulfilled, enchanted, and wanting more.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raverraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We recently stayed 3 nights at Engholm Husky lodge with 2 days of dog sledging (aka mushing or sledding). It was amazing. Sven, a champion dog musher and his partner Christel run the lodge and dog sledging business. They provide an impeccably professional but also warm experience together with help of Thomas and James. Aside from their charm and getting to know them, we also had a thrilling experience dog sledging through the magical snow covered woods of Karasjok. And just to top it all off, we came home to a warm and lovely cabin and were able to eat a hearty and delicious dinner with everyone else at the lodge. It isn't necessary to be very fit to go dog sledging. It is possible to drive the sled yourself (fantastic) or ride in a sled where you can enjoy the scenery even better. The dogs are so affectionate and real snow enthusiasts!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DMLondon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Staying here will be one of the memories that stays with you for the rest of your life! I am so sad that -- against the adivice of the owner -- we stayed for only one night. You need a minimum of 2. The setting is beautiful. The cabins are unique and wonderful. You enter your cabin and feel that you are coming home. If you want to sit and read, there are swings on the porch. If children want to play in water, there is a rushing stream at the bottom of the hill. If you want to walk in the woods, there is a trail. If you want to watch the sled dogs fed - you're welcomed morning and/or evening and given the chance to hold a puppy (maybe a future winner of the Iditerod??). If you want to fly fish, talk to Sven. Sven and his wife are the most amazing people you will ever meet. The young people working here are friendly and very interesting to talk with; they come from all over Europe. If you don't cook for yourself in the cabin, you can share meals with the young people. You don't have many choices for eating at restaurants. The cabins are 6 m outside of Karasjok and you can visit the Sami Village there (you can eat here but this is expensive); or take a tour of the Sami parliament. Some of the cabins come with indoor plumbing, others require you to share facilities, so reserve early if this matters to you. The sled-dog adventures look absolutely amazing, but even if you don't go to Karasjok for that experience, make an effort to stay at Engholm's Husky Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PJaneChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

It is like entering a fairy tale - the place, the design, the people - we will certainly be back - hopefully in wintertime!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zivico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Spent 2 nights at Engholm Husky base and then 2 nights in a wilderness cabin in the mountains. Sven, Crystal and all of the staff were so kind and helpful. The place was immaculate, charming and beautiful. All created by Sven himself. I spent 3 days on a husky safari - covering over 90 km over frozen rivers, lakes, up and down mountains and across deserted plateaus. It was an experience of a lifetime. If you get the chance to come here and experience it yourself - DO! You'll never regret it. The dogs are fantastic (even if you're not a doggy person). I was given this as a Xmas present by my husband and nearer the time of departure had concerns about whether I would fall off sled etc. Alastair at Activities Abroad was fantastic and so reassuring - more like booking a holiday with a friend than a faceless company. My luggage and cold weather gear didn't make the connecting flight from Helsinki up to Ivalo but no matter - Crystal sorted me out with some of her clothes. First time travelling solo and I couldn't have picked a more friendly, helpful and reassuring group of people. I definately want to come back and next time bring husband and daughter - they'd adore it too, I'm sure.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smills2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karasjok
4 mi away
Scandic Karasjok
Scandic Karasjok
#1 of 1 in Karasjok
187 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kalastajan Majatalo Inn
Kalastajan Majatalo Inn
#1 of 3 in Karigasniemi
22 reviews
3.4 mi away
Karasjok Camping
Karasjok Camping
#2 of 6 in Karasjok
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Jergul Astu
Jergul Astu
#4 of 6 in Karasjok
6 reviews
3.9 mi away
The White Reindeer Motel
The White Reindeer Motel
#2 of 2 in Karasjok
21 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aurora Borealis Motell
Aurora Borealis Motell
#1 of 2 in Karasjok
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok

Address: Engholm husky Karasjok, Karasjok 9730, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Karasjok Municipality > Karasjok
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Karasjok
Price Range: $123 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The designed log cabins at Engholm are situated next to Karasjohka river, 6 km outside of Karasjok. The houses are built by Sven Engholm him selves and have a special charm. He have made all the interior furnishing and decoration in order to create a unique and personal atmosphere in each house. We provide lodging with full board, or if you desire, just only lodging. Free wireless internet zone. Canoe and bicycle rental. Salmon, trout and grayling fishing in the river nearby. Char and pike in the lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Engholm Husky Design Lodge Karasjok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing