We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my ideal spot to relax”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tiroran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tiroran
Certificate of Excellence
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“my ideal spot to relax”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Wonderful, and remote, location. About 1 hours drive from Craignure, unless you are going against the traffic flow. Single track roads, mostly. The hotel is close to the sea Eagle watch point, and you may see any wildlife from White-Tailed eagles down to siskins.

The grounds are beautiful, with view over the loch. Wonderful breakfast, and better dinner. All gather for an aperitif before dinner at a defined time, so everyone gets to meet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToastedWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    35
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
240
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rodney Bay
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and we had a wonderful time. So friendly and welcoming. We ate here both nights and the food was really nice. We stayed in the Annex room which was comfortable but had no shower so had to use the bath. The gardens are spectacular with brilliant views over the loch. Evening can be very formal which I enjoyed. During our stay most of the guests were elderly. We loved to listen to their life experiences which was really interesting. Laurence the owner is fabulous. He is the "perfect" host" who really makes you feel so welcome. We are looking forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciaRodneyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2014

From the very first moment we felt welcome and were delighted by the accommodation available. We appreciated the help given to organise a trip with a naturalist to see some of the interesting wild life Mull has to offer and to facilitate a visit to Iona and the Abbey as well as a boat trip to Staffa. Needless to say the food was very good. I hope one day I can revisit Tiroran House.
Marjorie Wells.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMW274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in the Rose room and ate in both nights, partly due to the remote location. The room was lovely, large king-size bed and very comfortable, wonderfully quite. We would not have know that there were so many people if we hadn't seen them for dinner. There are 'pre-dinner' drinks in the sitting rooms prior to dinner. Excellent selection of gins for a lovely gin and tonic. The meals were also nice as was the breakfast. The grounds are amazing, we walked the path down to the water and it was lovely.

Room Tip: The rose room was lovely and was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRHCaoimhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had three very enjoyable nights at Tiroran and would definitely stay here again when on Mull. The setting is beautiful with lovely gardens and a pleasant walk down to the shore of the loch. We didn't see any otters but were assured that they are seen quite regularly. The hotel is about 45-50 minutes from the Oban ferry at Craignure or to the Iona ferry at Fionnphort. Tobermory is a wee bit further but along a lovely road with good views.

We had a room in the house which is separate from the main hotel. The room was very spacious and had one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. The food is very good and breakfast especially was a real treat. Everyone was keen to be as welcoming and helpful as possible. We much appreciated Lawrence arranging a trip to Staffa for us which was the highlight of our stay. We would definitely recommend Tiroran - it was no surprise to find out that a number of our fellow guests were return visitors.

Room Tip: We can't speak for the rooms in the main building but those in the separate house are very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This small country house hotel is run exceptionally well, especially considering a remote and stunning location where achieving this high degree of service must be exceptionally difficult.
For this reason and many others, the prices are high, and I did raise my eyebrows a little at the price of the evening meal: however after we were given a meal on the first night worthy of a Michelin starred restaurant, we were more than happy to eat at Tiroran House for all our four nights! The food and presentation were exceptional. Canapes and petit fours are served in the lounges while the main three courses and an 'interlude' are served in the lounge, which, if you are lucky, has seats overlooking the loch with golden eagles!
Lawrence has established a convivial atmosphere at the hotel, and one we were very happy to take part in, and had lots of great chats with fellow guests: however I think this would not be the ideal sanctuary if one was looking for complete privacy from fellow guests.
Breakfast is good, though the 8:30 start was a little late for us, eager to hit the hills.
The rooms are comfortable and almost as though one is a house guest rather than in a hotel.
I must also add that as a gay couple I occasionally worry about our reception in the highlands and islands, but Lawrence and Katie could not have been more welcoming. We would love to go back: even just for the food and would recommend this as definitely the top accomodation and food on Mull

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danberney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This was our second visit to Tiroran and we were not disappointed. We were given a very genuine welcome by Lawrence at this small family run country house hotel. Situated on the edge of the loch the grounds are lovely and well kept. Dinner was excellent if slightly on the expensive side. Service could be construed as slow but that's part of the dining experience here. It makes for a very relaxed evening with aperitifs and coffee and liqueurs served in two very comfortable sitting rooms. We went with friends this time who thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Lawrence is an excellent host.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the front of the house facing down the gardens to the loch and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithandTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiroran
15.7 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
392 reviews
17.1 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
416 reviews
22.3 mi away
Kilchoan House Hotel
Kilchoan House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilchoan
121 reviews
15.2 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Tiroran House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Isle of Mull | Isle of Mull, Tiroran PA69 6ES, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Tiroran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tiroran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning Gold 4 star Visit Scotland Country House Hotel & restaurant, nestling in one of the most stunning island locations - The only Country House Hotel on the Isle of Mull and equal distance to Tobermory and Iona - Alistair Sawday's Hotel of the Year 2016 -Scottish Country House hotel of the year 2 years running, 11 en suite bedrooms (most with loch views) -elegant yet relaxed country house dining with a new a la carte menu, and a comprehensive and interesting wine list, where a genuine house party atmosphere prevails. Flexible timings for dinner reservations, although we would strongly recommend that you lets know in advance should you require a quieter and more private table so that we can guide you to a suitable dining time. Restaurant serving real, honest Scottish, local and seasonal produce each day - 56 acres of extremely large well maintained gardens with private beach, tumbling garden river, waterfalls with woodlands and original Victorian gardens - beautifully comfortable and elegant hotel run exclusively by the owners and staff for the benefit of their guests - Tiroran House Hotel Isle of Mull nestles among some of the best land and seascapes of the British Isles with some of the most exciting wildlife sightings in the UK (White Tailed Sea Eagles nesting in the Tiroran Forest, otters on the shore, red deer, wild birds, sea birds and many, many more species to see!) Non resident diners welcome please telephone or email directly ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiroran House Hotel Isle Of Mull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing