We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Almohalla 51

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Almohalla 51
Ranked #1 of 6 Archidona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just back from a perfect weekend. We were made so welcome. Myles and David have done a fabulous job restoring this lovely house in the centre of a lovely little Andalusian town. We climbed the mountain / hill behind the house - absolutely worth it. Take time to enjoy the gorgeous flowers ... And the views! Seriously, if you need to step off the rat race, within easy distance of Malaga, and are looking for a fabulous retreat, GO! You will not be disappointed. Myles and David have great ideas where to visit and we were not disappointed with their recommendations. Finally, pack flat shoes (quite hilly) and book a hire car (easy to get around, ok to park in Archidona and plenty of beautiful places to visit).

Room Tip: Archidona is quite quiet. We stayed in room 1. It faces the street but plenty of room, quiet and per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loukeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
161
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Staying at David & Myles' B&B was a real treat. They have created a haven of tranquillity which is intimate, relaxed, stylish and super comfortable. The entire B&B is spotless and beautifully presented. Our only regret was that it wasn't warm enough to swim in the gorgeous pool.... Next time!
David & Myles went out of their way to make our stay wonderful and we would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a break away in this beautiful part of Andalusia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Can't add any more superlatives to describe the house, setting or the hosts - they've already been used.
Just go and enjoy the authenticity of the place and the hospitality, relax in the octagonal plaza people-watching or play football with the local children. And DO climb the mountain behind the house for the tremendous views all the way to Seville.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooziek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Almohalla 51 is a lovely, small hotel and all beautifully restored - we were made to feel very welcome and David and Myles went out of their way to be helpful. Helpful but not intrusive - like when we had a problem with our satnav! This small hotel is ideally situated for visiting the local area and at the end of the day it was great to be able to relax by the pool. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was excellent - it was all spotlessly clean and very homely. Breakfast was an absolute feast with plenty of choice and really set us up for the day. We would certainly recommend Almohalla 51 as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old windsor
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

...a gorgeous house, tasteful rooms, great terrace, delicious breakfast ...all set in a pretty town in a stunning part of Spain ....the hosts Myles and David are charming, very friendly and helpful....an outstanding b and b.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

About 45 minutes’ drive away from Malaga in the picturesque town of Archidona is the charming, comfortable and beautifully furnished hotel of Myles and David. Myles and David are perfect hosts. They are very welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. We felt right at home from the moment we stepped through the front door. Archidona is a perfect place for exploring Andalucía - Granada, the Alhambra, Cordoba, Malaga, Seville, Gibraltar… - all those places can be reached easily from the hotel. Myles and David provided invaluable tips for our trips to the various places - form where to park to booking tickets for the Alhambra. I traveled with my 75 year old mum who's a bit particular about her hair. Myles not only made an appointment at the hairdresser for her but also took her there and explained to the hairdresser what my mum wanted to have done. Talk about service... Although the weather wasn't perfect - we did not get to use the pool - our stay was. If you are looking for a place where attention to detail and guest comfort take center stage Almohalla 51 is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatjaL_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at Almohalla 51 in late March 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is beautifully furnished and comfortable, owners Myles & David are friendly, welcoming and helpful, and the location (a small town called Archidona) is the perfect place for exploring Andalucia, being between 45-90 mins drive from Malaga, Granada, Cordoba and Seville.

The breakfasts were delicious as were the plentiful homemade cakes and it was lovely to relax by the fire in the evenings after a long day sight-seeing (I’m sure the terrace/swimming pool would have been a welcome treat, had we visited in summer).

Myles & David are very knowledgeable about the area and are on hand with tips and advice, should you need it, as well as maps of the historic cities for guests to borrow. They also have a deal with several local restaurants whereby you get a free bottle of wine provided you spend over €30, which we took advantage of most evenings.

We really felt at home there and neither of us can think of any hotel, guesthouse or B&B that has equalled or surpassed our experience at Almohalla 51 - I can’t recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaH221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Archidona
7.1 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
12.0 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
13.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Llano Pina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#8 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cortijo Sabila
Cortijo Sabila
#1 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almohalla 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almohalla 51

Property: Almohalla 51
Address: Calle Almohalla 51, 29300 Archidona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Archidona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Archidona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of Andalucía, Almohalla 51 is a boutique guest house in the historic quarter of Archidona, just 45 minutes from Malaga and Granada. In an 18th century town house with views across town and the sierra beyond, there are communal sitting rooms with open fires, patios and a plunge pool. The individually-designed bedrooms combine traditional features with modern comforts. All rooms have an iPod docking station and Wifi is available throughout the house.Breakfasts are fresh and varied and we can provide packed lunches and a set dinner menu can sometimes be offered. Activities and day trips can be organised - from visits to Granada or Cordoba, horse riding, massages or self guided walks. Almohalla 51 is the stylish, informal and welcoming base for making the most if this amazing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Almohalla 51 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing