We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okies in Andalucia”
Review of Almohalla 51

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almohalla 51
Ranked #1 of 6 Archidona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The perfect location to visit most of the sights of eastern Andalucia. Myles and David are excellent hosts and have created an oasis for their guests. The hotel offers modern amenities but is authenthic in the styles of southern Spain. Excellent breakfasts were created each morning using the best of the produce from market day. Enjoy watching the sun set over the valley from the patio. Easy access to town center which boast of a most unique town plaza. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 252 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having seen pictures of this beautiful hotel, I knew that I had to come and visit. What a perfect place to stay. It sits on a quiet residential street in the charming town of Archidona against a backdrop of pine trees. From the minute we arrived it was clear that this was no ordinary hotel. Every room has been lovingly crafted to create a stylish but homely atmosphere - beautiful and perfectly placed pictures, comfortable furnishings and thoughtful details. David and Myles are the most genial hosts, attentive and welcoming with a great passion for and knowledge of Andalucia.

The breakfasts were practically a work of art - fresh fruit, manchego cheese, serrano ham, home made fig jam, delicious bread, olive oil followed by perfectly cooked eggs (any way we wanted) and pots of fresh tea and coffee. All served with care and beautifully presented.

The whole impression was really one of being welcomed into someone's cherished home. The sitting room has a range of books, magazines, cds and dvds for you to use. You can sit by the stove fire with a glass of wine and listen to the logs crackle. On the last night we just curled up on the sofa under a blanket and watched films, having exhausted ourselves with the sights of Antequera, Cordoba and Grenada during our stay.

Another lovely touch was a home-cooked meal on that final night - most welcome after a day touring the Alhambra. A vibrant bowlful of the nicest carrot soup I've ever eaten and a casserole of chicken, peppers and a tasty dish of wild, brown and white rice.

I can't recommend Almohalla 51 highly enough. Go and visit, I promise you will be enchanted.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aranitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for just one night in October but would have loved to stay longer. David and Myles are so welcoming, what a treat to have a cake baked for our arrival. The breakfast was by some distance the best we had the whole week that we were away. The home made fig jam was delicious and a perfect match for Manchego cheese. We agree completely with all of the other reviewers, this is a really beautiful place to stay with great walks from the door and lots to do nearby.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms and you get to pick. We really liked our room and the online pictures wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie and Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you want to experience the true spirit of Southern Spain whilst not sacrificing comfort or style then this is or you. The hotel is in Archidonna which is in the centre of Andalucia giving great access to the whole region. It's the real deal, an authentic pueblo blanco, beautiful and not over-run with tourists. The hotel is also beautiful and very authentic although, if anything, a little more stylish. It's also very mellow. The hosts provide a great service, great food and always went the extra mile to help us find the best places to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at David and Myles' wonderful Almohalla 51 for four days. Although it rained for much of the time (it was the end of October after all), this did not dampen our enthusiasm for the place. As has been mentioned, the boys seem innately to know how to be attentive without tipping over into intrusiveness at any point and as a result you feel completely at home.

At many hotels, I have tended to forgo breakfast but was quite willing here to drag myself out of my comfortable bed for the daily delights of yoghurt and thyme-scented fresh fruit, followed by poached eggs, mushrooms, cured ham, tomatoes and local Spanish bread rolls. Oh, and home made fig jam. Yum.

We can recommend Restaurante Central, 5 minutes walk away, for the authentic Andalusian eating experience, made even better by the special deal that the boys have arranged with the owner. The sort of place where familes turn up to eat at 10pm and old and young prop up the bar to catch the latest Real Madrid match. And you can get great coffee for a Euro.

If, like us, you feel the need to venture further afield than the squishy sofas, we took David and Myles' suggestions and visited the attractive local hill town of Antequera and the stunning Old Town and port at Marbella. We also spent a day in Malaga, the suggestion initially causing me to wrinkle my nose. However, it was a million miles away from the 1970's package holiday prejudices I was harbouring and boasted sophisticated shops and restaurants, great architecture and some wonderful museums, including one on Picasso - he was born in Malaga.

Just trying to plot a return trip next year...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Tucked away in the small town town of Archidona, but only five minutes walk (if that!) to the centre, is the beautiful Almohalla 51. The owners, Myles and David, have created a stunning little hotel with a stylish and cosy feel. We felt very relaxed staying with them, as it really did feel like we were staying with friends rather than at a hotel. They were always helpful and attentive - nothing was too much trouble. They are the perfect hosts. Breakfast was delicious and sustaining: a pot of tea or coffee, fruit juice, cereal, fresh fruit with yoghurt, eggs done however you want them plus a special local roll called a "mollete". Although we took more advantage of the log burner than the rooftop swimming pool, the outdoor areas were beautiful tranquil places to sit.
We were only there for two nights and I wish we could have stayed longer! Would we go again? Without a shadow of a doubt!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, which is like a little suite, with the bedroom upstairs and the bathroom downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Well, where to begin? I have stayed in many types of hotels in recent years and I am delighted to recommend Almohalla 51 as a "one off". It is a boutique hotel with a difference- you feel as though you are in the home of old friends. Myles and David are unobtrusive yet attentive hosts.Both are passionate and knowledgeable about Southern Spain. Myles is completely fluent in Spanish and willing to assist with any problems you may encounter.The only parts of the hotel which guests may not access are the hosts' own quarters. Otherwise, you are free to enjoy the luxury of charmingly restored rooms throughout the entire house not to mention the stunning terraces with large plunge pool.If you are searching for character and an authentic Spanish experience, this is definitely the place for you.

Room Tip: Room 3 is like a mini apartment- the shower room ( no bath) is downstairs and gives a degree of priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 228Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Archidona
7.1 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hotel Carlos Astorga
Hotel Carlos Astorga
#5 of 6 in Archidona
59 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cortijo Sabila
Cortijo Sabila
#1 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hacienda Mendoza
Hacienda Mendoza
#2 of 6 in Archidona
34 reviews
5.3 mi away
Finca Los Pinos Guesthouse
Finca Los Pinos Guesthouse
#2 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Escua
Hotel Escua
#4 of 6 in Archidona
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almohalla 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almohalla 51

Address: Calle Almohalla 51, 29300 Archidona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Archidona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Archidona
Price Range: $114 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of Andalucía, Almohalla 51 is a boutique guest house in the historic quarter of Archidona, just 45 minutes from Malaga and Granada. In an 18th century town house with views across town and the sierra beyond, there are communal sitting rooms with open fires, patios and a plunge pool. The individually-designed bedrooms combine traditional features with modern comforts. All rooms have an iPod docking station and Wifi is available throughout the house.Breakfasts are fresh and varied and we can provide packed lunches and a set dinner menu can sometimes be offered. Activities and day trips can be organised - from visits to Granada or Cordoba, horse riding, massages or self guided walks. Almohalla 51 is the stylish, informal and welcoming base for making the most if this amazing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Almohalla 51 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing