We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure!”
Review of Almohalla 51

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almohalla 51
Ranked #1 of 6 Archidona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Tucked away in the small town town of Archidona, but only five minutes walk (if that!) to the centre, is the beautiful Almohalla 51. The owners, Myles and David, have created a stunning little hotel with a stylish and cosy feel. We felt very relaxed staying with them, as it really did feel like we were staying with friends rather than at a hotel. They were always helpful and attentive - nothing was too much trouble. They are the perfect hosts. Breakfast was delicious and sustaining: a pot of tea or coffee, fruit juice, cereal, fresh fruit with yoghurt, eggs done however you want them plus a special local roll called a "mollete". Although we took more advantage of the log burner than the rooftop swimming pool, the outdoor areas were beautiful tranquil places to sit.
We were only there for two nights and I wish we could have stayed longer! Would we go again? Without a shadow of a doubt!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3, which is like a little suite, with the bedroom upstairs and the bathroom downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 250 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Well, where to begin? I have stayed in many types of hotels in recent years and I am delighted to recommend Almohalla 51 as a "one off". It is a boutique hotel with a difference- you feel as though you are in the home of old friends. Myles and David are unobtrusive yet attentive hosts.Both are passionate and knowledgeable about Southern Spain. Myles is completely fluent in Spanish and willing to assist with any problems you may encounter.The only parts of the hotel which guests may not access are the hosts' own quarters. Otherwise, you are free to enjoy the luxury of charmingly restored rooms throughout the entire house not to mention the stunning terraces with large plunge pool.If you are searching for character and an authentic Spanish experience, this is definitely the place for you.

Room Tip: Room 3 is like a mini apartment- the shower room ( no bath) is downstairs and gives a degree of priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 228Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed with David & Myles in Almohalla 51 for 4 nights & had a wonderful time.
This boutique hotel in the quaint Spanish village of Archidona is exquisite.
The atmosphere is warm & welcoming with the proprietors creating a very homely feel to this authentic Spanish hideaway.
There are 5 double bedrooms all en suite all of which are finished to an extremely high standard.
Outback there’s a swimming pool with plenty of space for lounging around pool side soaking up the rays….. magic!
Down town there are a number of classic Spanish Tapas bars severing fantastic food at very reasonable price, the wine isn’t too bad either, mention you’re staying with the lads & you will be well looked after.
Looking forward to getting back there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skippy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from the wonderful Almohalla 51, which I can’t recommend enough. It was a birthday treat and I don’t think we could have picked anything better. A very stylish place, immaculately presented with charming hosts who were very helpful. Breakfasts were delicious, with a personal touch. The scenery and many olive groves are beautiful when you venture out, if you can tear yourself away from Almohalla 51. We took an electric bike tour of Granada that we can definitely recommend, such fun. Including the hosts, we were lucky enough to meet some exceptionally nice people whilst there, which made it all the more enjoyable. We hope there is a next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stinger7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great hotel full of charm and style. The owners, Myles and David, are welcoming, attentive and passionate about creating a luxurious and cool space. A short drive from Malaga this place is a must if you are discovering Andalucia or just escaping from the rat race for a while. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Room 2 is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawmonkey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recently opened but destined for success , would be the easiest way to start . We spent a week at Almohalla 51 in late September ,just in time to experience the worst rainfall in the area for 35 years! but even that could not take away from the top quality experience . The two owners , Myles and David have ressurected what were two almost derelict town houses and created a really smart guesthouse/small hotel. Their attention to detail on both the buildings and towards their guests is top class . Lovely characterful letting rooms , all of which are of a good size , are distributed around the different parts of the building , with the communal lounge areas and dining room on various other floors . A great terraced garden , also on three levels gives great views over the authentic Spanish village with its pantiled roofs , and includes a welcoming pool and hacienda sitting area . Lovely food , either indoors or out (weather permitting) and as much help as you could need with local eateries / bars etc. and so convenient for the sights of Cordoba,Seville,Granada and of course Malaga . We will definitely be coming back .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIKE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in Almohalla for a total of 9 nights over 2 separate arrival dates. We based ourselves here & headed off on two trips, San Jose (amazing beach & pretty town on a pristine beach) via the coast road & back through the Sierra Nevada & then, Jerez (great sherry & architecture). It was great to experience so much diversity in one trip but still to have that sense of a ‘home-base’. We were able to leave our big bags with Myles & David which made travelling light & easy.

It’s a fantastic spot & the reality, sophistication & coziness of the property is even better in real life than the website photos (which are impressive)!! They are fabulous hosts & we were well & truly looked after but they also have the knack of not being intrusive – often a hard balance to find in a smaller property but they’ve found it.

The food & wine in Archidona is fabulous & Almohalla51 has some great deals struck with local restaurants which added to the experience & ensured we got an even warmer welcome!

If you are looking to either lie by the pool & chill or get out & about, Almohalla51 is the perfect location & an amazing Spanish hideaway. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OB1Hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Archidona
7.1 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
10.9 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
813 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hotel Numero Uno
Hotel Numero Uno
#7 of 15 in Antequera
131 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cortijo Sabila
Cortijo Sabila
#1 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
214 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hacienda Mendoza
Hacienda Mendoza
#2 of 6 in Archidona
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almohalla 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almohalla 51

Address: Calle Almohalla 51, 29300 Archidona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Archidona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Archidona
Price Range: $104 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of Andalucía, Almohalla 51 is a boutique guest house in the historic quarter of Archidona, just 45 minutes from Malaga and Granada. In an 18th century town house with views across town and the sierra beyond, there are communal sitting rooms with open fires, patios and a plunge pool. The individually-designed bedrooms combine traditional features with modern comforts. All rooms have an iPod docking station and Wifi is available throughout the house.Breakfasts are fresh and varied and we can provide packed lunches and a set dinner menu can sometimes be offered. Activities and day trips can be organised - from visits to Granada or Cordoba, horse riding, massages or self guided walks. Almohalla 51 is the stylish, informal and welcoming base for making the most if this amazing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Almohalla 51 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing