We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”
Review of Almohalla 51

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almohalla 51
Ranked #1 of 6 Archidona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great hotel full of charm and style. The owners, Myles and David, are welcoming, attentive and passionate about creating a luxurious and cool space. A short drive from Malaga this place is a must if you are discovering Andalucia or just escaping from the rat race for a while. We will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Room 2 is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawmonkey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 252 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recently opened but destined for success , would be the easiest way to start . We spent a week at Almohalla 51 in late September ,just in time to experience the worst rainfall in the area for 35 years! but even that could not take away from the top quality experience . The two owners , Myles and David have ressurected what were two almost derelict town houses and created a really smart guesthouse/small hotel. Their attention to detail on both the buildings and towards their guests is top class . Lovely characterful letting rooms , all of which are of a good size , are distributed around the different parts of the building , with the communal lounge areas and dining room on various other floors . A great terraced garden , also on three levels gives great views over the authentic Spanish village with its pantiled roofs , and includes a welcoming pool and hacienda sitting area . Lovely food , either indoors or out (weather permitting) and as much help as you could need with local eateries / bars etc. and so convenient for the sights of Cordoba,Seville,Granada and of course Malaga . We will definitely be coming back .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIKE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in Almohalla for a total of 9 nights over 2 separate arrival dates. We based ourselves here & headed off on two trips, San Jose (amazing beach & pretty town on a pristine beach) via the coast road & back through the Sierra Nevada & then, Jerez (great sherry & architecture). It was great to experience so much diversity in one trip but still to have that sense of a ‘home-base’. We were able to leave our big bags with Myles & David which made travelling light & easy.

It’s a fantastic spot & the reality, sophistication & coziness of the property is even better in real life than the website photos (which are impressive)!! They are fabulous hosts & we were well & truly looked after but they also have the knack of not being intrusive – often a hard balance to find in a smaller property but they’ve found it.

The food & wine in Archidona is fabulous & Almohalla51 has some great deals struck with local restaurants which added to the experience & ensured we got an even warmer welcome!

If you are looking to either lie by the pool & chill or get out & about, Almohalla51 is the perfect location & an amazing Spanish hideaway. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OB1Hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just got back from three fantastic days at what could be the perfect little hotel. Almohalla 51 is a beautifully restored pair of townhouses tucked away in one of Andalucia's pueblo blancos. The style is traditional but stylish at the same time - it's an incredibly calm place where you can retreat to a snug corner with a book or sit in the sun by the pool and enjoy the picture postcard rooftop views. My favourite spot was the hammock in the open barn at the top of the garden. The owners, David & Myles are super friendly, know the town and area really well and nothing's too much trouble. Breakfast is delicious and varied - eggs lots of ways - and little touches like freshly baked cakes some afternoons really made it. We arrived with lots of plans to go exploring but in the end didn't feel like straying too far from the hammock/bed/cakes......still, there's always next time....

Room Tip: Room 3 is split level so feels like a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent a long weekend here a few weeks ago and it was everything that we needed. A beautifully restored house that the owners obviously care so much about. Our room was a real treat. Big but cosy, and so comfortable.
The sun trap courtyard for a generous breakfast is a splendid start to the day, and then we just walked up the stairs and sat by the pool overlooking the town and mountains. Pretty idyllic!
Almohalla 51 is a really peaceful house yet only 5 minutes walk to the traditional and charming restaurants and shops.
Picking fresh almonds down the road is a simple treat if you're there at the right time of year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena_Hf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I spent 4 days here in September, and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. Located in the heart of Archidona, which is a short drive from Malaga airport but once you are there you feel a million miles away. With its narrow streets and traditional tapas bars you experience a slower pace of Spanish life. The hosts of Almohalla 51, Myles and David, have created a wonderful place to come and switch off from city life. Having converted two listed town houses into an ultra-comfortable home-like hotel, whilst retaining the traditional features of the original houses they have introduced modern comforts with beautiful en-suites, wifi and a sun trap pool area over looking roof tops to a vista of the sierra in the background. Perfect for a relaxing afternoons’ reading after a walk up to the restored Moorish walls and church on top of the hill behind them. Each morning we were presented with a variety of breakfast choices, all of which were delicious and plentiful. I look forward to returning and exploring some of the surrounding towns and country side, as well as taking in some more "Almohalla 51" atmosphere!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

On the way to/from Malaga to Granada, in Archidonna, Myles & David made a livedream true.
We experienced a very warm and very gentle welcome.
The "almohalla51" Is a hidden beauty spot highly to recommend.
A place to refuel imagination, to dream, to restore, to reload batteries, to discover, to get exited!
Simply, a wonderful place with lovely and charming host!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Archidona
5.4 mi away
Hacienda Mendoza
Hacienda Mendoza
#2 of 6 in Archidona
35 reviews
7 mi away
Cortijo Sabila
Cortijo Sabila
#1 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
217 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Carlos Astorga
Hotel Carlos Astorga
#5 of 6 in Archidona
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Escua
Hotel Escua
#3 of 6 in Archidona
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Santo Domingo Rural
#1 of 2 in Archidona
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almohalla 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almohalla 51

Address: Calle Almohalla 51, 29300 Archidona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Archidona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Archidona
Price Range: $103 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of Andalucía, Almohalla 51 is a boutique guest house in the historic quarter of Archidona, just 45 minutes from Malaga and Granada. In an 18th century town house with views across town and the sierra beyond, there are communal sitting rooms with open fires, patios and a plunge pool. The individually-designed bedrooms combine traditional features with modern comforts. All rooms have an iPod docking station and Wifi is available throughout the house.Breakfasts are fresh and varied and we can provide packed lunches and a set dinner menu can sometimes be offered. Activities and day trips can be organised - from visits to Granada or Cordoba, horse riding, massages or self guided walks. Almohalla 51 is the stylish, informal and welcoming base for making the most if this amazing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Almohalla 51 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing