We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont miss it!”
Review of Almohalla 51

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almohalla 51
Ranked #1 of 6 Archidona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Dont miss it!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

On the way to/from Malaga to Granada, in Archidonna, Myles & David made a livedream true.
We experienced a very warm and very gentle welcome.
The "almohalla51" Is a hidden beauty spot highly to recommend.
A place to refuel imagination, to dream, to restore, to reload batteries, to discover, to get exited!
Simply, a wonderful place with lovely and charming host!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
164
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 days at Almohalla 51 and the whole experience was superb. The hosts have renovated two old and traditional houses into a boutique hotel of the highest standard. Everything has been thought of down to the tiniest of details. The personal touches around food, décor and the general atmosphere are spot on. Myles and David (the hosts) have only recently opened the place but seem to be old hand hoteliers already. They know when to provide attention and when to leave you to your own devices – brilliant!

I’m racking my brain to think of a few “lows” but nothing comes to mind. Even the town of Archidona was unbelievably gorgeous. All in all a great few days which I wish could have gone on much longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daz-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This brand new guest house is a great place to stay as a base for exploring Andalucia and Granada. Our room was both comfortable and extremely tastefully decorated. There was plenty of room to hang out, either inside or by the pool and the location is convenient for Archidona's bars and restaurants. The owners are very welcoming and the atmosphere is very relaxing and unfussy. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We were in room 3 - very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco_fawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wanting a quiet weekend away, this place proved to be the perfect. Lots of lovely character and charm. There felt like endless nooks to hide in. The hosts were friendly and helpful with questions and most importantly know when to leave you alone. Archidona looks like a lovely village but to be honest I spent most of the time by the pool. If you can tear yourself away from the terrace I can recommend Restaurante Central for dinner.

Room Tip: I was in Room 1 which was perfect. Large room with a big shower and separate bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreSunNeeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I can't remember a place I enjoyed quite so much. In the heart of the atmospheric old town of Archidona, it's a beautifully restored village house - with five rooms packed with original features like tiles and wooden beams - which gives onto a courtyard and an extensive sun terrace. Myles and David are the perfect hosts, and there's just a wonderful intimate feel to a stay - more like spending time round a stylish friend's house in southern Spain than checking into a hotel. Can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Room Number 1 was lovely - large and up in the eaves of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooperi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We just got back from a week trip to Archidona and Marbella. I just wish we'd stayed longer in Archidona and less time down at the coast, which was only 40 minutes away anyway.

Almohalla 51 is a gorgeous little hotel just on the edge of the little town that is Archidona. You're close enough in to walk in for dinner in minutes, but behind you is the mountain walk up to the chapel at the top. The hosts have only opened it recently and everything has been done to a truly great standard. The rooms are charming and authentic, but everything is clean, simple and the bathrooms are new, modern delights.

I could rave about their breakfast for ages. I'll be quick and just say it was delicious. Way better than the 5 star hotel we went on to! We had late breakfasts and didn't even bother with lunch most days.

We didn't see half the things we were recommended - but with baking sun and a pool to tempt us, we didn't go exploring every day. A great place - it just needed a bit longer! It's a quick drive up from the airport at Malaga. The scenery is stunning. And the town feels truly authentic Spain. Modern, with great bars and restaurants, but not all touristy.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1, but both that and Room 2 (which we got a peek at) would be my top recommendatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Splawsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Almohalla 51 (the address of this charming, intimate hotel) was the ideal place to stay both to visit the pretty Spanish town of Archidona, but also as a launch pad to see other historic and picturesque locations such as Seville, Granada, Cordoba and Ronda. All are within easy striking distance by car, and even by train.

The hotel itself has fabulous views from its upper terrace across the town and, rearwards, up into the rugged - and highly walkable - hills above the town. There's even a pretty and ancient Moorish fortress keeping watch above the twon, which is worth the short trek during the cooler months.

David and Miles are genial hosts, discreetly ensuring that guests are well looked after whilst running this pristine renovation with enthusiasm and great attention to detail. The building itself is a traditional, large Spanish stone townhouse - with many beautiful and original architectural features - and many luxurious new touches such as the walk-in shower in the largest guest room.

Beautiful and luxurious, with its own sun terrace and plunge pool, many holiday-makers might not want to look any further for a holiday. But, even for the passing traveller or business trip, this place is perfect. After one blissful August week there, I can't wait to return.

(And did I mention the lovely breakfasts..?!)

Room Tip: Bedroom number one is the most stunning, but all the rooms are delightful, very comfortable and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Archidona
7.1 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
12.0 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
13.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Llano Pina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Los Dolmenes
Hotel Los Dolmenes
#7 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cortijo Sabila
Cortijo Sabila
#1 of 4 in Villanueva del Rosario
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almohalla 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almohalla 51

Property: Almohalla 51
Address: Calle Almohalla 51, 29300 Archidona, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Archidona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Archidona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of Andalucía, Almohalla 51 is a boutique guest house in the historic quarter of Archidona, just 45 minutes from Malaga and Granada. In an 18th century town house with views across town and the sierra beyond, there are communal sitting rooms with open fires, patios and a plunge pool. The individually-designed bedrooms combine traditional features with modern comforts. All rooms have an iPod docking station and Wifi is available throughout the house.Breakfasts are fresh and varied and we can provide packed lunches and a set dinner menu can sometimes be offered. Activities and day trips can be organised - from visits to Granada or Cordoba, horse riding, massages or self guided walks. Almohalla 51 is the stylish, informal and welcoming base for making the most if this amazing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Almohalla 51 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing