We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and good service”

Prashad Indian vegetarian restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Prashad is an award winning Indian vegetarian restaurant in the heart of West Yorkshire. It is based in a renovated pub building in Drighlington, which has been transformed into an intimate and vibrant Gujarati eaterie. It features a large bar area where the in-house mixologist serves up perfectly-matched cocktails, locally-brewed beers and wines with roadside snacks and Indian tapas. There are three different dining areas and a snug that can be individually booked for private parties. The open pass kitchen brings the passionate Head Chef and her team closer to the customers. In the last 12 months alone we have been awarded the Morrisons Magazine Great Grub Award 2013, the Yorkshire Life Chef of the Year 2013 (which Minal and Kaushy won jointly), the Michelin Guide Bib Gourmand 2014, and the Yorkshire Evening Post Oliver Awards Best Indian Restaurant 2014!
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our second visit to Prashad's new restaurant and once again we had a lovely evening. A warm welcome when we arrived and despite being busy, our table was quickly ready and in a nice spot in the main upstairs room.

We started with popadoms and pickles (not usually my thing, but the pops were light and the pickles were very tasty) and then shared a tasting platter of starters - a great way of trying a bit of everything! For mains we had paneer massala and bomaby bataka, both of which were really well spiced, with complex, delicious flavours. For dessert we went for kulfi, which wasn't heavy or over-sweet and made a good finish to the meal. We also tried the faludha - the vermicelli noodles give it an interesting dimension; if you haven't tried it, give it a go!

Throughout the evening we were looked after by Imran who did a great job checking we were fine, keeping us topped up with drinks, etc. Bobby also stopped to chat with us, which was a nice touch. There was a nice atmosphere in the room too, with family groups as well as friends, couples and so on, and music at a pleasant volume.

Living a long way from Bradford, it could be a while before we get the chance to return but I'm sure we'll find any opportunity to do so!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 456JohnnyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,236
    204
    98
    50
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Auction bid was well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

At a recent band auction (Live Lounge raising money for Cash for Kids) we put in a bid for a meal for 2 at the Prashad and won. We cashed in our prize last night and it was superb. Bobby and the staff not only made us feel really welcome but gave us a tour and helped out with a menu which was all very new to two 'ordinarily' keen meat eaters.
The mixed starter was great and gave us some lovely flavours across around 8 dishes. We then had 2 curries - all really filling - lovely.
Toqeer, who served us, was really attentive and friendly (as were all the staff we met).
A great night guys - thanks so much, we both had a lovely evening!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmt_harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“"WHAT IS ALL THE HYPE"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited on a Sunday evening and the place was rather full{a good sign}.We had reserved a table which was ready and we were shown to it.We ordered a bottle of red wine and some poppadoms which were okay,we both had the stuffed peppers for starters which were very nice my main was basicly a potato curry {not very tasty}the wife had a veg curry whjch she said was ok.The rotis were nice our total bill was £56 which I think is expensive for what was only average food will not be rushing back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PDREDRUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Food. Well worth the journey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been "dying" to go to Prashad after watching Gordon Ramsey Best Restaurant programme couple of years back. Living in London & to make a 380 mile roundtrip for a restaurant has to be worthwile.
Fortunately business took me to Bradford & made sure that we had lunch at Prashad.
All food & presentation was great. So much that my colleague who lives on meat was very surprised that vegetarian food can taste so good!
My wife who was also with us enjoyed the food as well.
We cannot wait to go back! WELL DONE!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nipri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ramsey was right, It really is that good! beautiful food served in a living room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is first class, the welcome is personal and while not too intrusive really makes you feel part of the experience. I was lucky enough to be in bradford on business and am so glad we went there. We had a dosa which was huge and a chefs thali to share all very tasty not too spicy and we cant wait to explore the menu further on another trip..

non alcoholic drinks only, but not an issue for us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thestonefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prashad Indian vegetarian restaurant also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Prashad Indian vegetarian restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing