We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and a wee bit shabby...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darrington
Kelso
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tired and a wee bit shabby...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

...but good staff as always - welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Apart from the staff, this Premier Inn is not up to the normal standard. It's dated and public areas are worn and grubby; the narrow stairs and doors make carting luggage upstairs very awkward and the tiny and tinny TV was hopeless. Interestingly, the stock painting was hung upside-down. The restaurant menu was also probably the least appealing we've come across, so we walked to a nearby pub for a bar supper and decent real ale.

Time for an upgrade and refurb I think - in terms of presentation, it's a long way below the average Premier Inn standard.

It's the only time we've felt that a Premier Inn didn't really provide value for money.

Nevertheless, we slept well.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    53
    46
    31
    23
See reviews for
54
72
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This premier inn is a strange one, it does not fall into the standard cloned hotel which everyone has come to know. This premier inn is just a tired pub which has been Kitted out with some purple carpets and curtains. The room I was given was is in desperate need of refurbishment. Now onto the noise, In all my travels and stays in premier inns, the good night garuntee has always intreaged me, but I have never been given a chance to complain. This hotel however gives you many opportunities, from rowdy pub goers from the pub downstairs who are smoking and drinking outside with the old non double glazed windows unable to block them out to the sqeeky doors and floor boards every where. Definatly one to avoid unless you want a free nights stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmmc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darrington hotels

Kent
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Oh what a nice room. Such a big bed and a separate room for the third member of the family within the suite. I really enjoyed my stay in Room 12. The restaurant is just next door accessible from the Premier In without needing to go outside.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 12!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluexandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I think it is safe to assume that this isn't a purpose build Premier Inn, lots of narrow hallways and staircases, although it didn't affect my stay. Just seems like the place could do with a bit of a makeover.

Service was slow on arrival but staff friendly enough.

Room was one of the smallest Premier Inn rooms I have stayed in and the bathroom was tiny. Shower cubicle could barely fit me in. One of the towels had loads of hair on it, so good job that two were supplied as the other was clean.

Service at the adjoining pub/restaurant was also quite slow but the food was served very quickly and was very pleasant.

No problems with parking or noise etc. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like a nice long shower, ask for a room with a decent sized bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SA2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,038 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Welcoming Receptionist.
Hotel needs to be modernised to have accessible access through the main door in Reception rather than through a side door of the pub.
Wheelchair users should be given the dignity of entering through Reception.
There may also be issues that some guests may not find it acceptable to come through licensed premises.
The 3 steps in the ground floor corridor have no warning markings .Altogether an inaccessible Hotel.
Pub attached had a queue of 20 waiting at the bar.Spend some money hire more staff.
Not enough plug sockets in the room.

Room Tip: Not suitable for the Visually Impaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We used the Pontefract South Premier Inn as a stopover on our way up to Scotland. The accommodation was fine, if showing a few signs of the very heavy wear and tear its clients subject it to (e.g. dirty work boots). Cleanliness was fantastic otherwise, as carpet apart, the place was spotless. The restaurant menu, on the other hand, left much to be desired. It was just one fry up after another. However, the staff came to the rescue by happily substituting healthier options so I got a decent meal in the end.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for two nights while attending a wedding nearby. Room was clean and comfortable. At the end of the day, these rooms are for sleeping in and not sitting in all day so they serve their purpose. Staff were very friendly and would ask about your stay etc. Breakfast was just what I needed after a night out, plenty there and beautiful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hardly_CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darrington
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Pontefract North Hotel
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
1.3 mi away
Wentbridge House
Wentbridge House
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Castleford (Xscape, M62 J32) Hotel
2.9 mi away
King's Croft Hotel
King's Croft Hotel
#2 of 6 in Pontefract
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Pontefract Ferrybridge A1/M62
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel

Property: Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
Address: Great North Road, Darrington WF8 3BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Darrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darrington By Good Night Inns is situated within the beautiful Yorkshire countryside, close to the historical villages of Wentbridge and Badsworth. The hotel is conveniently located just 2 minutes from the A1, making it the ideal stop over for guests travelling to Pontefract, Doncaster and Leeds. Places of interest within easy access include The Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, Pontefract and Doncaster Race Course (famous for the St Ledger Race Meeting) and the popular entertainment complex Xscape. The hotel is also easy to get to from Pontefract train station. The Darrington pub in Pontefract, West Yorkshire is a popular Fayre & Square family pub restaurant and the ideal choice if you want to escape the hassle of cooking and enjoy time with your family and friends. Enjoy a traditional Sunday roast with the family, great pub classics like hand battered fish & chips, hotpots and juicy steaks cooked just how you like them – there is something to tempt everyone’s taste buds. Younger guests can enjoy our superb kids’ menu ideal for even the fussiest eaters! We also have a fantastic selection of wines, draught lagers and soft drinks to compliment your meal. We offer a great range of delicious meals & Square Deals, including our famous 2 for £10 meal range. So next time you are in Pontefract and looking for great value food every day of the week, we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Pontefract South Hotel Darrington
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing