We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darrington
Upminster, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

A good place to use when travelling south on the A1. Our room was clean well appointed and the bed comfortable. Unfortunately the stairway smelled a little like old carpet which spoiled our overall opinion. Dinner is good value pub/grill grub. On saturday breakfast isn't served until 8am which may be a little late for some, we just had a continental breakfast as we wanted an early start.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jassy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    53
    47
    32
    23
See reviews for
54
74
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greystoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

we stayed here with friends for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding 5 minutes up the road. i would agree with many other reviews that the place does need a spruce up - scuff marks along corridors and on doors,black mold on showers/bath etc. nothing major but it does make the place look a bit shabby. When we arrived the guy on reception upgraded us to a bigger room as he realised we were stopping two nights which was nice of him! The room was totally adequate for what we required, and the bed was massive! Pillows were extremely comfortable - i got an extra two out of the wardrobe. Didn't hear any noise from the A1, the windows are very well double glazed. Breakfast is pricey at £8.25, but the lady serving us stressed even though the cooked food wasn't on the buffet, we could still order as much as we wanted when we placed our order for cooked food.The rest of the buffet you could help yourself too, toast, selection of breads, croissants; yoghurts, fruit, cereal, milks, tea and coffee. I can understand how people might feel it is expensive, but the choice is yours to eat a little or a lot. We certainly got our moneys worth! The one outstanding feature of this Premier Inn is definately it's staff. The lady who served us at breakfast both mornings was lovely. Very chatty and asking about the wedding we were going to. She couldn't do enough for us. All our group commented on her excellent customer care. I'm sorry I didn't get her name (blonde and bubbly!) All staff were very polite though. We had lunch there one day, a selection of combo meals to share, which were all fine and reasonably priced. The only down side was the bar shut at 11pm, and having left the wedding, we would have liked to have had a few more drinks, as we were with friends and away for a few days. In summary, the staff at the premier inn stood out, and they put the staff at the hotel where our wedding was to shame!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moiradud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel is a small operation tacked on the back of the bar with poker machines and dining area. The room was quiet enough but had a hard bed and the shower was poor. Breakfast was fine. We had a good meal at the Kyle hotel nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at a few premier inns this one was a bit diffrent the room fealt outdated to me however my partner liked that. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean but a little outdated. Clearly I feel this premier inn needs an update but i really could not complain as I found the hotel to be clean. We had the windows open in are room as it was a hot night yes you can hear the A1 but it was a quiet hum no big deal. The room was an okay size but with 2 adults and 3 children 1 in a cot it was a bit of a squezze but okay. We saw 3 members of staff during are stay all very nice and polite. Had breakfast in the morning very nice good choice can't complain. One more thing the wifi is £3 and was fast the kids could watch Netflix and surf the web on my iPad so they where happy. All in all nice stay good price.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

hotel just ok, nice enough bedroom with very comfy bed, bathroom needed a little attention as the sealent was full of black spores/mould.
the main entrance however was very untidy, needed a coat of paint and a tidy up on the outside (the welcome entrance - looked very unkept, bins over flowing and needed sweeping and clearing) then inside the entrance, some visible white doors were absolutly filthy with black marks, this could be easily rectified by a wash down with fairy liquid, also the hoovering did not include the edges of carpets (this only needs the nozzle taken off and is again so easy to rectify)
poor compared to other premier inns!

Room Tip: room at the back of the hotel not overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honest011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards as we endeavour to meet all of our customers needs.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darrington hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel is situated under the A1 so sitting outside the hotel in the garden is not a relaxing experience. The noise is thunderous. However, the rooms do manage to keep out this noise if all of the windows are closed which is not always what you want if the temperature is high (no temperature control in the room). The decor is very shabby in the corridors as you approach your room. Carpets were dirty and walls smeared with black stains. The room by contrast ws clean and adequate for a good night sleep.

The door of the room jammed so we couldn't exit the room in the morning ( room 25) and nobody was manning the reception to take our call i.e. the receptionists was doubling up as a waitress. Probably the worst Premier Inn I have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

stayed here for one night,not one of the best premier inns ive stayed at,needed a coat of paint in places,but for £29 what can you say,i did ask for ground floor as i have arthritis but was given a room on the first floor there was no lift so struggled with cases,i think it should be stated that theres no lift in the place,appart from that food was good in the pub which is attached to the inn,breakfast was good but the waitress was on her own so service was really slow ,not her fault,and i think the breakfast is over priced compared to other places it has just risen to £8.20,need to eat a lot for that.will have breakfast else where in future,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darrington
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Pontefract North Hotel
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
1.3 mi away
Wentbridge House Hotel
Wentbridge House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Castleford (Xscape, M62 J32) Hotel
2.9 mi away
King's Croft Hotel
King's Croft Hotel
#2 of 6 in Pontefract
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel

Property: Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
Address: Great North Road, Darrington WF8 3BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Darrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darrington By Good Night Inns is situated within the beautiful Yorkshire countryside, close to the historical villages of Wentbridge and Badsworth. The hotel is conveniently located just 2 minutes from the A1, making it the ideal stop over for guests travelling to Pontefract, Doncaster and Leeds. Places of interest within easy access include The Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, Pontefract and Doncaster Race Course (famous for the St Ledger Race Meeting) and the popular entertainment complex Xscape. The hotel is also easy to get to from Pontefract train station. The Darrington pub in Pontefract, West Yorkshire is a popular Fayre & Square family pub restaurant and the ideal choice if you want to escape the hassle of cooking and enjoy time with your family and friends. Enjoy a traditional Sunday roast with the family, great pub classics like hand battered fish & chips, hotpots and juicy steaks cooked just how you like them – there is something to tempt everyone’s taste buds. Younger guests can enjoy our superb kids’ menu ideal for even the fussiest eaters! We also have a fantastic selection of wines, draught lagers and soft drinks to compliment your meal. We offer a great range of delicious meals & Square Deals, including our famous 2 for £10 meal range. So next time you are in Pontefract and looking for great value food every day of the week, we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Pontefract South Hotel Darrington
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing