We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday Lunch”

Kyte Hotel-Chestnut House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Darrington
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

A friend and I have just come back from a lovely Sunday Lunch. Roast Beef and all the trimmings. The food was plentiful and of good quality. We also desert again, delicious. We both thought it was very good value for money. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    9
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Don't give them a deposit”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Friends asked us to dinner here recently and we accepted.

The food was OK, BUT no better than OK. I know they can cook really good food but it is hit and miss.

We used to go here all the time but have stopped now due to a problem. In fact every meeting I book and every time I eat out I go elsewhere these days.

We booked one of their evening events, they then cancelled it later and we did not get our deposit back.

When we booked the event we also booked a function room but unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances we had to cancel. We gave them about 65 days notice but they held our deposit.

We left messages and nobody called back. We emailed but nobody replied. We wrote letters with proof of how much notice we gave, what we paid etc but they were ignored too.

Why did we not drive and demand our deposit back? I hear you ask. Simple, the "unforeseen circumstances " I talked about earlier were medical - I had a fall and broke my neck and back. Jumping into the car was not an option.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewjetjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ackworth, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful from start to finish”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from the Kyte Hotel Darrington. We were looked after very well. There were four of us dining two adults two children. The meals were very well presented and cooked. The staff engaged with the children, which helped. I had the beef noisettes and would definitely recommend. Sticky toffee pudding with Devonshire clotted cream was absolutely gorgeous. Will be back again soon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thorpeytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of the best lunches had in a long time!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Absolutely amazing food, service and price. Visited here for lunch and the food was fantastic quality, with the most amazing home cooked chunky chips! Service was efficient and helpful. The price was more than reasonable for the standard of the venue. Fab post lunch cappuccino (and i'm very fussy with my coffees!) Relaxing décor and comfy chairs. Very clean toilets with luxury soap and moisturiser. Would definitely return and travel here from Sheffield just for the lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarBootDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Boxing Day Lunch”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This was the first visit by our family in recent years and on arriving at the Kyte Hotel Restaurant we all were very impressed by the welcoming interior. Other guests were already enjoying a post meal coffee in the lounge area which, along with the busy bar area, gave the place warmth and atmosphere.

After pre lunch drinks we were welcomed by a member of the staff and shown to our reserved table. Having made our choice from the menu the day before this enabled staff to deliver our starters with ease which we all thoroughly enjoyed. During this time other guests were being seated but this did not appear to delay service and our main course was served in a well managed way. Our party chose a varied range of mains which were all delicious. The desserts chosen were excellent and very well presented.

We all agreed that we had thoroughly enjoyed our visit, we found all the staff extremely helpful, we were not rushed, the surroundings were relaxing, and we all plan to revisit soon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyncrest_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyte Hotel-Chestnut House Restaurant also viewed

Badsworth, Pontefract
Wentbridge, West Yorkshire
 
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kyte Hotel-Chestnut House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing