We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big mistake eating here!!”

Brewers Fayre Turnpike
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Knottingley
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
1 review
“Big mistake eating here!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Poor food, not good value for money, and staff need personality transplants. Would be nice to see just one of them smile once in a while. And can get quite annoying when 3-4 people ask you Is everything ok with your meal, it only takes one person. There is one good point- the play area for kids is free.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iluvux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    80
    52
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice food, good service”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had a really nice time here at The Turnpike, the food was very nice, service was good and helpful. Will definately come again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandakittensonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumbarton
Level Contributor
243 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“nice food let down by very slow service”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

we were staying in the premier inn next door and popped in for something to eat after a very long journey. The restaurant was not very busy and our order was taken at the bar pretty quickly. starters took about 15 mins- not too bad. however, it took 40 minutes and a gentle enquiry re where our main courses was before they turned up ( and starter plates cleared).
the food was nice and reasonably priced but the slow service was really annoying and unnecessary given that there was hardly anyone dining.
staff all seemed very pleasant though

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank christinedumbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knottingly, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Had a really nice evening here, as soon as i walked in the door i was acknowledged and greeted by a member of staff. Bar Staff had smiles were friendly and well presented. i was a lone dinner and felt welcomed and at ease. I ordered a steak which was cooked as i had asked. Up-selling and Quality checks were completed with style and elegance. Customer service was excellent 10/10. Is there room for improvement? yes why not try some more home baking instead of the alternative; probably would be cheaper and you'd be on to a winner for sure.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dayna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasteless frozen sunday calvery, worst I have ever had.”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

It was a very wet rainy day so thought we would try The Turnpike out for sunday lunch as there is an indoor play area for children. We only wanted the main course but had to pay 8.99 for 2 courses as it is the same for just the main. You get 2 slices of tasteless meat, choice of frozen peas, carrotts, frozen yorks puds, frozen roast pots, dry new pots, rock hard cauliflower and watery gravy! My 2 year old couldny even eat it as it was so bland. Staff were very apologetic and gave full refund. Ok to go for a drink and let little ones play but that's it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomliboo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewers Fayre Turnpike also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Knottingley, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Castleford, West Yorkshire
Castleford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Turnpike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing