We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food .good atmosphere. Excellent service. ”
Review of Saruketha

Saruketha
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Kurunegala
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service. Really tasty food and nice atmosphere. If you're passing kurunegala this is a place to visit.

1  Thank RangaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Guest It is grate to know that you have enjoyed our hospitality and was a privilege to accommodate you in our restaurant Hope you will return back soon
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 159 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Decent food and drink (the papaya and banana smoothie is my recommendation!) and fantastic atmosphere. Nestled into a bamboo wood by a creek, this is a great place to stop and relax if you're driving through the area. Service was also very satisfactory.

2  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Valued Customer
We are so happy to here your positive and encouraging review and for promoting our establishment we are glad that you have enjoyed our hospitality and hope you will be back in years to come
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Nice setting, great food and very friendly staff! I ordered the butter chicken which I expected to be spicy, just like the version I knew. It wasn’t so I asked for some additional chilies, expecting it had to do with amendments to the taste of foreigners. The waiter came with some fresh chilies, followed by the chef. He explained that the Sri Lankan Butter Chicken isn’t supposed to be spicy but that he is preparing a Sri Lankan curry right now and will bring me a plate when finished. Soon after I had two big plates with very nice Sri Lankan dishes in front of me. Best of all, I got both recipes from the chef as well. Very nice! :-)

2  Thank Inge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Valued Customer
We are so happy to here your positive and encouraging review and for promoting our establishment we are glad that you have enjoyed our hospitality and hope you will be back in years to come
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

On a food tour with Peter Kurivita Australia's Sri Lankan Exec Chef.
this spot was wonderful the drinks refreshing. The family run business headed by son that has had world experience but now settled in Saruketha. We were lucky to have a cooking demonstration and shared tips. We had a buffet lunch as there we 20 of us.
the Buffalo Curd was the best that we tried in the 2 weeks we toured Sri Lanka.

3  Thank westwoodGlebeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest
We are glade to know that you have enjoyed our true hospitality and our efforts to give a true authentic food experience to all our guests. this comment will motivate all our staff and the management team and help us to promote our selfs to all our future clients. hank you once again to the genuine comments and hope you will visit once more in years to come
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our first meal 'on the round', and it was delightful - from the food to the service. The large bamboo stands surrounding us really made it feel like we were on foreign soil. Loved it!

11  Thank Gabrielle0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest
We take this opportunity to thank you for the positive comment that you have posted in our page. we are happy to here that you have enjoyed our hospitality and admiring our effort to keep a good environment as per our Eco friendly vision. this comment will help us and our future customers immensely in time to come. hope you will have a grate holiday in srilankan . wish you will visit us once more in years to come
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saruketha also viewed

Kurunegala, North Western Province
Kurunegala, North Western Province
 
Kurunegala, North Western Province
Kurunegala, North Western Province
 
Kurunegala, North Western Province
Kurunegala, North Western Province
 

Been to Saruketha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing