We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stop for lunch”
Review of Saruketha

Saruketha
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Kurunegala
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stop for lunch”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Following a long mornings cycle we stopped here for lunch. The food was very good as we're the surroundings. They have put a lot of time and effort into building this place and it has some lovely quirky things to make you laugh.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Fido66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest
We are so happy to here that you appreciate our restaurant as much as you have enjoyed our true hospitality . i am so grateful to the positive review you have made on our page and it will help all our costumers and the guests who are hoping to visit us. hope you will be here once more in years to come all the best
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    56
    22
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The best place in the region”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Saruketha is located almost at the half point from Colombo to Habarana in Kurunegala, Kurunegala is not only a historical city but its a hub for the province.

Saruketha is a restaurant which is loved by locals as well as tourists and expats, it has become famous throughout, and a decade in operation with the dedication hands operation carried outby its owners Sanath and Jemmy, between the two partners they have over two decades of experience in the hospitality industry specially in food and beverage sector.
Due to there dedication "Saruketha" has become a an important point and a must to stop in any itinerary.

The food served specially the greens are all grown in its own garden and some in the adjoining village which is all organic, the food is excellent and moderately priced.

In my 22 year career in the travel industry I have always recommended " Saruketha" as the best place for a meal, coffee and a comfort stop, and will continue to do so in time.

Keep up the good work!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Rohanj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Valued Customer
We are so happy to here your positive and encouraging review and for promoting our establishment we are glad that you have enjoyed our hospitality and hope you will be back in years to come
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A treat of a life time”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This Restaurant simply gave me one of the best Meals i have ever enjoyed of having simply grate and fantastic service and grate place to be. we dined in the open bamboo garden and was so much fun we ordered srilankan butter chicken and it was divine my partner ordered a apple and plum chicken and he was over the moon and said it was just for the perfection when we left we ordered a pizza as a take a way since we had a long day out the pizza was tasting grate and would say the best pizza we had in srilanka over all a fantastic treat of food out here . must try on your way to dambulla

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
18 Thank andi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest
It is a privilege to know that you have enjoyed our hospitality and appreciate your generous comments in our page hope you will return to our establishment in years to come wish you all the best
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“exceptionally good local food for a tourist stop over place”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

this is a very simple, thatched hut/open air restaurant on the road between Colombo and Dambulla. many drivers/tourists stop there. that kind of places are usually terrible tourist traps. this one is not. of course don't expect anything from the decor/atmosphere, but the food, such as local rice and curries, is exceptionally good. on a 2 weeks trip in sri lanka it is probably one of the best we have had. and cheap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank CPC1PCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest
It was a grate privilege to host you in our establishment and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our hospitality and our service . we take this time to thank you for making a guest comment in our page and this will help all our clients who wish to come out here .ones again thank for patronizing us and hope you will be here at saruketha once more in time to come
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Discriminatory”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the third time I'm visiting here, and each time the service has been worse and worse. This time in fact we called ahead and ordered and yet we had to wait over an hour. The food was substandard and the service putrid, not a smile or a tend to our comfort. At least if the staff were friendly it would not have been so annoying to wait for our food. I did however notice plenty of attention and speedy service to foreign nationals or 'Suddas' as the locals call white skinned people, even though some arrived after us. If your a foreigner then maybe try it, for the ambiance maybe, but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ProudtobeMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandNayomi J, Owner at Saruketha, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest
We do know who you are and why you have wrote this kind of a respond. its because you were expecting us to host you free of charge , but replying to your comment i have to tell you all who walk in to our fine establishment we treat equally. if i am a resist i must be mad to be in hospitality industry . if you think your negative comment can harm our fine establishment you are being mistaken. any way thank for patronizing saruketha and hope you will come back one day since everybody knows our service and food standards
Warm Regards
Mike Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saruketha also viewed

Kurunegala, North Western Province
Kurunegala, North Western Province
 
Kurunegala, North Western Province
Kurunegala, North Western Province
 

Been to Saruketha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing