We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very civilised”
Review of Casa de Tepa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Tepa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Astorga
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very civilised”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a beautiful place, slap bang in the middle of town with its own safe parking, lovely gardens and highly civilised public areas. Our bedroom's furnishings and facilities reflected all this and were comfortable, if a little old fashioned, tho' the bathroom was really ace. There is an 'honesty bar' in the gardens whose prices left us in need of a stiff drink. The three staff members we saw were just delightful - we'd be very happy to return here one day. However, there's a But: But probably not in August. August in Spain = Aircon Vital. The booking service we used indicated there's air conditioning in this property. This is not the case, and our overnight here was accordingly not very comfortable although in the light of all the plus points my wife says I'm being too picky.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    20
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
50
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Gorgeous building and lovely rooms with great bathroom. Windows overlooking the walled garden. Furnishings are luxurious and the shower was fantastic. We were walking the camino so probably didn't have enough time to really appreciate the place, but we paid alot more than at other locations and I'm not sure it was so much better. If you get a good rate then I would recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellinMumBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spend 2 nights at this lovely quaint hotel. We had a large room where they added 2 extra beds for our young children and was still very spacious! Lovely garden with little hidden pathway that the kids loved. Very tranquil. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nvk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lovely old building with a romantic garden. Our room was spacious and had no windows, which was a bit dark. But it had a door leading to our own small patio. The beds were comfortable and our bathroom had a bath. We didn't take breakfast at the hotel. Astorga is a nice town with a lovely Plaza Mayor where all the families meet, eat and play cards, while their children play children's games. Nobody's looking at their mobile phones all the time, people talk with each other. Very cosy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoReiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Although driving through narrow streets to its private garage can be aggravating, this place is well-worth the extra effort. The rooms are well appointed and the managing couple are extremely helpful and friendly. This place has both history (having been built in 1790) and charm. The patio is a perfect place to relax and party (after a tough day on the Camino, which passes right in front of it?). A little pricey for a B&B, but in the end, worth every penny. Probably the best place to stay at in Astorga.

Room Tip: The Prendergast room has a secluded private patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventureTraveler113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful courtyard and settings; character charming hotel - family run by attentive owner and staff. Stylish bedrooms (one bedroom accepts dogs), secure parking. Wonderful nights stay in an historic town en route back to Santander. Would highly recommend a stop!

Room Tip: Ground floor to adjacent road - may experience noise from people walking but not fault of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice small bed and breakfast, nice owner, has parking, well located. Rooms were good although a bit hard to get into and out of with heavy lugagge as it ias a house with no elevator. Good place to stay if on the road to Santiago.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Astorga hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Ciudad de Astorga
0.3 mi away
Hotel Via De La Plata Spa
1.5 mi away
La Rosa de los Tiempos
La Rosa de los Tiempos
#3 of 8 in Astorga
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El descanso de Wendy
El descanso de Wendy
#6 of 8 in Astorga
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaudi Hotel Astorga
Gaudi Hotel Astorga
#7 of 8 in Astorga
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astur Plaza
Hotel Astur Plaza
#5 of 8 in Astorga
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Tepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Tepa

Property: Casa de Tepa
Address: Calle Santiago 2, 24700 Astorga, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Astorga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Astorga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Tepa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Tepa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing