We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice changes, much more approachable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chef Alex en Cayey - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice changes, much more approachable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've been to this restaurant many times, but the last visit gave me a very nice surprise indeed. Chef Alex redesigned the decor, the menu, and the attitude. While always a delicious choice in terms of the gourmet food, before it felt a little stuffy, and the prices were on the high side. Now, the restaurant colors in calming hues of grey and green come with a new menu, where the choices are equally scrumptious but your wallet doesn't cry when the bill comes. Also, the staff is more attentive, and it feels like at last they realized they are not giving you a favor by serving you, but it's the other way around. Kudos for a positive transformation!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad administration, bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I made a reservation for my husband and me a little while ago and when we arrived at the coordinated time, the restaurant was closed and they said they will open at 3 pm instead and in a bad manner (they hanged up on me). That was after a trip from San Juan. My husband tried other week for a reservation, and they never answered the phone. Lack of good service and bad restaurant administration.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IveV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chef Alex@! has changed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

visited will clients . Nice place , had the Churasco with mashed roots.. it was Ok. need to improve service

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chelly225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best Chef in PR!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is not a good food. This is an amazing food!! He knows how to mix the ingredients to create spectacular flavors!! No doubt, is one of the best chefs from Puerto Rico.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viajero02011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good place to eat while in Cayey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Good food, the menu changes and each time they maintain great quality.
The service slows down when it’s almost full.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank HMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Alex en Cayey also viewed

Salinas, Puerto Rico
 
Salinas, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing