We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Giant's Rest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Giant's Rest
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stopped here on a beautiful Sunday lunchtime looking forward to something to eat. However, we found the menu & drinks rather expensive, the tables too close together and the views from outside disappointing so moved on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
347 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Have eaten here before and found the food to be good so was delighted when friends asked to meet them there. Surprised that the place was not very full on a good Sunday lunchtime but Airbourne and the Olympics may have been a reason. Ate outside in the comfortable but unremarkable garden and had good food. Local sausages and bubble were very good although lots of bubble. Pigeon pie was said to be excellent. Starters including a good mushroom soup and garlic prawns again very good. On my experience I would agree that the inside is a bit too packed with tables - I remember some time back upsetting a diner on the table behind when getting up. Try for the table in the window if you can. Car park is also small but you can park on the road outside. One of the better pubs with food along the A27 (just off it) and the last heading east before Eastbourne and of course the first heading west. Careful you do not miss The Street which is on the south side.

Room Tip: Can only comment on the pub and the food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidwnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I was expecting something more from this pub/restaurant. The food was bland and overcooked,the service slow and the atmosphere was disturbed during our meal by the constant barking of dogs. I would not recommend this place as somewhere to enjoy a meal , a pint yes, but a meal, no. The vegetables were over-cooked and had been kept warm and the bass was flimsy without any texture on the palate. All in all a let down.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastr0dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We went to this pub on Easter Sunday 2012. It was obviously packed out with families enjoying their Easter but we found a small table after we had bought our drinks from the affable landlord and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We only had a bowl of soup there but the service was immaculate and we would not hesitate in going there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Writing this having read some of the reviews about this pub. We stayed in a small hotel opposite but ate at the Giant's Rest on Saturday and Sunday evening. Contrary to some of the reviews, we found the food to be absolutely excellent - first class! The first night we had the African beef stew and the sausages with bubble & squeak - we shared a starter of olives, taramasalata and sunblushed tomatoes. The second night we had the salmon & prawn salad and goats cheese tart. Everthing was absolutely delicious and we couldn't fault it. The portions was plentiful. Can't see what people moan about - it's a pub with a bit of character!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAN745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexhill england uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We went here for a sunday lunch with four of us. Parents had the roast beef which had home cooked batter puds, quite good portions but a little bland. I had the mackerel fish cakes which were really good and substantial and obviously home made but the meal was let down by microwaved veg...not cooked very successfully. Son had rabbit pie which was good apart from the underdone pastry. Although we waited a long time for our meal it seemed they had hurried the last few minutes which would have made it worth the wait. It was not possible to eat inside as most of the tables were reserved although empty at 1.30 which was odd. The tables were very close together so just as well maybe for those eating that it wasn't full.We sat in the garden in the front which is a pretty spot.
Staff were very friendly, the menu was not very adventurous, but some of the food was pretty good if only it were carried through in attention to everything on the plate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lila099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We went to the Giants rest with friends to celebrate the sale of our house. They found us a table tucked away in the corner which meant people had to stand and move their chairs whilst in the middle of their meals to let us in.
Three of us had stakes which were very tough and their was a lot of fat and gristle left on our plates. The other member of the party had a rabbit pie which had to be sent back as it had not been heated ( microwaved ) to an acceptable temperature and was cold in the middle.
The bill which included four drinks came to £106 which I feel is excessive. We wont be going there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boro123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
2.0 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
7.0 mi away
YHA South Downs
YHA South Downs
#3 of 7 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crossways Hotel
Crossways Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Giant's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giant's Rest

Property: The Giant's Rest
Address: The Street, Wilmington BN26 5SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wilmington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wilmington
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Giant`s Rest Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing