We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Giants Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Giants Rest
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We went to this pub on Easter Sunday 2012. It was obviously packed out with families enjoying their Easter but we found a small table after we had bought our drinks from the affable landlord and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We only had a bowl of soup there but the service was immaculate and we would not hesitate in going there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Writing this having read some of the reviews about this pub. We stayed in a small hotel opposite but ate at the Giant's Rest on Saturday and Sunday evening. Contrary to some of the reviews, we found the food to be absolutely excellent - first class! The first night we had the African beef stew and the sausages with bubble & squeak - we shared a starter of olives, taramasalata and sunblushed tomatoes. The second night we had the salmon & prawn salad and goats cheese tart. Everthing was absolutely delicious and we couldn't fault it. The portions was plentiful. Can't see what people moan about - it's a pub with a bit of character!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAN745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexhill england uk
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We went here for a sunday lunch with four of us. Parents had the roast beef which had home cooked batter puds, quite good portions but a little bland. I had the mackerel fish cakes which were really good and substantial and obviously home made but the meal was let down by microwaved veg...not cooked very successfully. Son had rabbit pie which was good apart from the underdone pastry. Although we waited a long time for our meal it seemed they had hurried the last few minutes which would have made it worth the wait. It was not possible to eat inside as most of the tables were reserved although empty at 1.30 which was odd. The tables were very close together so just as well maybe for those eating that it wasn't full.We sat in the garden in the front which is a pretty spot.
Staff were very friendly, the menu was not very adventurous, but some of the food was pretty good if only it were carried through in attention to everything on the plate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lila099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We went to the Giants rest with friends to celebrate the sale of our house. They found us a table tucked away in the corner which meant people had to stand and move their chairs whilst in the middle of their meals to let us in.
Three of us had stakes which were very tough and their was a lot of fat and gristle left on our plates. The other member of the party had a rabbit pie which had to be sent back as it had not been heated ( microwaved ) to an acceptable temperature and was cold in the middle.
The bill which included four drinks came to £106 which I feel is excessive. We wont be going there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boro123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

A great pub to stay at. We had eaten there lots of times before as the food is so good and now we can recommend the accomodation as well. A lovely big room with a comfortable bed and nice touches like the bottled water and filter coffee.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_Ian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We've been here a number of times over the years and whilst the beer is good and there's a lovely ambiance, the toilets are in dire need of a spruce up and I'm sorry to say the food is lacking.

The menu hasn't changed in years, perhaps even a decade. The prices are now on a par with good restaurants but the food is not of the same standard. Portion sizes are large but it's not value for money. The veggie sausages were disappointing for such a price. They're the sort you buy in the freezer section and made from mashed potato. The vegetable pie had a soggy base, the ploughmans was piled on the plate with no consideration for presentation. The apple was left whole, the stick of celery the same. A lot of the dishes are far too salty and why oh why are there no cheaper lunch options?

If the menu became seasonal and a good selection of lunchtime snacks/meals were offered, I'd be singing its praises. As it stands, it's stuck in the past and no longer offering value for money. Such a shame.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Osm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is a cracking little pub nestling at the foot of the Sussex Downs and at the feet of the 'Long Man of Wilmington' the famour chalk giant. The pub itself is almost entirely about dining-in as there's not many seats at the bar, but the tables are a fun mixture of different styles and numbers of seats, and all have little traditional wooden games on them to have a go at while waiting for your food. Menu is extensive and crammed with traditional English dishes. I particularly recommend Ham with Bubble and Squeak and chutney... sublime! The food prices are reasonable and worth it, but like all pubs a few drinks can push the bill up. On the whole a highly recommended pub, with a nice atmosphere, really enjoyed it. Booking recommended for weekend evenings.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LowlandGorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
1.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
218 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crossways Hotel
Crossways Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wilmington
370 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rathfinny Wine Estate – The Flint Barns
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giants Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giants Rest

Property: The Giants Rest
Address: The Street, Wilmington BN26 5SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giants Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Giants Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giant`s Rest Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing