We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a special night out - top class dining”
Review of Crossways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crossways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
westerham kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for a special night out - top class dining”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Came for a birthday treat in April. The room was lovely, spacious and comfortable although the hotel is on a main road which you can't avoid hearing. No problem though earplugs are provided! We'd booked a combined stay and dine so were sure of a table in the tiny dining room. The decor is universally tasteful and modern although there is something olde world about the dining experience. Service is personal and attentive without intrusion. The menu was a delight - very difficult to choose - and all of the best quality. Top class.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjthompson1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    34
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
217
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Lovely superior room with all mod cons, including disposable razor and ear plugs. Breakfast was served rather than self-service. Staff helpful, welcoming and efficient. Lovely garden with comfy gazebo for early evening relax with a good book. Dining room closed on Monday evenings so only able to have one meal. Absolutely delicious and great value for money.David is a wonderful chef. Highly recommend experiencing dinner at least once!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We Stayed Here For 2 Nights, Rooms Are Great, Comfortable And Well Thought Out For The Guests, ie- Milk In Fridge, Sewing Kit , Clothes Brush In Wardrobe ,Tea Facilities, Hairdryer And Toiletries In Bathroom. Breakfast Is Good, A good Hearty One Don't Know What People Are Moaning About, Who Wants Self Service Where Everyone Is Touching The Food, Staff Are Very Good And Make You Feel Welcome. Your Hosts David And Clive Are Two Very Nice Gentlemen And They Look After You Very Well. We Had An Evening Meal Our Second Night In The Restaurant And Wow What A Meal. Excellent Meal And Well Presented.They Are Very Friendly And Although They Are Busy, They Will If Time Have A Talk With You, The Hotel Is On A Main Road, But Nicely Situated, Worth A Visit To Alfriston (Lovely Little Village )

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I must compliment everyone at Crossways Hotel for making my stay very comfortable and pleasant. The overall ambience is fresh, clean and very welcoming with attentive staff and good food in a delightful setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richholmes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

From beginning to end I had a wonderfully relaxing stay. The hotel is tastefully decorated, and the room was very comfortable, and quiet. The breakfast is plentiful and delicious, with delightful touches in how it is served. The evening meal is excellent value for money- a great menu with wonderful choice - pity I couldn't make it to the petit four and coffee - I was too full! David is a great host - I liked being addressed by name, and felt well looked after. The hotel is in a great position to get onto the South Downs Way, and easy to get back to by public transport & taxi if you can't face the trek back. Thoroughly enjoyable, and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed at Crossways almost every year for more years than I can remember and have never been disappointed. The welcome is wonderfully warm, the rooms clean and comfortable and the food, both dinner and breakfast, superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyndebourne-regular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the 3rd August 2013 for our wedding night. David and his team at Crossways were more than happy to accommodate an early check-in for us and also ok with us being late back to the hotel (gone mid-night) The room - Superior Double was beautiful, we loved it, and had everything we could need. Bed was very comfy and a great size, very clean and great bathroom.
The hotel has a very elegant relaxed feel about it. The breakfast, well, possibly the best fry up we have ever had! The mini sausages were fantastic!
A massive thank you to David and everybody from Crossways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonBriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding. I hope you have a happy and healthy life together.
I look forward to seeing you again at Crossways when you celebrate your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
2.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
200 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,549 reviews
24.1 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,586 reviews
8.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Hotel

Property: Crossways Hotel
Address: Lewes Road, Wilmington BN26 5SG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossways Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 26th year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to theLongman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House. Crossways is the place to stay for your visit to Glyndebourne Festival Opera .Making it your idea Glyndebourne Hotel for those who are lucky enough to have tickets to the opera. Our special two-night Glyndebourne break offers guests the opportunity to enjoy a Gourmet four-course dinner in our AA 2 Rosette restaurant alternating with a night at the opera.Crossways Hotel is situated in the heart of East Sussex and makes it the perfect centre for walking on the Southdown's, visiting the nearby village of Alfriston at the heart of the Cuckmere Valley or shopping in the East Sussex county town of Lewes, Eastbourne or Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Crossways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing