We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Discrete Elegant Comfort”
Review of Crossways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crossways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Discrete Elegant Comfort”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have used this hotel for a number of years now to support our visits to Glyndebourne. It is very comfortable, the food - breakfast and the dinner when you are not off to the opera - is excellent and to be recommended, but you must book for dinner, it's that popular locally. David and his staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The decor is fresh and bright and the furnishings are good and comfortable.

Room Tip: Relax! Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    33
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
209
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great as always. Gardens beautiful, Dinner and breakfast unbeatable. Warm and friendly reception. Can't for our next visit in 2014. As we were getting ready to leave the carpark, two other guests said they'd come across Crossways by chance and were determined they would come again whenever they were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I happened upon Crossways many years ago as somewhere to rest my head between Glyndebourne performances. Looking back, I felt even then that I was a personal friend and welcome guest. As the years have passed, this feeling of staying with friends has just grown, except that this isn't just some marketing ploy - David and Clive really are natural and exceptional hosts. The rooms are comfortable, clean, nicely decorated and well-equipped. The gardens, with their carefully placed seats and new, smart gazebo, are a lovely space to relax in. There is no guest lounge, but Crossways is a restaurant with rooms and the room rate reflects this. Actually, for this area, the cost is modest. Breakfasts are cooked with care and to order. And dinner is to die for - imaginative, food lovingly sourced and prepared and beautifully cooked. But most of all, it's the welcome that brings me back year after year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marschallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A night at Crossways is a super way to celebrate a birthday, anniversary or other occasion. The dining experience is wonderful, with a unique variety of excellent, tasty food in a very pleasant and intimate setting (only 7 tables so you need to book in advance!) The meal and accommodation was offered at an inclusive price, plus drinks and it made a wonderful birthday treat for my mother. We had only been once before but were welcomed back like old friends. We have already booked another night for my husband's birthday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trosa, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A charming house with a warm and friendly atmosphere, nice rooms, superb food. Sitting on the lawn outside the house on a warm and sunny summer´s day is as relaxing as it can be. The only drawback is nightly traffic noice from the A27, but earplugs are provided if you can´t sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This enigmatic figure, etched in chalk ,60 feet tall, standing supported by two polls, on the lee slope of the South Downs above Alfriston is walkable in thirty minutes from Crossways. Carry on along the ridge and then drop down into the Cuckmere valley and you find yourself amongst the cottage and pubs that nestle cosily along the narrow street of this lovely Downland village.
Crossway is a delightful white building set in a huge garden which surrounds it on three sides. There is a bower and pavilion to lounge and drink tea.
The welcome is as warm and friendly as the decor- it looked like art deco wall paper-and eclectic ornaments- the kind of collection of gifts and momentos that are left by friends and satisfied guests.
The dining room has a clubby atmosphere- you are made to feel like an old member even if its your first time there. Many people drop in ( but I'd book to make sure) just for dinner,to mingle with those who are staying the night ( or two or three).
David, who manages the front of the house, an hospitable and sociable host, has created a hotel to which you want to return,over an over again, because he makes you feel very much at home.
One morning I asked for kippers- they were not even on the menu-but the very next day there were, savoury and mouthwatering , so that both the young lady who served us, and myself, both said at the same ," delicious!"
Needless to say we have been coming here for years ,usually in June or July, for a weekend to enjoy an opera or two at Glyndebourne and one of the many walks you can start from the front door over the South Downs. I hope that I may enjoy the comfort and culinary delights of Crossways for many more years to come.

Room Tip: Crossways provides earplugs for guests in the front room as the constant daytime traffic on the A27...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked a night as we could not stay for all three nights at Deans Place (see review). We much enjoyed it. Everything is done with flair and the welcome is genuinely friendly. As it says it is essentially a restaurant with rooms. While in a lovely setting and near a number of attractions one would need to drive whereas Deans Place is actually in Alfriston with the Clergy House and (for the ladies) a couple of nice shops. For that reason we would choose elsewhere for a longer stay but Crossways is really great for a night or two. The breakfast was excellent and we look forward to having an excuse to stay again and to be able to enjoy dinner (We were at Glyndebourne so couldn't this time round).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikehandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
2.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
8.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Hotel

Property: Crossways Hotel
Address: Lewes Road, Wilmington BN26 5SG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossways Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 26th year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to theLongman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House. Crossways is the place to stay for your visit to Glyndebourne Festival Opera .Making it your idea Glyndebourne Hotel for those who are lucky enough to have tickets to the opera. Our special two-night Glyndebourne break offers guests the opportunity to enjoy a Gourmet four-course dinner in our AA 2 Rosette restaurant alternating with a night at the opera.Crossways Hotel is situated in the heart of East Sussex and makes it the perfect centre for walking on the Southdown's, visiting the nearby village of Alfriston at the heart of the Cuckmere Valley or shopping in the East Sussex county town of Lewes, Eastbourne or Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Crossways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing