We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crossways Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Giants Rest(Wilmington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
369
42
8
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
369
42
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milk in the fridgerestaurant with roomslong mansewing kitwarm welcomehomemade marmaladebusy roadpetit fourstea roomthe main hotelsouth downssorbetrooms are comfortablelovely gardensmall hotelfull english breakfastcourse dinner
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 423 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked a night as we could not stay for all three nights at Deans Place (see review). We much enjoyed it. Everything is done with flair and the welcome is genuinely friendly. As it says it is essentially a restaurant with rooms. While in a lovely setting and near a number of attractions one would need to drive whereas Deans Place is actually in Alfriston with the Clergy House and (for the ladies) a couple of nice shops. For that reason we would choose elsewhere for a longer stay but Crossways is really great for a night or two. The breakfast was excellent and we look forward to having an excuse to stay again and to be able to enjoy dinner (We were at Glyndebourne so couldn't this time round).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikehandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

As always, this delightful restaurant with rooms is welcoming. Our room has all the little touches that you might expect from a large hotel - a well stocked mini bar, fresh milk, coffee and tea - a book or two to read - something to mend your lost button. The standard of cleanliness is excellent and the bathroom has everything you need. We regularly stay with David and Clive when we are going to Glyndebourne and we usually find time to drift down early in the year to celebrate a birthday - the food is great. The garden has a lovely outdoor seating area and the roses smell wonderful.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the premier rooms if you are there for more than one night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your friends to Crossways

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just enjoyed a delightful weekend at Crossways on a special Glyndebourne tariff, which included two nights bed and breakfast and a gourmet dinner on one evening. This was excellent value for money. The hotel is only five miles from Glyndebourne, which made it a really convenient place to stay. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed and the food was wonderful. David is a charming and welcoming host, who went out of his way to make our stay extremely enjoyable. We will certainly go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

As is says, this is a restaurant with rooms. The rooms are comfortable and quite well equipped, albeit our bathroon was on the smaller side of average. The food is very good indeed. Four of us enjoyed the standard evening menu which was of very high quality at a set price of £39 which was good value for what we had. Altogether a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I found Crossways by chance during a cycling holiday; not having booked in advance we weren't sure what we would end up with, but luck was really smiling on us. David had a room for us when we called, even managing to supply a bathtub! A real lifesaver after 150km in the saddle... Rooms were very spacious, complete with a fridge containing fresh milk for our tea and coffee. Delicious full English breakfast the next morning. Easily the best quality accommodation of our trip, but also the lowest price.
Although Crossways is just off a busy road, the hotel itself was very peaceful, situated in the lovely countryside of the South Downs. We went across the road to the Giant's Rest pub for dinner - also highly recommended. We hope to be back to see the Long Man and do more exploring in the area!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CAR0L1NE_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews