We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay.”
Review of Crossways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crossways Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay.”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent a night at Crossways with friends and had a truly wonderful stay. Our room was comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. We had dinner in the restaurant which was fabulous, every course was a delight. I have already recommended Crossways to friends and will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_R_of_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    39
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
231
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from an overnight stay. The room was spotless,and comfortable, there was even fresh milk in the fridge
We had a delicious meal in the restaurant, locally sourced produce and expertly described and prepared by the owners David and Clive. After a comfortable nights sleep we were served a full English breakfast with home made marmalade and excellent coffee.
A real treat.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mab19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After staying here (again) the service, quality & ambience cannot be beaten. Our room was very nice as was the dinner & breakfast. David & Clive go out of their way to ensure their guests are made to feel very welcome & always take the time to make us feel special. They go the extra mile on every level. Thank you very much from 4 very satisfied guests.

Nancy, Andy, Karin & Roger

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancynye94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent a night at Crossways with friends and had a truly wonderful stay. Our room was comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. We had dinner in the restaurant which was fabulous, every course was a delight. I have already recommended Crossways to friends and will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_R_of_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We recently stayed at Crossways Hotel and had a fabulous experience from start to finish. We arrived late in the afternoon with plenty of time to relax and get ready. We enjoyed a chilled half bottle of champagne before going downstairs to dine. We had a splendid four course meal with excellent wines. The next morning, we were greeted with a well-prepared and presented full English breakfast - yum! The attention to detail, in every way, made this a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, its amazing what half a bottle of champagne can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Just had a wonderful time at Crossways. The dinner was just delicious. Don't think I've ever had a better meal. Then a nights stay in a very comfortable room followed by a superb breakfast. The service just could not have been bettered. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterin1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm glad that you both enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here with friends whilst attending a friend's wedding and what a great find it is. The decor is lovely, it was very clean and the owner was super friendly. Our room had a huge comfy bed and again, spotlessly clean. Loved the headache tablets in the bathroom, great touch!

Breakfast was really great too, fabulous bacon!

Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wurzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContentedSussex, Owner at Crossways Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad that you had a good party in Alfriston and that you enjoyed your stay at Crossways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
2.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
218 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
804 reviews
5.7 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
987 reviews
22.8 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Hotel

Property: Crossways Hotel
Address: Lewes Road, Wilmington BN26 5SG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossways Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome always awaits you from the resident proprietors Clive James and David Stott or one of their team of loyal helpers. Now in their 26th year at Crossways they continue to welcome old and new friends to their small Georgian country house Restaurant with Rooms. Crossways nestles under the Southdown's close to theLongman of Wilmington and Glyndebourne Opera House. Crossways is the place to stay for your visit to Glyndebourne Festival Opera .Making it your idea Glyndebourne Hotel for those who are lucky enough to have tickets to the opera. Our special two-night Glyndebourne break offers guests the opportunity to enjoy a Gourmet four-course dinner in our AA 2 Rosette restaurant alternating with a night at the opera.Crossways Hotel is situated in the heart of East Sussex and makes it the perfect centre for walking on the Southdown's, visiting the nearby village of Alfriston at the heart of the Cuckmere Valley or shopping in the East Sussex county town of Lewes, Eastbourne or Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Crossways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing