We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Since renovation in 2011 not worth anymore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Michelangelo
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arcugnano
Certificate of Excellence
Murten
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Since renovation in 2011 not worth anymore”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have been there in 2005 first and kept in good memories the excellent kitchen which we enjoyed at a dinner there (in 2005). In July 2012 we meet after "renovation works" - the only thing that has changed was the location of the reception - the exactly same standard of rooms with the same old bathrooms etc. The only new thing was an internet connection (cable). Unfortunately, as in many European 4* hotels, WIFI connection is still not included in the room rate... The dinner was awful. I ordered a goldbrass but received only one quarter of it (as secondo piatto!) because the kitchen obviously has not bought enough for the dinner. The restaurant was helplessly understaffed, cutlery litteraly thrown at us. It can be seen as a symbol of the descent of the restaurant that they even forgot to light our candle. If I compare the prices for the room and food with what we got I must say this was helplessly overpaid! Italy has many more other jewels for gastronomy and hotellerie, therefore I will avoid this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tobias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renzo B, Room Division Manager at Hotel Villa Michelangelo, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we were unable to meet your expacations during your stay with us and we were not in position to support your challenges to your satisfcation while you were here.
I would like to assure you that I have shared and discussed your comments in detail with our Management Team in order for this not to be repeated in the future.
Best regards
Renzo Bada Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    87
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
42
90
3
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Every year in the same period we go to Vicenza (Italy). Business and private are mixed - that's
why I said for this year : we have been sleeping over there for years without something being
done. In january 2011 the hotel was closed only to reopen beginning of 2012. So we decided
to see the "new" hotel and booked a luxury room at the price of € 320,- breakfast included !!!
The only thing changed is the reception area. The rooms are as old as before and let's not
talk about the bathroom !! nor the dinner !! The only points of positiveness are the service,
the location is triple A but what is a hotel for in the first place = the rooms. Not to advice, no way.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Manuel541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renzo B, Room Division Manager Renzo Bada at Hotel Villa Michelangelo, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We are truly sorry that your stay wasn't to your satisfaction. We accommodate many guests on a daily basis and it is disappointing to hear that you were unhappy. Please understand that the comments you have made are taken seriously.We hope that you may give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Best regards
Renzo Bada, Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London EC1
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

A first-class find in a lovely location. We spent 4 nights here and could not have asked for more attentive service or a lovelier place to return after a day's sightseeing. The food was excellent too: all in all a great find

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My wife, two teenaged sons, and I stayed three nights at the Hotel Villa Michelangelo, and it was a fantastic experience. From the moment we arrived (after the beautiful drive up in the hills above Vicenza) we felt like guests at a friend's home -- albeit a friend that has an incredible mansion with extraordinary views over the Veneto region. The reception staff was very helpful, and went out of their way to accommodate our questions and requests. The restaurant served delicious food, and had a nice selection of local wines to accompany it. Also, the restaurant manager (and the staff) made us feel so welcome, that we chose to eat there multiple nights -- again, they made us feel like we were friends, not just hotel guests. They even made a special birthday cake for my son who happened to be celebrating his birthday during our stay. The pool area was also very nice -- a great place to relax and sip a prosceco or beer while enjoying a break from the heat of August.

My wife and I stayed in one room, with the boys in another, and both rooms were spacious, well-equipped and comfortable -- and the air conditioning worked very well (even in the August heat).

I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel -- it's a great place to unwind and relax in style and luxury, yet at a very reasonable price. It's only a short drive to Vicenza, and a pretty short drive (at least by California standards) to Venice too. There's a lot to see in the region surrounding the hotel, but, it's so nice there, that you'll be tempted to just stay at the villa and relax.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globalshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed 3 nights here and would return. We loved the place. Our room was large and bed very comfortable. The restaurant was great...including breakfasts. The location is stunning. The pool very clean with beautiful views of the valley. The hotel seemed empty which was nice because it allowed for quiet nights and no crowd at the pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank In_Vino_Veritas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We took a recommendation from our accommodation in Venice and were not disappointed. We were gladly showed both a standard and deluxe room, and while the deluxe was much large, the standard room at 120 Euros including a beautiful breakfast was the go (we were travelling for 4 weeks and only required 1 night so the 40 Euros difference was important).

On saying that, we had dinner in the hotel restaurant that night and thoroughly enjoyed the whole meal - and put that 40 Euro towards a stunning bottle of wine.

the hotel is in a stunning location with 270 degree views into the valleys. The terrace and lawned area were a great place for a drink and breakfast in the morning. The restaurant overlooked the lawn and the valley beyond.

The staff were very friendly; the rooms well equipped and of good size. Overall, i'd gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeebooTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

The Villa Michelangelo was highly recommended in our guidebook and we felt like a bit of luxury so decided to stay here for one night. The hotel is in a magnificent location in the hills outside Vicenza. Even if not staying here it’s worth the drive up this direction for the views. The place is fantastic but unfortunately let down by poor attitude on the part of some of the staff. We were ‘upgraded’ to a suite. Having peeked into a few of the ordinary double rooms when they were being cleaned I suspect the suite had not yet been refurbished and the other rooms had. Our suite was on two levels with the bedroom part up on the mezzanine. This meant that it was dark and the furnishings and carpet were also quite tired and dowdy. The huge bed was extremely comfortable. The classic marble bathroom was lovely. However the ordinary rooms looked brighter with wooden floors and smarter furnishings. The hotel has a magnificent pool area with a retractable roof and sunbathing balconies. There are also sun loungers out on the grass below the pool area with views over the surrounding countryside. We spent some time here getting some rays on the Sunday morning but had to ask for the dreadful droning talk radio that had been left blaring to be switched off. Quite incredible that it was considered acceptable for it to be left on – the singing of the birds was so much more pleasant. The man on reception was very helpful checking for my husband if they received a rugby match he wanted to watch that afternoon. A later request from me for an iron was met with incredulity – didn’t think myself it was such a strange request. Eventually we found out that they had an ironing room for guests which would have been a great idea if the iron wasn’t so filthy. It would have ruined any clothes you tried to use it on. We found some of the male staff members to be very rude. The two females we encountered at the pool and at breakfast were charming. Their male colleagues should follow their example. The restaurant waiter greeted us with a ‘Huh’ and a scowl when we went to look at the menu. We left and went into town instead. The filthy iron rather put me off eating there anyway! Some of the male staff were so bad we decided that there must be some major problem at the hotel. Having experienced service in Vicenza later on we decided it was just Vicenza! People generally, especially men did not engage at all. Very dour and unfriendly. An Italian later told us that there is some resentment here towards Americans and maybe they thought we were American. Really don’t know but it’s a pity as it’s a gorgeous town and well worth a visit. When checking out we did complain about the poor attitude and the dirty iron to the guy on reception who did accept our comments and said he would pass them on. If you are going to Vicenza I would recommend staying here as it’s good value for the spectacular location if you can prevent yourself being irritated by some of the staff.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tripadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietrorusconi, Direttore at Hotel Villa Michelangelo, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
I am sorry to learn that the above guest did not find some of our 'male' staff polite or attentive enough. Our staff is an important part of our hotel, and most of them have been here for years. We do have a couple of new employees who are recent graduates of hotel school and perhaps need to gain more experience. However, they have been selected on the basis of their motivation, personal attitude and predisposition for the hospitality industry. If their service was not up to standards, I apologize on their behalf and I assure that any particular training needs will be addressed.

Regarding people/males in Vicenza, I must strongly disagree with your statement. Being American myself (I have dual Italian/American citizenship, carry an American passport and have completed my education in the States), I have never encountered any form of discrimination. We at Villa Michelangelo enjoy excellent relations with our American clientele. There is indeed an ‘extremist fringe’ of Vicentians who oppose the development of the American base here, but it is a small percentage of the population, mostly political activists of the far left. The grand majority benefit from the presence of Americans here and have amicable relationships with them.

Regarding the condition of our iron, I would like to reassure guests travelling to our hotel that it has been replaced. Its appearance was due to the fact that the anti-adherent film on the aluminium slab had worn out, and the spray starch attached itself to the surface with the heat. As soon as our staff noticed this, the iron was removed and replaced with a new one. This must have happened over the course of the above guest’s stay, which is unfortunate.

Nevertheless, we appreciate the comments of this guest as it helps us improve our service. As we receive many letters of compliments we invite clients who appreciated their stay with us to share their comments also on this web site in recognition of the profound efforts, commitment and passion displayed daily by the staff of Villa Michelangelo towards the well-being of our guests.

Pietro Rusconi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcugnano
3.9 mi away
Vergilius Hotel & Spa
Vergilius Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Creazzo
514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Locanda degli Ulivi
Locanda degli Ulivi
#2 of 2 in Arcugnano
59 reviews
8.7 mi away
Villa Tacchi
Villa Tacchi
#1 of 1 in Villalta
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Viest Hotel
Viest Hotel
#5 of 22 in Vicenza
431 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palace Hotel La Conchiglia d'Oro
3.0 mi away
AC Hotel Vicenza
AC Hotel Vicenza
#8 of 22 in Vicenza
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Michelangelo

Property: Hotel Villa Michelangelo
Address: Via Sacco 35, 36057 Arcugnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Vicenza > Arcugnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arcugnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Michelangelo 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The softly rolling hills of this verdant landscape are what inspired the genius of architect Palladio, the same hills that still today surround the splendid setting of the exclusive Hotel Villa Michelangelo. Built in the 1700s as the country home of the noble Tomi family of Vicenza, this elegant and serenely harmonious building is the perfect place in which to leave the bustle of daily life behind and let yourself be pampered by the refined luxury and exquisite service offered here. Come to bask in the princely elegance of the spacious halls, the lovely guest rooms and suites, to enjoy the large swimming pool that sits surrounded by olive trees, indulge in the fine traditional cuisine at the La Loggia restaurant or relax with a round of golf at the nearby exclusive club. Vicenza, Padua, Verona and Venice are not far away for a day trip to discover the fine art, wine and local culture that dates back centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Arcugnano
Hotel Villa Michelangelo Arcugnano, Italy - Province Of Vicenza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing