We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with very good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Pian Medoc
Tony from England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent hotel with very good restaurant”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel stands on a busy-ish road in the Medoc region not too far from Bordeaux. We had chosen it to use a base to tour the wine growing regions and also to try and find some memories of the Cockleshell Heroes raid on Bordeaux in WW2 (will be known to British readers but probably no one else). The rooms are reasonably spacious and clean without being luxurious. Despite the hotel being fairly close to the road there was no road noise even in wet weather. We might have been unlucky in room 17 as either the walls are very thin or whoever was in room 16 was deaf and had the tv on late and loud. No problem the next night. The hotel is mid range but the restaurant is not. The hotel owner is a former high level sommelier and his level of knowledge plus the French love of food produces a very pleasant evening. We ate there two nights and the cuisine was just excellent and we received superb advice on the choice of wine.
If I was staying longer I think I would probably try and find a slightly more attractive or atmospheric hotel further into the Paulliac/Margaux region but I would certainly like to take the restaurant with me. Well recommended though.

Room Tip: Room 17 might be a problem with thin walls but we might just have been unlucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElhamValleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Pont B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your comment. About the hotel, it's being renovated with soundproofing in all rooms. We hope anyway to see you again in our establishment for a next trip in France.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    66
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
25
45
3
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed while visiting a nearby vineyard. Also toured the area. In the medoc region near bordeaux. The staff were warm and friendly especially the owner who speaks good English. Rooms were warm and very clean. No noise. Maybe a little in need of updating (I understand that they will be updated soon. ) Free wifi was great. We ate in the restaurant 3 night running as it was so good. Fresh home made ingredients. A real find!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Pont B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased to see you had a nice trip. Indeed rooms are on the way of renovation. Maybe we will have the opportunity to see you again on a next journey in France.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geluwe, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

It's nice to have a good room, very good breakfast and excellent dinner at the evening, espacially when staying there a couple of weeks. Very friendly people over there always prepared to help. Price versus quality is very good. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel doesn't necessarily give a great first impression, being so close to the main road, but none of the rooms face the road so noise wasn't really an issue.
The room wasn't large but was quite well done.
The big winner was the restaurant - the owner is an award-winning sommelier so the wine is excellent, and the food was fantastic. We had a crab pannacotta, home-cured smoked salmon and the best steak (a faux filet) we've had in a long long time - with fantastic frites too!
The wine recommended was very good and not too expensive. You can also buy the wines at a mark-up of only €1 over what they can be purchased for from the relevant Chateaux - an excellent idea.
The owner also recommended a tour to see some of the best Chateaux in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonhendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very surprising place indeed the restaurant is good, the breakfast room is nice. the bedrooms are looking tired. You can hear everything in the next bedroom including the television. The price of the bedrooms is too steep for what you are getting

Room Tip: I would try another hotel around. May be Blanquefort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christianedryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

From the moment I stepped onto the property owners Jean-Christophe and Francoise were incredibly gracious and accommodating hosts. The simple beauty of the grounds struck me immediately and the check-in process was some and easy. My room were very well appointed and quite spacious with a view overlooking the gardens and pool. My dinner at the restaurant started out when I was introduced to Chef Delmas, a jovial and talented frenchman who made me feel right at home. The wine list was particularly impressive and being a wine professional, I was struck by the wealth of knowledge that the sommelier had. From the little "coupe" of champagne to start to the wonderful local Medoc red and finishing with a majestic Sauternes, I could not have asked for more. All in all, I could not think of a better place to stay out in the vineyards of Bordeaux. If you are thinking about visiting the area, do yourself a favor and come and stay at this gem of a hotel!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were looking for a restaurant that could offer good service as well as a tasty and affordable cuisine. We were happily surprised of the experience we had at the restaurant. The menu presents a diversity of choices and the carte is very rich of unique experiences (we were 10 at the table and therefore we picked and choose from the carte and menu). On the top of all, the wine counsellor was well appreciated by all of us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Pian Medoc
0.4 mi away
Golf du Medoc Resort
Golf du Medoc Resort
#1 of 2 in Le Pian Medoc
511 reviews
7.3 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
635 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Bordeaux Saint Medard
Ibis Styles Bordeaux Saint Medar...
#1 of 1 in Saint-Medard-en-Jalles
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Le Pavillon de Margaux
Le Pavillon de Margaux
#2 of 2 in Margaux
71 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hostellerie des Criquets
Hostellerie des Criquets
#2 of 2 in Blanquefort
84 reviews
16.3 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet

Property: Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet
Address: 1160 route de Soulac, 33290 Le Pian Medoc, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Le Pian Medoc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Le Pian Medoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Pont Bernet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Pont Bernet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing