We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book a standard room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Francis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Richmond
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Book a standard room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

The "hotel" is a two storey building with ground floor rooms opening directly onto the car park & the second floor into a corridor with external staircases - no elevator. The rooms are quite nicely furnished for a motel; the standard ones having a patio or balcony overlooking the river. We paid extra for a second floor "executive room" which had no balcony & overlooked the busy main road! The "bonus" was a "multi jet shower" - save your money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_f_12, Directrice adjointe at Hotel Le Francis, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,
Nous vous remercions du temps que vous avez pris afin de nous donner votre avis. Nous sommes sincèrement désolés de ne pas avoir su vous diriger correctement dans le choix de votre hébergement . Soyez assuré que nous considérons votre commentaire. Au plaisir de vous revoir chez nous. Meilleures salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
19
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Etobicoke
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent rooms and staff, very clean and just off the highway.
Pub has very good food and pleasant people working there.
Excellent scenery in the area, known for salmon fishing.
Au Fin Gourmet is the best place for lunch in the area!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_f_12, Directeur général at Hotel Le Francis, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour, Je vous remercie pour votre commentaire à notre endroit. Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau. Meilleures salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Booked four rooms for three nights. Suite and rooms comfortable with river views and balconies. Group of six adults and one child enjoyed the beautiful surroundings next to the river, outdoor pool and hot tubs. Also made use of available kayak for a pleasant hour or two on the river. Restaurant meals and service excellent. Look forward to returning on our next visit to Gaspe.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms next to river with walking path beside balcony. Great for keeping family close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_f_12, Directeur général at Hotel Le Francis, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour, Je vous remercie pour ce gentil commentaire. Au plaisir de vous revoir chez nous. Meilleures salutations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on July 27 After a horrible night at another place, we were extra tired and stressed out. This was the perfect place to help us rest and relax.
The room was spacious with a balcony on the river. The bathrooms are brand new and very clean. The beds are extra comfortable ( felt like memory foam). There is access to a spa and an outdoor heated pool. There are also trails to walk along the river.
The restaurant seemed nice, but we were eating out with my boyfriend's family, so didn't have a chance to try it out.
I would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QcCity_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_f_12, Directeur général at Hotel Le Francis, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour, Je vous remercie pour ce gentil commentaire. Au plaisir de vous revoir chez nous. Meilleures salutations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here on business. Room was cozy with lots of detail in the bathroom. They have a stream running in the back of the hotel with a bridge. There a pub on site. Rates are reasonable. They have drive up's.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves_Snorkeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_f_12, Directeur général at Hotel Le Francis, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour, Je vous remercie pour votre commentaire à notre endroit. Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau. Meilleures salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Well for the first time ever my husband and I decided to take a chance and travel without researching our hotels before leaving. You know like the old days before Tripadvisor.
So off on our first trip to the Gaspe.First stop was to the travel bureau just over the bridge in Quebec for some good old fashioned travel booklets....
We decided to stay in New Richmond and picked out a nice 4 star that looked like it fit our needs.
We had a lovely drive, great scenery and roads. We checked, in got a very good rate.Hotel looked very nice.The room was renovated and had nice linens and bedding..They gave us a "comfort room" We weren't sure what the other rooms were called but what the heck we were there just to sleep..
We did a quick walk around the property which is very nicely maintained.They have a great walking trail that leads to a walking bridge over the river.Now on our walk we noticed rooms with decks that backed onto this very private and quiet area.And we noticed the very small pool.Ours at home is larger that this one but we weren't there to swim just sleep...like I said.
We had supper in the restaurant.WONDERFUL meal!!!The staff was very friendly and with their broken english and our broken french we manage to order and have a great meal.
Well off to bed we went......nice comfy bed soft and cosy...BUT...our room was located on a very busy intersection and we listen to cars all nite...then in the morning early the VIA Rail train came throught...we could see the people in their rooms it was that close..anyway it was time to leave and get on the road to Gaspe...
As we were packing I reminded my husband not to forget his socks he left beside the desk...he said I thought they were yours....not mine!
Lovely room!But was it clean...I mean really cleaned!!
GROSS!!!!!

Room Tip: I would have choosen a room over looking the ravine...it would have been much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Very expensive for a small town , $144 per night. I had no internet or TV reception the first night. When I called the front desk , she said her Internet was fine, so it was my problem. Being in technical support, I was horrified of this type of troubleshooting, obviously the modem on my floor had an issue, then she added "No one else has called." , which doesn't mean that it's not down. Same thing for the TV, 'well no one else has called'. The next day, the internet was still down, and a different front desk rep confirmed other people had called in by then. By the third night I had Internet. My rogers cell phone didn't receive service in the region, so I was technically stranded in this town. The room itself was artistic, comfortable, and beautiful. The shower was luxury, with a pull out magnifying mirror lighted mirror, and water jets in the shower. There is no elevator, you have to take your luggage up the second floor. Restaurant is very fine dining, Very expensive, but hotel priced. I cancelled my reservation for the next week. I can't work without internet, luxury showers don't make up for that.

Room Tip: there is no elevator, so aim for, the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farida D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Richmond
14.0 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir Belle Plage
Hotel Le Manoir Belle Plage
#1 of 2 in Carleton-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hostellerie Baie Bleue
Hostellerie Baie Bleue
#2 of 2 in Carleton-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
6.2 mi away
Auberge du Marchand
Auberge du Marchand
#3 of 3 in Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Le Martin Pecheur
Le Martin Pecheur
#1 of 3 in Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
9.1 mi away
Motel Carleton-sur-Mer
Motel Carleton-sur-Mer
#6 of 11 in Carleton-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
18.5 mi away
Riotel Bonaventure
Riotel Bonaventure
#1 of 3 in Bonaventure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Francis

Property: Hotel Le Francis
Address: 210, chemin Pardiac, New Richmond, Quebec G0C 2B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > New Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Francis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its warm welcome, attentive service and the quality of its equipment and facilities, Le Francis is a 4-star hotel, the Bayou Restaurant and Pub and conference rooms... all under the same roof. Located in New Richmond, on the bank of the magnificent Petite Cascapédia salmon river, the 38-room hotel has a heated outdoor pool and spa, hiking trails and a 40-metre bridge over the river as well as kayaks and bicycles for its clients. With one of the most impressive wine cellars on the Gaspé Peninsula, its pub/terrace and restaurant, each with its own distinct atmosphere and which together can seat up to 120 people, offer the same delicious evolving menu featuring local fare. Finally, the establishment also has two picture-windowed conference rooms that can be combined, with seating for up to 120 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Francis New Richmond, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing