We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 stars for L'Auberge de Montsegur!”
Review of Hotel Costes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montsegur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Costes
Ranked #2 of 2 Montsegur B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I love this place! I give it 6 stars! Heidi and Pierre are the best at making you feel comfortable and satisfied. I offered to marry the cook if she would cook like that for me but she just laughed and went back to sauté-ing! The entire establishment, restaurant, hotel and village is absolutely lovely. Be forewarned if you're looking for that cold impersonal efficient robotic service you get from the big named hotels in major cities around the globe. Here they offer a warm personalized service giving a sense of you being special. All were very knowledgeable about the Cathars. At least English, French, German are spoken there for anyone who needs reassurance. Go there, stay there, have a hypocras there, enjoy there! Going back with 9 friends next year.

Room Tip: Ask or email about the room types. They have different amenities! Mine overlooked the beautiful cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WWWiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 91 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

I serendipitously discovered this village and this inn recently and am only sorry I wasn't able to stay longer. What a gem of a place! The location, the rooms, the ambiance, the service, the town are all perfect. True there is no parking but that is because Montsegur is a pedestrian access town only. It is a tiny village which has a magical quality about it. In the morning when the mist is rising in the mountains, one almost feels transported into another world.
The owners are lovely and the restaurant is one of the best in the country. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aupresdemabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as a part of the Cathar Way walking tour. One day was a rest day, the other day was to walk to the local peak, Pic de Bartholomy, which was a wonderful view point to see the whole range of the Pyrenees.

Our hosts were very helpful and spoke several languages - they even booked our next day's overnight stay.

Food was simple country fare, well cooked and interesting. Breakfast was buffet style - great for a day's walking!

Bedroom was lovely - great views and wonderful to be able to soak in a bath to ease the limbs after a long walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Hotel is situated in a construction that dates back to 1600's. The dining room is fitted out to give you a sense of the earlier times. Rooms adequate and price is right. Found car park at back with stair access, made access easier.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I cannot begin to describe how much I enjoyed this little getaway in the little town of Montsegur.
They had recently upgraded the place and the two owners worked their little hands off in making us feel welcome. From carrying our bags up the narrow flights of stairs to making us cups and cups of steaming hot chocolate.
Pierre is the chef and I can't tell you how delicious the meals were! We were treated like gold.
The cozy dining room/welcome area is a central meeting place in town. We loved when a local trio of musicians came to perform one evening.
I love this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was lovely. We saw the historic Chateau de Monsegur-didn't climb it though!,then went to the village.Perfect French tranquility,and the quaintest of Auberges-full of charm and Cathar information with a highly knowledgeable and erudite hostess who was a pleasure to meet. The food was good rather than great,hence the lack of the extra star but as an experience and a delight every box ticked!

Richard and Ruth

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richsim-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Rooms nothing to write home about but clean and functional. Try to park at rear of hotel and unload via the back door - stairs are not easy with luggage. Excellent restaurant with good choices of food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montsegur
2.9 mi away
Hotel le Castrum
Hotel le Castrum
#1 of 1 in Villeneuve-d'Olmes
61 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Confort
Hotel Confort
#2 of 4 in Tarascon-sur-Ariege
119 reviews
17.1 mi away
Auberge du Balestie
Auberge du Balestie
#1 of 1 in Malegoude
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant BAYLE
Hotel Restaurant BAYLE
#1 of 1 in Belcaire
60 reviews
5.0 mi away
L'Oustal de l'Annetta
6.5 mi away
Chateau de Camurac
Chateau de Camurac
#1 of 2 in Camurac
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costes

Address: 52 rue du Village, 09300 Montsegur, France (Formerly Auberge de Montsegur)
Location: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Montsegur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montsegur
Price Range: $85 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Costes 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming old-style auberge with stone walls, wooden beams and open fireplaces in a building dating from the 15th century in the centre of the listed village of Montségur, next to the church. Montségur is famous for its hilltop castle and lost fortified village, and the role it played in the Crusades and Inquisition and is one of the Grand Sites of France.A hotel with 13 rooms, 4 of which with four-poster beds and Jacuzzi baths. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing