We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Buri Ram”
Review of Thepnakorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thepnakorn Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Buriram
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best of Buri Ram”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

There is little accommodation to choose from in Buriram so perhaps this is the best there is and that is awful! Stayed for 1 week. Food was low end. Service don't speak any English. Room had leaks and looked like it was never updated in 30 years. Reported a rat walking across my bed at 3:00 in the morning and the staff didn't understand why I wanted to move rooms. Steer clear of tis city, not just the hotel. Stay in Korat to view the ruins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    21
    6
    15
See reviews for
11
20
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Many Thais disapprove of Foreigner-Thai relationships, routinely viewing the Thai female as a gold-digger or worse, regardless of the facts. That is understood by most such couples, usually. However, hotel staff are supposed to be professionals, and to leave their own prejudices at home.

My Thai wife and her daughter went to the hotel's main restaurant for an afternoon snack. Two waiters had a verbal dispute right in the public part of the restaurant. When one of them delivered the food to her table, he cursed at her, then told her he had spat in her food (my wife did not know this man, though she believes he had seen us together earlier).

The hotel's response to our insistent complaint about this behavior was underwhelming. Nobody suggested comping us, nor was the general manager made available to us. We did get a mild apology, but it did not feel terribly heart-felt. An email sent to the hotel's email address had received no response more then a week later.

The rooms themselves are quite worn out, with threadbare carpeting and no room safe,

I am reliably told that the owner got rid of the older massage ladies on the second floor, and brought in a bunch of hot young girls, available for 1,000 baht per hour, men only. Draw your own conclusions. We got our rooms for 900 baht. For just a few hundred baht more, you could stay in a nice place, and the area has several.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buriram hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed here for two nights after visiting some Temples in the area and was dissapointed at the quality of the rooms and the overall condition of the hotel. The hotel was recommended to me by a friend who stayed there in 2008 and I really do believe it was still the same wall paper paint and fittings from that time. To be fair the hotel was clean and the pool was nice but the staff werent very helpful and the restaurant was only just passable. The hotel reminded me of one of the grand hotels on Brighton seafront it was undoubtadly Grand in its day but has deteriorated with time. All in all adequate but expensive and dated

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank billy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

When we booked rooms in hotels Thepnakorn last month, we were told that it was fully booked except for VIP rooms, at a price of 1,500 baht for the night. The same has curiously enough happened to us before. And judged by the almost empty restaurant at breakfast, I was quite unsure whether the allegation was in accordance with reality. When I also met a guest who had been given room at 650 bath for the night at the same time, my suspicion was even stronger. Well, Thepnakorn is probably considered by most as the finest hotel in Buriram, and is preferred by many Western visitors. Although it is a bit outside the city center. The staff is very friendly and service minded. Breakfast is the best you get in Buriram. The hotel appears a bit worn though and need soon an upgrade of the rooms. TV sets are of the old type, and there is little selection of western channels. The washbasin in the bathroom has only cold water and water pressure in the loose water tap was very poor. The shower works well, however. Like many Thai hotels are tile work in the bathroom a sad sight. The difference between VIP and common rooms are only the size, so it's not worth taking the extra costs, if not necessary. We stayed at the hotel for two nights before we moved to a more central and cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

After reading the reviews on this hotel i was a little dubious about booking it but as myself and my partner needed to visit her family just north of Buriram in the ban dan area I took the plunge and booked four nights in the thepnakorn Hotel.

The room i stayed in on the fourth floor was of a decent quality, the aircon was good and the fridge was stocked with drinks that were of a good price. There were also no hotel tags on the drinks so if you needed a quick can of Singha you could replace it the next day with a can from the 7 11 if you were quick enough.

The staff when i had cause to speak with them were all very friendly with smiles on their faces, the breakfast was a bit boring each day but it was tasty food and lets face it, I couldnt expect a full english in the middle of Buriram.

The outside restaurant was very nice, decent food with good prices.

The pool is the gem of the hotel though. Its a nice size and was very quiet every day . Its also a sun trap for those whom want to get a tan.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank terry2009Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burirum
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

its like going through a time warp a little,i have stayed here more than 10 times,as i live in a small village and like to have a swim ,with a hotel that has got a swimming pool,have stayed on the top floor ,nice,the rest of the floors well need updating,breakfast after 2 days bored ,toast with sweet butter,ie butter that contains sugar in it .so went out most times and skipped the breakfast,the staff are ok a little to over friendly when they think they know you,to which i thought they lack a little respect,ordered vodka by the outside bar,well it was not vodka and i was sitting next to a English man with the same drink,we got the bottle,Good brand name but they must be filling the bottle up with a cheap Thai copy Vodka.

Room Tip: go there its ok but go out for your food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This was the worst hotel I have ever experienced.......rude staff, lazy house keeping, poor cold breakfast, so called free WiFi kept being switched off and worst sin of all you have to ask for toilet paper every day. Basil Fawlty would feel at home here but we did not!

This place is cheap but there is much better in the wonderful town of Buri Ram. Try the Jintana resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crazy_Jay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buriram hotels
0.0 mi away
Amari Buriram United
Amari Buriram United
#1 of 20 in Buriram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phanomrung Puri Hotel
Phanomrung Puri Hotel
#3 of 20 in Buriram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Buriram Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Circle Hotel
The Circle Hotel
#8 of 20 in Buriram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
X2 Vibe Buriram
X2 Vibe Buriram
#13 of 20 in Buriram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ray Hotel Buriram
Ray Hotel Buriram
#7 of 20 in Buriram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thepnakorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thepnakorn Hotel

Property: Thepnakorn Hotel
Address: 139 Moo 3 | Tambol E-sarn, Muang District, Buriram, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Buriram Province > Buriram
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Buriram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thepnakorn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Thepnakorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thepnakorn Hotel Buriram

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing